Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic or cliched?, 25 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: Il Buono, il Brutto, il Cattivo (The Good, The Bad and The Ugly) (Audio CD)
Unfortunately, this score has been referenced so much, you might think the real thing would sound like deja vu. Not a chance! If you want to hear something that oozes classic western this is it. Like many of his scores, its more a collection of individual pieces of music than a thematic whole, but the stylstic brilliance of Morricone makes the thing hold together. The moods, change, but the atmosphere remains throughout, exciting, tense, and wholly satisfying. And to be honest, if youre a fan of film music, how can you hold your head up if you dont own this one?
Buy it, and i guarantee youll be whistling THAT tune on your way to work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the most familiar film track of them all.., 10 Mar 2003
By 
Damien Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Il Buono, il Brutto, il Cattivo (The Good, The Bad and The Ugly) (Audio CD)
Apart from "Jaws" this must be the most famous film sound EVER?. The film should be viewed first to get an idea of context but it stands up on its own after a few listens. The underlying theme in the majority of the 21 tracks is the distinct whistling sound and strangely it never becomes annoying. There is one other track that merits special mention . "La Storia di un Soldata" sang in the film by defeated, dejected, demoralised Confederate soldiers in a prision camp. Their heart-breaking rendition of this tune will melt the hardest of strong statures. It becomes a metaphor for the madness of war (a la Barber Adagio for Strings in "Platoon".).
Overall for fans of the film who just need that extra musical output as films tend to over-edit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute perfection, 24 Feb 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Il Buono, il Brutto, il Cattivo (The Good, The Bad and The Ugly) (Audio CD)
Wow! What an improvement on the standard soundtrack CD! This one contains every single glorious note that appears in the film, skilfully remastered to perfection. This now has to be, without any doubt, the greatest soundtrack currently available. Morricone uses at least 4 themes in this one soundtrack which could easily have stood alone as main themes to other films, such is the quality of the master's work at its peak. Whether you know the film inside-out or have never seen it, this CD will still send shivers down your spine when you listen to it for the 50th time (which, if you are like me, will be 3 days after you bought it). Nice packaging too! Don't take my word for it, just buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, But..., 13 Nov 2013
By 
Ramus (UK Expat in France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Il Buono, il Brutto, il Cattivo (The Good, The Bad and The Ugly) (Audio CD)
I bought this CD and the music is excellent, of course. However, I am wrestling with a niggling doubt: did I buy the best version?

According to Amazon the version I bought is 'remastered from the original recording'. However, after my CD arrived I noticed there was another, more recent, version of the soundtrack available, issued in 16 August 2004. This later version seems to have many tracks 'digitally remastered in 2004'. The number and length of tracks are the same, but I'm asking myself if the later version is better in terms of sound quality, and background hiss? The 2004 version is also significantly cheaper at the time of writing. (Any opinions on the relative merits of the two versions would be appreciated.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A COMPLETE SCORE AT LAST FOR THIS CLASSIC FILM, 6 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. N. J. Voice "neil_voice" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
AT LAST AFTER A VERY LONG WAIT MAESTRO ENNIO MORRICONE'S SCORE FOR THE LAST OF SERGIO LEONE'S DOLLARS TRILOGY IS RELEASED.THIS CD CONTAINS THE COMPLETE SCORE FOR THIS MASTERPIECE.THE CD HAS BEEN REMASTERD FROM THE ORIGINAL SCORING SESSIONS AND HAS THE COMPLETE VERSION OF THE TRIO CUE THAT NOW RUNS FOR OVER SEVEN MINUTES.IT ALSO CONTAINS WHAT I THINK IS ONE OF MORRICONES BEST TRACKS EVER, THE ECSTASY OF GOLD A THREE AND A HALF MINUTE TOUR DE FORCE OF MUSIC FOR SCENE WHEN ELI WALLACH IS RUNNING AROUND IN CIRCLES IN THE HUGE GRAVEYARD AT THE END OF THE FILM.RUMOUR HAS IT THAT LEONE CUT THIS SEQUENCE TO THE MUSIC OF THIS TRACK AND SHOWS WHY THESE TWO MEN HAD PRODUCED THE MOST REMEMBERD WESTERN EVER.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED EVEN IF YOU HAVE THE PREVIOUS RELEASE STILL BUY THIS ONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great soundtrack., 13 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Il Buono, il Brutto, il Cattivo (The Good, The Bad and The Ugly) (Audio CD)
Awesome soundtrack to an awesome film. Morricone at his best. Very haunting and very beautiful. 5 stars is not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No words can describe it, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Il Buono, il Brutto, il Cattivo (The Good, The Bad and The Ugly) (Audio CD)
Delivery came really fast.The item is as described.Sound quality is really good.There are many things, that You can find for Yourself here - variety of different moods, inovative mix of sound.Strong and historical album but really good.The price is cheap so, buy it! That's the best, ultimate cmplete edition from Italy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The orginal,as it was meant to be, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. P. Hughes "Paddybhoy" (Coatbridge,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you want the music as it is exactly in the film, this is the soundtrack for you...including the last soundtrack 'The Trio' which is now 7 mins 14 secs long, I downloaded this from Amazon and I'm absolutly delighted with it.....Ennio Morricone is the master of film soundtracks and this I think is his finest work,beware of poor imitations....this is the orginal,fully remastered for perfect sound,you will not be disappointed...buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ecstacy of Gold, 21 Jan 2009
One of the problems with listening to soundtracks, especially from movies that you are pretty familar with, is that music seems irrevocably tied with the visual imagery of the film. And while this is also true in this case-- the haunting, and by now culturally cliche motif at the heart of the film-- taking the visual away from the music lets you appreciate the music on its own. The "dessert" segment, which in the movie is merely backround, has a life and shape of it's own. With the exception of the oveture and final peice (the most familar to a movie-goer) the rest of the music, taken out of the context of the film, has a vibrant, spirited life of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAB, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just the best ever....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews