Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's electric!
In 1996 Mark Linkous (the man behind Sparklhorse) caused serious injury to himself by way of electrocution, although this didn't prevent him from appearing at that years Reading festival in a wheel chair, or producing on of the most innovative albums of that year. This album continues where Vivadixie..., Good Morning Spider, and Distorted Ghost Ep left off, and does not...
Published on 11 Jun 2001 by edhancox@lineone.net

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Stabinthe dark.
I bought this for the title track after hearing it in the film "Delicacy". Of course, it didn't have the same impact in audio as it did in the film. I also bought a Mazzy Starr album after hearing it in an Amsterdam coffee shop...same thing. I guess you had to be there.
Published 5 months ago by noahs dad


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars More gorgeous Sparklehorse, 14 Jun 2001
This review is from: It's A Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
How does Mark Linkous do it? How does he manage to write so many songs that sound so similar yet are all good? Beats me.
Richly textured and beautifully melancholic, It's A Wonderful Life is as good, if not better, than his two previous masterpieces. Collaborations with PJ Harvey and Tom Waits have yielded great results, and all the songs on this record are pretty damn superb, particularly 'Gold Day' and 'More Yellow Birds'. But then my favourite keeps on changing . . .
Buy now and sink into sublime melodic reverie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undiscovered gem, 21 Jan 2006
This review is from: It's A Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album. It has an amazing other-worldly feel to it. Can't believe how little press it got at the time it was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, affecting and original., 2 Sep 2001
This review is from: It's A Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
What to say about this album? Firstly, Mark Linkous is a brilliant songwriter. The aching melancholic majesty of the songs is on a different level to anything else that has been released this year, or for many years. Then there is the brilliantly original way in which the songs are arranged. Casio keyboards, glockenspiels, violin, and strange samples all make this album fascinating to listen to. Don't listen to the NME, the strokes aren't the only band worth listening to, this album beats 'is this it?' hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, original, one of my favourite albums of all time, 30 Nov 2005
This review is from: It's A Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
Sparklehorse is a musician that doesn’t receive the credits it deserves. Even in the alternative mainstream there is too little attention for his work in my opinion. The record is dreamy, associative and transcendental, but the same time raw, aggressive and even funny. It will make you forget anything else. One of my favourite albums ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Linkous strikes again, 13 Jun 2001
This review is from: It's A Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
Sparklehorse return (finally!) with another beautiful, fractured album. It's the guest stars that elevate the songs this time, the purring PJ Harvey breathing new life into 'eyepennies' and 'piano fire', whilst Tom Waits waits pops up to add his growl to the unusually sharp 'Dog Door'. This album ranks as between than 'Good Morning Spider' but not quite as good as' viva.....'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore only, 12 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: It's a Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
Well, things have changed but not that much that you should go out and buy this album straight away. As ever the irony lies in the title as with most of Sparkelhorse. Lacking the energy of some of there last album and songs such as "Pig" this is definelty only for real Sparklehorse fans - nevertheless a real rocker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's A Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
I bought this as it was listed as one of those albums bought by other people who buy the same music as me. I wander if they were similarly disappointed? This album is Pap, I've listened to it once and binned it. If you've not heard this band before I strongly suggest you listen to a clip and decide whether its your thing before taking a punt and spending on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10472fd8)

This product

It's A Wonderful Life
It's A Wonderful Life by Sparklehorse (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews