Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The things that dreams are made of
Generally all of the Human Leaugue's albums grow and grow on you, however this in particualar stuns you even more on each listen. I was a little sceptical on my first hearing of this album concerning its lack of more 'commercial' sounding tracks after no 1 and 3. However this albums brilliance lies in the tracks that arent commercial. "These are the days" is a retro throw...
Published on 22 Jan 2003 by rdebourgh

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but less than the sum of its parts
At the time this was hailed as something of a return to form. Not entirely true, but it is the first time since Dare that a Human League album had benfited from a consistent production style coming together with fairly strong songwriting.

That said, it still doesn't quite hang together, as wildly different styles of music are attempted across the nine tracks -...
Published on 3 Mar 2007 by The Goose Loose


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The things that dreams are made of, 22 Jan 2003
This review is from: Octopus (Audio CD)
Generally all of the Human Leaugue's albums grow and grow on you, however this in particualar stuns you even more on each listen. I was a little sceptical on my first hearing of this album concerning its lack of more 'commercial' sounding tracks after no 1 and 3. However this albums brilliance lies in the tracks that arent commercial. "These are the days" is a retro throw back to the mid 80s with very edgy ostinati and a driving beat. "Filling up with heaven" is truly genius of synth sounds. The ascending synth motif in it is surreal and the track is a testament to the human league's superiority. "Never again" ans "Cruel young lover" are both very good too, and are the 2 most growing tracks on the album. To top it all off, thus making it complete there's "tell me when" and "one man in my heart" both storming the charts in 95...ive actually got tell me when on a cassette compilation called smash hits 95! It is truly amazing. If you buy this it will grow and grow and grow, it incorporates everything the human league is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Human League's 2nd contribution to the 1990 music scene, 9 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: Octopus (Audio CD)
Octopus is indeed Human League's eighth album, following on from the much forgotten 1990 album Romantic? (no. 24 22.9.90). Crash was the last properly recognised album released in 1986 (no.7 20.9.86), produced as it was by Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, at the height of Janet Jackson's Control debut. Crash however was sadly lacking in either spark or innovation, despite having two sublime tracks in Human and Love Is All That Matters.
Octopus however was a brand new start for the group marking both a new label and a new sleek and sophisticated image. First off the block was the sparkling bright pop of Tell Me When (which afforded them a welcome back to the Top Ten (no.6)) followed by the charming One Man In My Heart (no. 13) (mainly sung for a change by Susan and Joanne), both of which helped push the album to a no.6 position in the album charts.
Third single, Filling Up With Heaven failed to match the previous two singles, only reaching no.36 in the singles chart, despite being one of the albums better songs. The penultimate track, Never Again would have made a good choice for a single as it one of Octopus's little jems (track 8). A beautiful song, which could rank alongside Human, as one of the League's best love songs.
The remaining tracks, however, seemed to fail to push the album any further forward, despite the fact that they were full of trade mark harmonies, synthesisers, club bass lines and shuffling percussion/backing.
Whatever Octopus's slight deficiencies are, the album, although no masterpiece by any standard, is a must have if you are a fan of the new Human League. The overall feeling of the album being that it is a positive step in the right direction, one which will hopefully continue for some time to come.
Finally, you have to hand it to the group for dusting themselves down (every 5 years or so!) to come back out to play with the current pop tarts and trendy boy/girl bands. A truly class act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. W. I. Rusling "Bill Rusling" (Sheffield U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octopus (Audio CD)
This album is equally as good as Dare and would have similarly been a world beater. It is guilty of nothing other than coming out in 1994! I bought this as another spare copy as I hate to travel anywhere without one!
Buy Buy Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic heaven, 29 April 2012
This review is from: Octopus (Audio CD)
I've got to know this album in 2005. I have not heard it before, coming from a country in which the band was never significantly important (apart from the well known singles from the 80s). Getting to know this album and appreciating it was not easy. I first found it to be sort of bland, with abysmal lyrics and simple dance beats. Nothing special.

But on re-listening the album a couple of times I started to discover how wonderful it sounds. The arrangements and the production (by Mark "Spike" Stent) are just perfect. The sounds are otherworldly, but warm and intriguing. Everything flows. The sound and production are flawless. I became so hooked on this album I even learned the lyrics by heart and found that most of them are actually quite acceptable - nothing deep, but sometimes they are quite inspiring ("One time in a lifetime / try to glimpse just who you are / all that learning / all these ages / have you really come so far?"). I can pardon the lyrics because of the radiance of the music and the personality of the band. Wonderful bunch of people.

The album is made up of 9 electro songs, some of them were actually return-hits for the band - Tell Me When? and One Man in My Heart (lyrics of the latter equal those of the infamous "The Lebanon", but the song is cute!).

Some people find Words and John Cleese - is he funny? to be fillers. I disagree. Words has really great lyrics (with the exception of the "Alexandra" part) and a dark moody feel, somehow reminding me of Being Boiled or Seconds. Filling up with Heaven is a heavenly track with a great synth lead and a fantastic chorus. Perfectly sung. Houseful of Nothing has great production and again the vocals and the power of the trio's voices is remarkable. Never Again is a moody love ballad which is one of the most unforgettable moments of this album, similar to Filling... and Houseful of Nothing. The closing Cruel Young Lover is a great anthem-like massive wall-of-sound piece, however the lyrics don't come up to the grandeur of the production. Anyway - a grand closing for a great album. Production top notch.

Taking aside the lyrics (IMHO of course) Octopus makes a wonderful synth-pop album, sounding modern even after all these years. It sounds somewhat similar to Madonna's Music from 2000. It is also the Human League album which I play the most. I never get bored with it. With each new listening I discover some more interesting cues, sounds and voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As if they'd never been away!, 6 April 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Octopus [VINYL] (Vinyl)
When I purchased this Album after what seemed like donkeys years since hearing 'The Human League', it's as if they'd never really been away - from the Charts at least, enjoying two hit Singles from this Album; 'Tell Me When' and 'One Man In My Heart' - the latter of which is the best of the two, but surprisingly did not do as well Chart-wise as the first. The un-released material here is very good too. About the only Track that could have let this down is by the title alone; 'John Cleese - Is He Funny' - a silly title for a Song and could have been called anything since it's an Instrumental anyway, and so it really doesn't matter at all...

A Great Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As if they'd never been away!, 6 April 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
When I purchased this Album after what seemed like donkeys years since hearing 'The Human League', it's as if they'd never really been away - from the Charts at least, enjoying two hit Singles from this Album; 'Tell Me When' and 'One Man In My Heart' - the latter of which is the best of the two, but surprisingly did not do as well Chart-wise as the first. The un-released material here is very good too. About the only Track that could have let this down is by the title alone; 'John Cleese - Is He Funny' - a silly title for a Song and could have been called anything since it's an Instrumental anyway, and so it really doesn't matter at all...

A Great Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As if they'd never been away!, 6 April 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Octopus +1 (Audio CD)
When I purchased this Album after what seemed like donkeys years since hearing 'The Human League', it's as if they'd never really been away - from the Charts at least, enjoying two hit Singles from this Album; 'Tell Me When' and 'One Man In My Heart' - the latter of which is the best of the two, but surprisingly did not do as well Chart-wise as the first. The un-released material here is very good too. About the only Track that could have let this down is by the title alone; 'John Cleese - Is He Funny' - a silly title for a Song and could have been called anything since it's an Instrumental anyway, and so it really doesn't matter at all...

A Great Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As if they'd never been away!, 6 April 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Octopus (Audio CD)
When I purchased this Album after what seemed like donkeys years since hearing 'The Human League', it's as if they'd never really been away - from the Charts at least, enjoying two hit Singles from this Album; 'Tell Me When' and 'One Man In My Heart' - the latter of which is the best of the two, but surprisingly did not do as well Chart-wise as the first. The un-released material here is very good too. About the only Track that could have let this down is by the title alone; 'John Cleese - Is He Funny' - a silly title for a Song and could have been called anything since it's an Instrumental anyway, and so it really doesn't matter at all...

A Great Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but less than the sum of its parts, 3 Mar 2007
This review is from: Octopus (Audio CD)
At the time this was hailed as something of a return to form. Not entirely true, but it is the first time since Dare that a Human League album had benfited from a consistent production style coming together with fairly strong songwriting.

That said, it still doesn't quite hang together, as wildly different styles of music are attempted across the nine tracks - almost as if they were approaching the album with a 'throw enough mud and some of it will stick' philosophy.

The highlights are the opening trio of glossy pop tracks - the frothy Tell Me When, One Man In My Heart and (the single that should've been) These Are The Days. At the other end of the album, the roaring epic Cruel Young Lover is another strength.

Inbetween, however, we have a strangely mixed bag: the abstract, experimental Words (strong on atmosphere but lyrically strained), the slightly over-earnest Houseful Of Nothing, and a house-y instrumental called - with a touch of mad genius - John Cleese; Is He Funny?. Most jarringly, we have Never Again - a strong melody and ambitious harmonies somehow resulting in an uncharacteristically middle-aged caterwaul of a song.

The satisfyingly warm, synthy sounds and detailed production almost succeed in holding it all together, but with so many different songwriting approaches the end result lacks the strong identity that makes a really great album. Dare and Secrets are the best albums to reach for if you want the Human League at the top of their game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not brilliant., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octopus (Audio CD)
One of their better albums, with only 2 tracks that I tend to skip. The rest is actually pretty good !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Octopus +1
Octopus +1 by Human League (Audio CD)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews