Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classics.
I was never a Roxy fan,I was only a kid during the 70`s and only knew of them because my oldest sister was in love with Ferry,I heard some of the early Roxy songs and never thought about them much until I started getting into music myself at the start of the 80`s and remembered hearing Avalon,More Than This and Same Old Scene on the radio very often.
The surprising...
Published on 12 Sept. 2008 by S. Williamson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars top heavy on a slicker later incarnation
sorry this should really be titled - the singles collection.
Ok I know some of the earlier stuff isn't single material but it's top heavy on the later reformed Roxy music, and their commercial hit driven period.
There is a time line split between Roxy's fifth Studio Album Siren and their first reformation album Manifesto.I'm afraid in my purist eyes (with the...
Published 2 months ago by P. Harries


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classics., 12 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Best Of Roxy Music (Audio CD)
I was never a Roxy fan,I was only a kid during the 70`s and only knew of them because my oldest sister was in love with Ferry,I heard some of the early Roxy songs and never thought about them much until I started getting into music myself at the start of the 80`s and remembered hearing Avalon,More Than This and Same Old Scene on the radio very often.
The surprising thing to me on this collection of songs is just how good and how many hits Roxy had,the only thing that drops a star for me is that the early stuff is harder for me to like but hey I`m an 80`s child.
For me this record has done what it was intended to,it`s made me want to go out and buy the other Roxy albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of Two Roxy's !!, 11 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Roxy Music (Audio CD)
A very "interesting" cd - especially for those souls who think of Roxy Music as always being the quintessentially last word in pop elegance.
Tracks 1 - 8 summarise this elegant, very slick body of work after they re-formed in 1978 following a two year break. This was commercially their most successful period. Overall the material was fairly gorgeous and tasteful, but for me sometimes a little too eager to please the dinner party set. "Avalon" for me is the standout track from this time. It's detatched beauty was the last word in atmosphere and chic.
As the CD continues, we trail through Roxy's (in my opinion) more glorious past. The slick stuff was also edgy and weird ("Mother of Pearl"). Some classic pop-rock was offered ("All I want is You", "Street Life" - yeah, Roxy could be very noisy in their young days). The perfectly-formed art-pop-kitsch of "Virginia Plain" has been copied to an extent by the likes of Air today. And as for the anarchic "Remake/Remodel" - well that should show you that our Bryan didn't start out by crooning alone !
If you only know Roxy's more (relatively) recent offerings and you're prepared to have your perception of them changed for ever - this CD is a steal !
"Make me a deal and make it straight..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five-star Roxy, 12 July 2007
By 
A. L. Sharples (Hannover, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The sound quality on this release is outstanding. Some people may bemoan the lack of multi-channel but the stereo sound is terrific - we should all be thankful these songs are available on SACD at all! Owners of Roxy's Avalon SACD will surely buy this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yet another very good Roxy compilation, 10 Jun. 2001
This review is from: The Best Of Roxy Music (Audio CD)
Well-here we go again. A Roxy complilation. Nice girl on the cover. Great mastering. Sounds fresh and vibrant on your new DVD / HDCD player. As much as i love the contents it really is time the guys (or Bryan) do something new. To tie in with the tour, we get another re-hash of greatest hits and Roxy favourites. As usual the early stuff is energising, suggesting the power of early Punk. The older stuff remains mature intelligent easy listening genius. Dance Away remains one of the BEST Pop lyrics EVER. Buy it for yourself, But it for a friend. Hopefuly they will get the hint and make something new as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars top heavy on a slicker later incarnation, 4 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: The Best Of Roxy Music (Audio CD)
sorry this should really be titled - the singles collection.
Ok I know some of the earlier stuff isn't single material but it's top heavy on the later reformed Roxy music, and their commercial hit driven period.
There is a time line split between Roxy's fifth Studio Album Siren and their first reformation album Manifesto.I'm afraid in my purist eyes (with the strange exception of Manifesto, the first track on the sixth studio album) everything after they reformed is really a Bryan Ferry solo album with the band members playing. All the innovative material has gone., all the quirkiness.
Please go back to albums like For your pleasure, Stranded and Siren and see what great material this band pushed out.
Some of the later stuff is seductive but pretty vacuous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a glorious history, 6 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Roxy Music (Audio CD)
Get out your glitter, your platform shoes, those little pillbox hats with veils - whatever it was you wore to those Roxy concerts in the 70s - and prepare to enjoy yourself. I'd forgotten how much good music Roxy had made over the years.
I put this CD on and not one bad track. It's a real jaunt down memory lane and a great testimonial to one of the most original groups ever. To quote Mr. Ferry "It's a new sensation, a fabulous creation" ......!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intrigiung & successful retrospective..., 8 Jan. 2004
This review is from: The Best Of Roxy Music (Audio CD)
Compiling a one CD “Best of Roxy Music” is a tough task. Why?... well, not only did the group re-invent itself in personnel & style on at least three occasions during its 10 year life but, the strength of its most effective albums (in particular “For Your Pleasure”, “Country Life”, “Flesh + Blood” and “Avalon”) lies in their cohesion, making the selection of individual tracks out of context extremely difficult. So… better to forget any pretensions to a “Best of…” title and to consider this compilation for what it actually is: an intriguing and successful retrospective.
Intriguing because it’s sequenced “back to front”, starting off with the “radio friendly”, beautifully crafted tracks produced at the end of their career and then progressing backwards (in time at least!) to the distinctly less “easy listening” and far more radical outings from the beginning of their career. Compare this album’s first track (“Avalon”, from their last studio recording) to its last track (“Re-Make/Re-Model”, from their first record) to witness the scale of the change involved. Successful, because it gradually takes the listener from the familiar to the “strange” and, in so doing, pretty effectively maps out the group’s career while providing, on the way, an excellent “sampler” of what’s to be found on their individual albums. A job well done but, “The Best of…”: unlikely/impossible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glam, urbane, cool, what more do you want?, 25 Nov. 2010
By 
J. Davies "Johnny D" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Roxy Music (Audio CD)
Never paid much attention to Roxy Music during the early years of my musical education, always appeared, particularly by the early to mid 1980s as a bit too smooth, night club/lounge soundtrack. Background to many a Yuppie dinner party I suspect, for those who wanted something a bit more highbrow than the late 80s Motown/New Soul sound.

However this collection is packed with some fantastic tracks, from early Eno engineered 'Street Life' and 'Do The Strand' to the later 'Avalon' 'Virginia Plain' and 'Same Old Scene'.

Some of the collection is slightly dated but the musicianship, particularly Phil Manzanera's guitar work and Andy Mackay's Sax solos are brilliant. Well worth further investigation, classic British avant-garde rock at its best, I'll just grab my tux and order a cocktail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A QUALITY OUTFIT', 27 Feb. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of Roxy Music (Audio CD)
'Bryan Ferry' and Roxy Music released many classic and favourite sounds
from the early 70's right through to the mid-eighties (chart-wise)
Of course 'Bryan Ferry' was the Voice of Roxy Music, he had that laid-back
vocal ability, it certainly hooked-in a lot of fans down the years.
Of course 'Bryan' had a hand in penning much of their material back then,
their first chart-success was back in 72' was 'Virginia Plain' which actually
re-charted in '77.
Many of the songs on-board reached the Top 10 singles chart, for me the
numbers I remember most are ....'Jealous Guy' (great version of a 'John
Lennon' classic) 2-weeks at Number 1'(1981).....'Oh Yeah' made number 5'
(1980)...'Angel Eyes' number 4 (1979)....'Love is the Drug' number 2 (1975)
'Avalon' number 13 (1982)... 'Street Life' number 9 (1973)...'Angel Eyes'
number 4 (1979) of course as mentioned earlier 'Virginia Plain' number 4 in
(1972) and number 11 (1977) ...and. perhaps my personal favourite from the
group 'Dance Away' which reached number 2 in 1979.
There are several more hits on board, and as is often the case on 'Best of'
releases, one or two favourites missing such as 'Let's Stick Together' and
'The 'In' Crowd' to name just a couple.
This was a quality outfit who certainly had a fair share of chart success down
the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes this is a HDCD release, 28 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Roxy Music (Audio CD)
Just received this CD and despite not having the HDCD logo anywhere on the cover, booklet or CD itself I can confirm that this, like the album re-releases of 1999 is recorded in HDCD. As far as the compliation itself - it's quite good but is it "the best of"? Probably not. It's got some great tracks, a couple of non-album singles (Jealous Guy and the single "disco" mix of Angel Eyes) and all sounds very nice, however it manages to miss out on five stars due to the fact that it is all so "nice" and fails to show the more edgy side of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Roxy Music
The Best Of Roxy Music by Roxy Music (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews