Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A contemplative listen.
This wonderful collection of songs and orchestral pieces may have connotations of an idealistic English pastoral arcadia, but, ultimately, refuse this appropriation. The melancholy of A.E. Housman's poetry and the tragic end of Butterworth on the battle fields of the Somme make this reflective but worthwhile listening.
The simplicity of piano and voice used in the...
Published on 22 Aug 2001

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An essential compilation that falls short
George Butterworth is my favourite English composer with Malcolm Arnold getting close behind. A complete Butterworth disc is very much needed, but there are problems with this one. To begin with the conductor pulls "A Shropshire Lad" out of shape, losing control of the structure a bit, and the recordings of the orchestral works were made in a church, so that there is...
Published on 15 April 2008 by DH Dixon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A contemplative listen., 22 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc (Audio CD)
This wonderful collection of songs and orchestral pieces may have connotations of an idealistic English pastoral arcadia, but, ultimately, refuse this appropriation. The melancholy of A.E. Housman's poetry and the tragic end of Butterworth on the battle fields of the Somme make this reflective but worthwhile listening.
The simplicity of piano and voice used in the "Shropshire Lad" songs contrast effectively with three of Butterworth's best known orchestral works at the end, which display his influence by the English folk tradition. The final work is almost inevitably, but rightly, "The Banks of Green Willow" with its enduringly beautiful clarinet introduction. A wise investment for admirers of this composer's brief musical career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully English, 1 Feb 2009
By 
J. Walton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc (Audio CD)
Like so many ordinary people, George Butterworth was a national treasure lost to the First World War. I bought this CD purely for the orchestral peices, A Shropshire Lad, On the Banks of Green Willow and Two English Idylls.The peices hark back to a time when Britain was at peace with the world, and one can imagine strolling through English medaows on a beautiful summers day in a bygone era whilst listening to the glorious structure of the peices. Butterworth captures England perfectly. One can only wonder of what greatness this man would have acheived had he survived the horrors of the Somme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD Banks of Green Willow. George Butterworth, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Gatesheadsage (South West Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc (Audio CD)
Butterworth is one of my all time favourite composers. I bought the CD because it gave a good, almost perfect rendition of his work "A Shropshire Lad", a haunting account of young man walking into one of Englands' most beautiful counties. I was not disappointed and the track is better than the other two versions in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An essential compilation that falls short, 15 April 2008
By 
DH Dixon "whitespeck" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc (Audio CD)
George Butterworth is my favourite English composer with Malcolm Arnold getting close behind. A complete Butterworth disc is very much needed, but there are problems with this one. To begin with the conductor pulls "A Shropshire Lad" out of shape, losing control of the structure a bit, and the recordings of the orchestral works were made in a church, so that there is some loss in woodwind colours, which is disastrous with Butterworth. Finally (though this isn't the fault of Decca now) Butterworth's short orchestral song cycle isn't included, so it is not completely complete. The record is not as bad as I might have put it (the church recording is not as colourless or harsh as they usually are) and until there is decent competition it is worth having for the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sound quality lousy, 14 Feb 2006
By 
Roald Andresen (Skien Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc (Audio CD)
There is no doubt that the musical quality on these recordings are supurb. I will not go further into this, as it is extensivly covered in others reviews.
The sound quality however is so bad that it should have been noted on the cover. This sounds like an old, very scratched, vinyl album. If you are not able to ignore the noise, avoid this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc (Audio CD)
Another musical talent lost to WW1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars English Lyrical Music, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc (Audio CD)
A beautiful recording of the most moving music written in the early 20th century, which captures the spirit of the age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George Butterworth, Banks of Green Willow, etc, 18 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. Elizabeth Wight (Edinburgh, Scotland,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc (Audio CD)
Butterworth, "Banks of Green Willow" is a must have for all music lovers.
The tragedy of his untimely death on the battlefield is so 'under rated'.
Even as a memorial to this fine young man, everyone should have this...but not only sad sentiment, there is what he left... lovely, idyllic melody for all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Discovering George Butterworth, 13 Jun 2009
By 
Msball "wildheart49" (South shields united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc (Audio CD)
I was naive in hoping there would be similar orchestral works as the Banks of the Green Willow (track 14). Therefore I was disappointed in tracks 1 to 11 being vocal, leaving 12 to 14 orchestral and quite satisfactory. There was nothing outstanding with the former, but this is personal, others may differ, but I do like melody. Overall a regretful buy,but I should have read the listing and perhaps as part of a selection, such as Adrian Boults would have been the best choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc
Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc by Benjamin Luxon (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews