Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accomplished and elegant
Here JM displays a new-found sense of balance and harmony in her life and music. Night Ride Home proves that the creative embers were glowing brightly again. Her languid voice is accorded poetic justice by the sparse backing on themes eternal. Religious symbolism surfaces on Passion Play and Slouching Towards Bethlehem - the latter an adaptation of a Yeats poem. The topic...
Published on 25 Nov 2002 by Pieter Uys

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant enough, but not a classic
If you are new to Joni Mitchell, don't start here .. I'd rate any of her first 6 albums ('Song to a Seagull' through 'Court and Spark') ahead of this. It is pleasant enough background music, and if you listen to the lyrics she's still addressing some of those social issues that are worth addressing, but it doesn't seem to have the same sparkle as the earlier works...
Published on 1 Oct 2004 by D. Storey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accomplished and elegant, 25 Nov 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Night Ride Home (Audio CD)
Here JM displays a new-found sense of balance and harmony in her life and music. Night Ride Home proves that the creative embers were glowing brightly again. Her languid voice is accorded poetic justice by the sparse backing on themes eternal. Religious symbolism surfaces on Passion Play and Slouching Towards Bethlehem - the latter an adaptation of a Yeats poem. The topic of growing old, gracefully treated in Nothing Can Be Done and Come In From The Cold, is brilliantly balanced by the teenage romance of Ray's Dad's Cadillac, in which Joni puts one over Rickie Lee Jones, one of her followers. Savour these lines: "Ray's dad teaches maths/I'm a dunce, a decimal in his class/when it comes to mathematics/I get static in the attic." Well this is music - not maths - and Joni gets five out of five for composition and performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the worthy successor to 'Hejira', 19 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Night Ride Home (Audio CD)
For some, Joni Mitchell lost the plot with 'The Hissing of Summer Lawns', when she moved decisively from first-person folk to narrating third-person tales in jazz and rock idioms. However, the change brought along a whole world of wonders, from the cool urban tales of life in the well heeled suburbs of L.A. on 'Hissing' through 'Hejira's' dreamscape of travel and escape and 'Don Juan' and 'Mingus'' deep explorations of jazz.
Then , in the 80s it all went terribly wrong. Joni released a succession of bland, poorly conceived albums seemingly aimed squarely at getting her a hit. 'Chalk Mark in a Rainstorm', 'Dog eat dog', 'Wild Things Run Fast' - each has its occasional flashes of brilliance but all were mired in squealing rock guitars, ill-judged cameo appearances from the likes of Billy Idol and Thomas Dolby and a general lack of warmth and sincerity.
All of a sudden , in 1991, she released 'Night Ride Home' and it was a revelation. The melody was there, the lyrical genius had returned and best of all, the rich subtlety of the arrangements was back. Much of this was probably due to the influence of her then husband Larry Klein, who seems to have helped Mitchell find her muse again.
There are no duff tracks, and indeed most are creative peaks, but to highlight a few, 'Cherokee Louise' is a heartbreaking tale of child abuse and runaways in a frighteningly adult city set to the most lilting and seductive melody Mitchell had written for years. 'Two Grey Rooms' is a cool, delicately orchestrated study of obsessional love. 'Ray's Dad's Cadillac' is a simply delightful evocation of 1950s teenage love and 'The Only Joy In Town' is a sunlit dance through Rome in pursuit of an idealised love. The highlight though has to be Mitchell's setting of W B Yeats 'Slouching Towards Bethlehem'. The Irish mystic's apocalyptic retelling of the second coming is well served by Joni's arrangement and dark, mysterious melody.
Since 'Night Ride Home' Joni has regained her confidence and has continued to release a string of quality albums, but this one remains her late peak and is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a minor joni classic, 6 Aug 2002
This review is from: Night Ride Home (Audio CD)
If you have never listened to joni buy blue or her "hits" collection. If you know and love joni then search hard to add this to your collection. This album represents a return to her folk routes after her excursions into 80s pop with Dog Eat Dog and Chalkmark...This album contains several stand out tracks that rival her early work such as the superb night ride home.
The album also has one advantage over the early stuff for the person who has several of the early albums. This is a different older joni from the person singing about parking lots and cactus trees. She has lost nothing of her song writing ability and the music is tuneful and effective. This is not as intense as blue but some might few this as no bad thing. This album should be much more available than it is at present.
Not as consistant as blue or For the Roses this is still an excellent album for the person who either wants something more positive than blue or generally cannot get enough of Joni's faboulas music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return To Form For Joni, 7 July 2007
By 
pikeyboy (carmarthen, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night Ride Home (Audio CD)
Perhaps I was biased towards this album by the birth of my son in 1991, but I used to sing these songs repeatedly to him in every effort to lull him towards sleep. For me, it's one of the top 5 album releases of that decade, the others being 'Time Out Of Mind' by Bob Dylan, 'The Future' by Leonard Cohen, 'Nevermind' by Nirvana (also to show I'm not just some old fart stuck in the past), and best of all the greatest, most complete debut of all time: the evergreen 'Grace' by Jeff Buckley. 'Night Ride Home' is chock-full of great songs: from the brilliant opener (the title track) to the fine fine single release 'Coming In From The Cold' it almost purports to be Joni's finest hour, but I feel, personally, that the album slopes off a bit there. Admittedly, I'm not the biggest fan of Mitchell's jazzier escapades, and I have listened to the bulk of her work in search of that greatness that others tell me is there in her earlier works, but 'Ladies Of The Canyon' just for instance leaves me cold. I much prefer the poppier efforts of 'Clouds' and parts of 'The Hissing Of Summer Lawns' (esp. 'The Jungle Line' and 'In France They Kiss On Main Street') so when I originally bought NRH I couldn't believe how bowled over I was. The arrangements are, for the most part, light, loose, and uncluttered: 'Passion Play' (or 'The Magdalene Laundries' as rechristened by The Chieftains) has to be one of the finest songs ever written, and 'Coming In From The Cold' her best ever single, though I wouldn't have imagined for one minute that it could have ever made a dent in the top 40 here or Stateside. Doubtless, more ardent admirers of Mitchell's music will disagree with me, but if I ever want or need to hear a Joni Mitchell album I would choose this one every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A return to form for Joni, 21 May 2009
This review is from: Night Ride Home (Audio CD)
Night Ride Home is definately a return to form for Joni after the horrible 80s. With the greatest exception of "Chinese Cafe" she failed to record anything memorable in the 1980s, so what a joy it was to receive this album.

The highlights are "Passion Play" and "Two Grey Rooms" but there are certainly a batch of other songs here that give total reverence to her more explorative jazz days, particularly the odd-lick from her Mingus inspired God Must Be A Boogie Man; and what came in 1974 with the famous "Court and Spark" LP.

Now a comment about the title track. I have often wondered whether Joni re-recorded this song with a new twist in the lyric. I remember hearing possibly a bootleg demo of the title track that did not have the insert of "...Night Ride Home" immediately after she had sung "...fourth of July". I believe the subsequent released version was added to with the words that then became the title for song and album. I sense that this change then kicked off the writing and recording of the remainder of the album tracks (with a rolling concept) with the exception of "Passion Play" and "Two Grey Rooms" - both songs of which could easily have turned up on a different LP and not be out of place. So, have I created a debate here?? Joni, the song was perfect with just you singing "...fourth of July" at the end of each verse! Believe me!

"Two Grey Rooms" pictures a poetic link-up with possibly another painting or scene by Edward Hopper. Joni has been a fan of Hopper's work for nearly all her life and a few LP covers have been 'Hopper-esque'.

"Coming in from the Cold" sadly lets the album down and seems an excuse to fill time. Originally it was the first track on side two of the vinyl but on CD the track listing perhaps needed to be looked at again and possibly place it toward the end. "Two Grey Rooms" is an excellent last track however. I would place "Two Grey Rooms" alongside "Amelia", "Pat's Solo" and "Hejira" sequence from the Shadows and Light Live Album as tracks to be listened to in the dark - eerie and gorgeous!

"Night Ride Home" album is excellent, but I give it 4 out of 5 due to my query regarding the original version of the title track (which should have been called "Fourth of July")...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joni Mitchell's first collection of the 90's., 10 Jun 2004
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Ride Home (Audio CD)
This album from 1991 saw Joni Mitchell and her ex-husband Larry Klein in the producer's chair for her first release in the 90's.

The album opens with the atmospheric title track written in 1988 "Night ride home".

The impression of the night is conveyed to the listener by the use of a sound sample, which is that of chirping crickets, the sound effect runs for the whole length of the song. This sound is what holds all the instruments used on the track along with the signature sound of Joni's acoustic guitar playing style.

At the start of the track along with the opening lines "Once in a while, in a blue moon, there comes a night like this, like some surrealist, invented this, 4th of July, night ride home" as the artist finishes this line the sublime bass playing of Larry Klein begins adding a deep rich texture to the track, along with the addition of Bill Dillon's pedal steel guitar playing underlining lines in the song such as "we love the open road".

The percussion touches by Alex Acuña and Larry Klein finish off the sound of the song, as the vocals and music begin to fade the sound of the crickets get louder for a second or two and then they too start to disappear.

As the following track "Passion Play (when all the slaves are free)" starts Larry Klein's bass is heard to announce along with Joni's picking out the main theme of the track on her acoustic guitar, as well as sing the main vocal Ms Mitchell has supplied her own backing vocals.

Bill Dillon's guitar fills just behind the sound of the acoustic guitar punches out lines "in Exxon Blue" to great effect. The use of percussion played with a slightly eastern feel by Alex Acuña and Larry Klein make this a stand-out track in my opinion.

For the song "Cherokee Louise" the artist has added to the pot-pourri of sounds Wayne Shorter on soprano saxophone along with Vinne Colaiuta playing snare drum using brushes, which gives the overall sound of jazz to the arrangement which is underpinned by Karen Peris singing backing vocals to Joni's main vocal track.

The next song "Windfall (everything for nothing)" appears to be about people who sponge off someone else, this song has Joni playing keyboards as well as all the guitar parts and all the vocal parts with Vinne Colaiuta on drums along with Larry Klein playing bass to great effect.

With the song "Slouching towards Bethlehem" Joni has married a poem by W.B. Yeats together with a traditional acoustic guitar sound to give a the song a folkie sound, with the Larry Klein bass playing giving a backdrop for all the other elements on the track such as the rock steady drum work of Vinne Colaiuta and the other percussion parts by Joni, Alex Acuña and Larry Klein himself.

The following song in the running order "Come in from the Cold" was the track lifted by Joni Mitchell's record company to be released as a single all be it in a edited form, the song went from a seven minute and thirty second masterpiece to half its length.

For me this is the key track on the whole collection, as its lyrics sound autobiographical in nature. As the words talk of the early stirrings of attraction, with lines such as "I feel your legs under the table, leaning in to mine, I feel renewed, I feel disabled, by these bonfires in my spine" these words tell me of the over whelming feelings of someone's first love.

This track has Joni credited with playing acoustic guitar, bilatron, keyboards, and all the vocal parts.

Another key song of this album for me is "Nothing can be done" as it's the only song that Larry Klein has written the music and Joni herself.

With the different writing style of Larry, the bass playing of himself along with the percussion work of Alex Cuña carry the main theme of the track with guitar fills by Bill Dillon along with the vocals of David Baerwald supporting the main vocal track by Joni.

The song "The only Joy in town" finds Joni in a playful mood with parts of the track such as her oboe playing giving the song a strange melancholy feel and yet playful at the same time.

With the song "Ray Dad's Cadillac" we the listener are treated to a song of young love and memories of love lost, with the use of Wayne Shorter's soprano saxophone highlighting lines in the song such as "I'll be blackboard blind on Monday" gives me the sense of how deep the singer feelings where at the time.

To close this collection Joni has chosen to again sing of love lost, "Two grey rooms" talks of days gone by when she was to shy to approach the object of desire.

This is a collection of songs that takes repeated listening to appreciate the complex arrangements and the undercurrent of deep emotions exposed bare by the artist, as with all Joni's Mitchell's albums she gives you everything warts and all.

An exceptional collection of tracks by a singer songwriter, who is still at the head of the pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Ride Home (Audio CD)
atmosphere is what you get here brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Return To Form, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Ride Home (Audio CD)
I only discovered the wonders of Joni in the early 1980s, and soon collected all of her majestic 1970s output. What, though, soon became frustrating was the uneven quality of what came in the 80s - "Wild Things Run Fast" had some good stuff on it ("Chinese Cafe" for example), but I found it hard to love anything on "Chalk Mark In The Rainstorm" (except maybe the title!). Sadly, I then gave up purchasing new Joni CDs, not realising that I had stopped one too soon! I saw a 1990s concert, fell in love with "Night Ride Home", tried the CD and found that it was the first of new period where Joni recovered her form, re-finding conventional melodies and stripping out the synths and heading more acoustic. This CD has many delights - "Cherokee Louise", "Come In From The Cold" and "Slouching Towards Bethlehem" are all great, but actually there is nothing bad on this. Any Joni fan should re-connect here, then add "Turbulent Indigo" which is even better. A great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Joni Never Fails To Deliver, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Ride Home (Audio CD)
Another album that showcases Joni's remarkable song writing ability. I bought it without hearing it and it did not disappoint on any level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Ride Home (Audio CD)
Not her best work but then even her poorer offerings were better than most. Stand out tracks are 'Nothing can be done' , 'Come in from the cold' both also on the Dreamland CD ( a compilation album) and 'Two grey rooms'. Other tracks are good but she has done better work. If you're new to her work then perhaps not the best album to start with. Personally I preferred her work from her first decade in the music business and have nearly every album from that period with the exception of 'Clouds, 'Miles of Aisles' and 'Mingus'. Music is a very subjective thing but I felt that her genius during this period of her work was at its strongest and that her work suffered because she cared too much about what the critics said about her work when she started to explore the jazz themes. Personally I preferred this period compared to this later Pop orientated work but that is not to say that this period was bad work. I have found that as an artist all her work has been of a consistently above average quality in terms of composition and lyrics so don't let my preferences put you off. Buy it anyway, you just might like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Ride Home
Night Ride Home by Joni Mitchell (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews