Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underrated
I can't believe people take the mick out of this because of the movie, its one of my favourite Beatle Records, and it should be because of the classic songs on the album like.

I'am the Walrus, Strawberry Fields Forever,Penny Lane and All You Need Is love.

Other great songs include. Fool on the Hill, Baby you're a Rich Man and The Magical Mystery...
Published on 26 July 2006 by C. Barlow

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars odds and ends
The actual MMT tracks (the first six) see the Beatles at their lowest ebb creatively, spaced out and knackered after Sergeant Pepper, and inclined to let any old thing pass - especially Harrison, hacked off with the group and at being under contract to Northern Songs. His Blue Jay Way is a poor effort, a boring song about being bored (when he used to complain about not...
Published 5 months ago by gille liath


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underrated, 26 July 2006
By 
C. Barlow "tkkeele1" (Stoke, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
I can't believe people take the mick out of this because of the movie, its one of my favourite Beatle Records, and it should be because of the classic songs on the album like.

I'am the Walrus, Strawberry Fields Forever,Penny Lane and All You Need Is love.

Other great songs include. Fool on the Hill, Baby you're a Rich Man and The Magical Mystery Tour. The rest are just o.k, but the double a-side of Penny Lane/Strawberry Fields Forever is often cited as the greatest double a-side of all time, and the greatest single of all time, which is some compliment, this is one of the finest records ever, and shoudln't be taken for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll up for a mystery tour!, 25 Nov 2012
By 
C. Rigby (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a review for the 2012 vinyl edition. Please ignore the Amazon UK's bunching up of reviews.
First off, one benefit of this pressing is everything is in true stereo being rather than the awful duophonic fake stereo of the analogue US and UK versions on the songs Penny Lane, Baby, You're A Rich Man and All You Need Is Love that my very first copy had. Because this lp was in truth a American creation added later in the day to the World-wide catalogue, they have used a old style colourband Capitol logo for it. So cool!
The booklet is tucked in the left jacket pouch rather than stapled in the gate-fold ready to fall off and is printed in thicker paper.
Secondly Sean Magee cut this and he did an extremely good job of getting deep bass on it, the treble is very smooth, and the presence on the vocals almost fooled me into thinking this was analogue sourced, lacking the harshness you sometimes detect on cd. He left a good amount of space from the end of the final track to the edge by the label to minimize any end of side playback problems. I went from having the 1976 UK version with the last three tracks in fake stereo originally to the 1988 Capitol digitally mastered one that was a bit better.
I feel this is the best one yet I've had.It was dead quiet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Mystery Tour, 26 May 2009
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
The Magical Mystery Tour started life as a six track EP showcasing the songs from the avant-garde film which shared the same name, the release soon morphed into a full blown eleven track album released for the US market. This album therefore is basically six songs from a film which not many people liked plus another five cuts which weren't selected for the Sergeant Pepper release from the same year. So on paper it's not looking good is it?

However The Magical Mystery Tour by The Beatles, released in late 1967 on Capitol in America, is one of the finest albums by the band. It suffers undeniably as a result of the long shadow of 1967's other Beatle release but as a stand alone album it really is tremendous.

The album starts with the title track; could this song be a contender as one of the best openers to an album from the decade? I think it's up there. We then move on to the rather splendid McCartney composition, The Fool on The Hill, a song which features flutes..... enough said.

The next highlight from this album is track four, Blue Jay Way is a song written by George Harrison, and for me personally it's his finest effort up to that date. It is also one of the few Beatle songs from the period which captures some of the feel of the 1967 British underground Psychedelic scene, although it would still feel pretty out of place on Piper at The Gates

Track Six is of course I Am the Walrus, a song which now probably deserves a review of its own; needless to say it is of course John Lennon at his best. This song finishes off the songs which featured on the ill-fated film. But for those lucky folks in America, this album is just getting started.

Side two starts off with Hello Goodbye, a typical McCartney pop song. Track nine is also your typical McCartney effort; Penny Lane is nice on the ears and is of course harmless.

The flip side to the original Penny Lane double A side single was actually track eight from the Magical Mystery Tour LP; Strawberry Fields Forever for me is the much stronger out of the two songs. In essence the song is rather simple yet has had some marvellous production work going into it, a beautiful song, which once crossed with producer George Martin, was always going to be something special.

The album ends with the anthem; All You Need is Love, it also pretty much marks the end of 1967; a fine year where anything artistic was possible, even two wonderful albums from The Beatles. You're more then welcome to debate the merits of the Magical Mystery Tour film, for me I think it has its moments. But when it comes to the Magical Mystery Tour album, there really is no doubt, this album is immense and thankfully after 1976, is now available in the UK as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greatest album that never was, 24 Mar 2003
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
This was originally released as an EP, comprising only the first six tracks of this album version. A pity, because, had it been released as it is now, it would surely be rated alongside 'Rubber Soul', 'Revolver' and 'Sgt.Pepper' as one the Beatles' great albums. It captures the Beatles at a time when they had become bored of being the best pop group ever and the best rock group ever, and wanted to be the best psychedlic group ever too.
The title track, 'Hello Goodbye', McCartney's 'The Fool on the Hill' and Harrison's 'Blue Jay Way' are all typically excellent compositions, but even if they weren't, this album would still be an essential purchase for two reasons: 'Penny Lane' and 'Strawberry Fields Forever'. The two songs were released as a double A side in 1967, which is widely regarded as the greatest single ever.
McCartney's 'Penny Lane' is one of the all-time classic pop songs, a euphoric day-dream which returns the artist to his childhood locality in Liverpool.
It is Lennon's 'Strawberry Fields Forever', though, that represents the pinnacle of the album and of the pop music in general. Although my review of 'Revolver' elsewhere on this site says that 'Eleanor Rigby' is my favourite Beatles song, I have since realised my misjudgement - 'Strawberry Fields Forever' is, unquestionably, the greatest song ever written and performed.
Like 'Penny Lane', it is a nostalgic reference to a place of childhood significance for the artist but, unlike 'Penny Lane', it is introspective and almost sorrowful. Lennon wanted to express his view that he was alone in his outlook on life and that nobody understood him but, in order to avoid sounding pretentious or soppy, he distorted the lyrics into formless psychedlic-speak to produce lines like 'no one I think is in my tree/I mean it must be high or low' (which roughly translates as 'nobody understands me/they are either too serious or frivolous').
Lennon and George Martin painstakingly developed the track from a basic acoustic tune to one of the richest and most forward-looking songs ever released by a major artist. Interesting features include the double fade-out, the famous 'cranberry sauce/I buried Paul' background voice, and the fact that the song actually consists of two versions of the song linked together. The first, slower version occupies the opening sixty seconds of the track and then gives way to the second, quicker version which continues for the duration. But gimmicks aside, 'Strawberry Fields Forever' is a masterpiece - one of pop's enduring moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes overlooked but brilliant, 29 July 2007
By 
Brian Levine - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
The first Beatles album I ever bought (as an 11 year old in 1977) , it was the cover initially that attracted me.

When I heard the songs for the first time I remember 'Fool on the Hill' and 'Your mother Should Know' (both Paul) instantly speaking to me, the retro-feel (back to 1964) of the latter positively mesmeric. 'I am the Walrus' was genius by John, and the middle eight particularly pertinent to the summer we're having.

And then, side two, 'Hello Goodbye' is as upbeat a song as you could find anywhere, followed by the ultra genius of 'Strawberry Fields Forever' and 'Penny Lane', easily the best two songs on any album sitting side by side (listen to them on Anthology Vol II as well - also reviewed).

The final song sums up the whole album: and I have always wondered why this album is often overlooked in favour of the even more brilliant 'Sergeant Pepper' or even 'Revolver' (more complete as albums).

The film ('MMT') is a little bit nutty-as-a-fruitcake but also worth seeing to complete the full audio-visual experience, although the songs do not match the album exactly.

If you do not have these songs on any of your other Beatles collections, get this album and you will understand what made an eleven year old learn all 216 released Beatles songs so he could play them on his guitar and buy about 40 Beatles albums as well as a number of singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical Mystery Treat, 25 Jun 2007
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
Magical Mystery Tour was for a long time the only Beatles collection where the US version gave better value than the rest of the world edition. In the UK, it was a double EP with all the songs from the film; in the States, Capitol made an album out of the songs by adding five more tracks, including the incomparable Strawberry Fields and Penny Lane.

The EP and LP both gave you a nice photo and lyric booklet, which is unfortunately missing from the CD issue.

While it doesn't quite hang together as an album for me, anyway, the overall quality of the songs is equal to the Beatles' best. I even like Flying, which was, believe it or not, one of their most played tunes as it used to fill in time before radio news bulletins.

The CD sound is a bit trebly and thin and could do with a re-jig.

I'd also suggest renting or buying the film, as it is, in Paul's words, a 'pretty cool little film'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam packed with classic Beatles recordings, 21 Aug 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
If it is even possible for a Beatles album to be somewhat underappreciated, Magical Mystery Tour is that album. Maybe it's the cover image of the Fab Four dressed in wholly ridiculous garb; that image is rather offsetting. As for the music, it's something of an odd mix of songs. The first six tracks come from the rather obscure television film Magical Mystery Tour, and the remaining five are made up of singles added to the pot in order to cook up enough material for an American album release. Thus, what you end up with is not a concept album such as the incredible Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band but rather a densely packed collection of huge hits complemented by several other very fine songs in their own right. Of the seven tracks, seven are bonafide Beatles classics: Magical Mystery Tour, The Fool On the Hill, I Am the Walrus, Hello Goodbye, Strawberry Fields Forever, Penny Lane, and All You Need Is Love. The last of these songs became a veritable theme song for the culture of love thriving at the time of this album's release in 1967. I Am the Walrus is unquestionably the strangest song the Beatles ever released, but John's unique delivery of the seemingly nonsense lyrics is inherently fascinating. I don't even need to expound upon the fascinating, psychedelic, and wholly unique Strawberry Fields Forever. Besides being two of the Beatles' most amazing songs, I Am the Walrus and Strawberry Fields Forever also hold an important place in the mythology of the Beatles, supposedly containing clues pointing to the "death" of Paul.
The four less familiar tracks are rather remarkable in themselves. Your Mother Should Know and Baby You're a Rich Man are fun and somewhat bouncy little tunes. Flying is a short instrumental (short being the best kind of instrumental in my opinion) that is notable for its existence as such among the Beatles discography. Then there is Blue Jay Way, George Harrison's sole contribution to the album. It is a terrific song wholly in keeping with the strange, oriental-influenced type of psychedelic sound showcased in Sgt. Pepper's Within You, Without You. It is a pity that George Harrison was never allowed to contribute more than one or two songs to any Beatles release because his songs prove the most fascinating and oddly compelling of all the group's recordings.
Clearly, this is an album all Beatles fans should cherish and listen to on a fairly regular basis. Few Greatest Hits albums can boast as many chart toppers as Magical Mystery Tour can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll up , roll up ....step right this way., 27 Nov 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
Originally released in late 1967 as a 6 song double E.P. and subsequently expanded to an 11 song album Magical Mystery Tour is the soundtrack to a one hour television film made by the Beatles( It was Paul McCartney,s idea to have a film based around magical adventures) shown twice over the Christmas period in 1967. The film is a bit of a mess, a charming mess , but a mess none the less. The album is actually much better and features many of my favourite Beatles songs.
Magical Mystery Tour was the first project for the band after the death of their manager and mentor Brian Epstein in August 1967 and many blamed the films sloppy production on the fact is lacked his mature judgement . The music though was far more favourably received than the film .When the soundtrack was released in the U.S. it became a full L.P. with the films soundtrack on side one and a collection of A & B sides on side two. This has now become the version of the films soundtrack that everyone is now familiar with.
Side one contains the same songs as the original E.P. but in a different order. Not that this matters once the vivacious title track kicks in with its blaring trumpets courtesy of four session musicians and with Beatles compadres Mal Evans and Neil Aspinall on percussion. "The Fool On The Hill" is one of McCartney,s more poignant and genuinely moving ballads with plaintive flute and Lennon and Harrison on harmonica. "Flying"" the brief churning instrumental is credited to the entire band leading into George Harrisons woozy "Blue Jay Way" before the wistful insanely catchy "Your Mother Should Know" which brilliantly elucidates McCartney's genius for melody.
However the real tour de force is Lennon's utterly berserk avant garde masterpiece "I Am The Walrus". Whether the tale is apocryphal or not , i don,t know, but apparently Lennon got the stirring rhythmic spine of the song from lying in bed in a New York hotel listening the sirens constantly blaring outside.Either way the dramatic orchestration , vertiginous arrangement juxtaposed with Lennon's barking lyrics( his typically sardonic response to academics over analysing Beatles songs) is arguably the finest example of the bands ability to match memorable tunes with sonic innovation. It,s my favourite Beatles and not even Oasis,s clodhopping cover can diminish it.
Talking off innovation . "Strawberry Fields Forever" a song that could merit a full review on its own. McCartney played the mellotron ( an instrument introduced to the band by Mike Pinder of The Moody Blues) and also wrote the first verse. George Martin utilises some of the studio trickery he learnt working for the BBC,s radiophonic workshop manipulating tape. Strawberry Fields refers to an orphanage in Liverpool and was released as a double A side with "Penny Lane" which kept the Liverpool theme going and is as effervescent a pop song as The Beatles ever produced with it,s fizzing trumpets and McCartney,s joyous vocal.
Another typically jaunty McCartney song the more throwaway but none the less sprightly enjoyable "Hello Goodbye " along with Lennon-McCartney collaboration "Baby You,re A Rich Man"( recorded for The Beatles animated film "The Beatles - Yellow Submarine [1968]" ) make up side two .Along with of course Lennon's. "All You Need Is Love"featuring it,s star laden backing band including Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Marianne Faithfull ,Eric Clapton, Graham Nash and George Martin on piano. The song became the centre piece of the 1967 Our World satellite broadcast neatly encapsulating the summer of love.
For a somewhat thrown together affair Magical Mystery Tour is surprisingly cohesive and is every bit as experimental and arguably more consistent than the far more garlanded Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. That's a truly great album too lest there be any misunderstanding but amongst the pantheon of brilliant Beatles albums -The Beatles: the White Album, Abbey Road, Revolver ,Rubber Soul -Magical Mystery Tour more than holds its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Beatles album, 10 Feb 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
I am in a minority but this has always been my favorite despite one or two tracks that I'm not wild about. Strictly speaking, this is actually a compilation, being made up of the tracks from the soundtrack EP plus the A and B-sides of various singles. However, as none of these tracks appeared on any other original Beatles albums, it is classified as an original album. – Because it was not recorded as an album, it sounds less cohesive than some of the other Beatles albums but the strength of the songs more than compensates for that.
Taking the soundtrack songs first, three of them are outstanding – Fool on the hill (a song that has been covered by others, sometimes brilliantly), Your mother should know (a fun song, as true today as it ever was) and the theme song. I can never make up my mind about I am the walrus. It is a piece of nonsense but it is very well done. Only John Lennon could have recorded such a song and not been ridiculed for it. There are times when I really enjoy it and there are times when I think it is rubbish. You must make up your own mind. Flying (an instrumental) and Blue jay way (a George Harrison song) are decent but nothing special.
The singles tracks are, of course, all masterpieces. The only B-side, Baby you're a rich man, is less famous than the other tracks but it's a classic as far as I'm concerned. You need no introduction to the four A-sides (Hello goodbye, Strawberry fields forever, Penny Lane, All you need is love) – you've heard them all countless times or you wouldn't even be thinking about buying this album.
Others may cite Sergeant Pepper, Abbey road or Revolver as their favorite Beatles album. I love them all, but not as much as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 15 Sep 2009
By 
N. Bailey "nialli" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
The original CD from 1987 was terrible, for me the worst of the bunch sounding tinny and substandard. This 2009 remastering is incredible, bringing home the full glory of some of their fabulous finest songs. Magical Mystery Tour itself is a tour de force now, whilst I Am The Walrus is ear-watering - stunning. And as to the rest, has there ever been a better set of "filler" tracks than Hello Goodbye, Strawberry Fields Forever, Penny Lane and All You Need Is Love? I even prefer it to the mono remastering, stereo being the first version I ever heard back in the early seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magical Mystery Tour (Jpn)
Magical Mystery Tour (Jpn) by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews