Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerhouse blues...
For this recording session Buddy Guy has returned to his roots and used a recording studio called Sweet Tea, the Oxford, Mississippi studio, is also owned by the producer of this album, one Dennis Herring.
For this session Mr Herring has assembled an extraordinary band of black Mississippi veterans in the shape of Spam on Drums and Sam Carr also on drums along with...
Published on 28 July 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The great Buddy Guy - let down by modern technology.
I've got quite a bit of BG's later stuff (from Damn Right I've Got The Blues onwards) and this, musically, is of the same high standard but with a very different feel to it. It's not studio slick but has quite a raw, home-made groove based feel to it (to my ears anyway). I actually didn't like it on first hearing, but it has grown on me a lot.

But I have a...
Published 9 months ago by Mr J Wright


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerhouse blues..., 28 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Tea (Audio CD)
For this recording session Buddy Guy has returned to his roots and used a recording studio called Sweet Tea, the Oxford, Mississippi studio, is also owned by the producer of this album, one Dennis Herring.
For this session Mr Herring has assembled an extraordinary band of black Mississippi veterans in the shape of Spam on Drums and Sam Carr also on drums along with some younger white players Jimbo Mathus on rhythm guitar on bass Davey Faragher and another drummer in the form of Pete Thomas.
The opening track of this 2001 recording finds Buddy half-singing and half-muttering while he picks out the tune of the song "Done got old". With the opening line of the track proclaiming "well, I done got old, can't do the things I used to, cause I'm a old man, and I'm not the same". As the song ends on the line "I'm a very old man" and the strumming of his acoustic guitar fades into the distance you get the impression that this going to be a laid-back country blues album.
As the snare drum of "Baby please don't leave Me" played by Spam is heard with the bass player Davey Faragher counting 1, 2, that impression is soon dispelled as the dirtiest sounding bass with the slackest strings is heard along with the incendiary guitar playing of buddy Guy who is singing "Oh baby please". This pounding riff whish is basically the whole song distorts and bends it's way for buddy to play a relentless solo in the middle to great effect, making the track a wall of thumping bass and riffs that ends with the sound of controlled feedback.
As the third song "Look what you got" starts with the same dirty sounding bass and crunching snare drum, the rhythm guitar playing of Jimbo Mathus can be heard picking out the main theme, this allows Buddy the space to play some powerful sounding solo's that he now can elongate to his hearts delight.
"Stay all night" is a song that shows the playing skills and musicianship of all involved, as Buddy can solo in between the powerhouse sounding band.
The following track "Tramp" finds some of Buddy's signature guitar pyrotechnics played along the back of the backing bands rock steady playing, as the track ends a voice can be heard to cry "you are out there on your own".
The song "She got the devil in Her" has a great vocal intro "lets do it" this is the cue for more dirty sounding bass and pounding drums and superb guitar solo's from Buddy, as with the previous tracks this song is low in lyric content but high on gut wrenching guitar playing.
For the song "I gotta try you Girl" is the cornerstone of the whole collection for me, not only does the song last more than 12 minutes, Buddy Guy's guitar playing on this one track reaches a whole new plateau all of it's own, just sit back and gasp at it's splendour and power.
"Who's been Fooling You" is the penultimate track of the album which contains the big sounding bass and drums of the preceding tracks except this time there is a more soulful feel to the song this conveyed by the rhythm guitar sound that all the other sounds are interwoven around.
To close the proceedings Buddy has recorded the only self-penned track on the collection "It's a Jungle Out There" this song follows the tradition of a narrative song that tells of the singer woes, this song stands out from the others in the collection as it's sound is boosted by the use of boogie-woogie sounding piano ably played by Bobby Whitlock which adds a counterpoint to the rest of the bands pounding jungle rhythm.
This is a superb album to play when not in the mood for heavy lyric content but just want to feel the power of the blues, played by a powerhouse artist with a slamming band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album by a fantastic bluesman, 28 Nov 2006
By 
Macca "Macca" (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Tea (Audio CD)
This is superb stuff from start to finish. The review below is very comprehensive and I agree entirely. The highlight for me is I Gotta Try You. At over 12 minutes long its a blues tour de force of rhythmn, lead and vocals. The edit with the fade in at the beginning emphasises the "live one take" feel throughout the album.

The only gripe from my end is the sometimes excessive echo and delay effects put on Buddy's guitar and vocals. This is at odds with the live, stripped down sound of the band. Can't knock a star off for that though and i think the best I can say is that having seen Buddy play most of these songs live, the album is actually better, which isn't normally the case with a blues album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Tea - Buddy Guy. Sweet tunes, 31 July 2009
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sweet Tea (Audio CD)
This album is pretty much a classic. The opener - done got old - is a wonderful old man's lament at not being able to do the things he could in his youth. Buddy sings it in such wa way that it's totally beleivable. He then spends the rest of the album proving to us that the opener is wholly incorrect, belting out a set of heavy, fast paced blues with no diminuation in either his incendiary guitar playing or vocals. An absolute cracker. It's not just for hardened blues fans either - Buddy has a knack of putting out albums that will appeal to a wide range of tastes. Get it, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time classic, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tea (MP3 Download)
If you only ever buy one electric blues album, it has to be this. Totally awesome and REAL. You wont regret it, and you will wonder why people get excited about Clapton, Bona-whateverhisnameis...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The great Buddy Guy - let down by modern technology., 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tea (MP3 Download)
I've got quite a bit of BG's later stuff (from Damn Right I've Got The Blues onwards) and this, musically, is of the same high standard but with a very different feel to it. It's not studio slick but has quite a raw, home-made groove based feel to it (to my ears anyway). I actually didn't like it on first hearing, but it has grown on me a lot.

But I have a gripe about the Amazon MP3.

Unfortunately at the time of writing, for whatever reason, it seems impossible to get this on CD at a reasonable price and so very reluctantly I downloaded the tracks. Possibly one of the worse quality downloads I've come across in terms of mastering. Two tracks were significantly louder than all the others and I didn't realise this until I'd burnt a CD (I don't/won't have an MP3 system). I had to explore the internet to find out how to adjust the individual track volumes in itunes (it can be done!) and then burnt another CD. It's just about ok now but still sounds crap against a properly produced CD. That's modern technology for you. MP3s really do suck (or is it blow?).

Four stars for Buddy. Two stars for the download. Three stars overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb - a blues classic !, 18 Mar 2012
By 
A. J. Sudworth "tonysudworth" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tea (Audio CD)
Some albums just hit the spot from the off and this is one of them. If you claim to even have a mild liking for the blues then this will work for you. Some blistering guitar work matched with simple lyrics - so powerful
I Gotta Try You Girl is just mind blowing as a song that does not rely on notes per second to grab your attention but the depth of feeling Buddy Guy gets into the song
This is done even better on Baby Please Don't Leave Me - again the longer song allows the music to develop at a slower pace - in contrast to Look What All You Got which is thumping blues
What can I say more - not much but I am delighted with this album - suspect I'm going to have to go back catalog now ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Staggeringly brilliant, 8 Nov 2011
This review is from: Sweet Tea (Audio CD)
Until now Buddy Guy never did it for me. I like my music raw, strong and varied and to feel the emotion, energy and commitment of my artists.Previously there was nothing there to grab me, but my reward for keeping an open mind is this colossus. I was speechless as it grabbed my throat from starting the second track - it never let go, just tightened its grip.

I read this was supposed to have psychadelic overtones and that surely was a desperate attempt to pigeon hole a work of indescribabale genius. Rambling now, time to get another fix of Sweet Tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet..., 4 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tea (MP3 Download)
Pure roar funky rockin blues from Mr. GUY. A must for any fan of Buddy Guy or electric blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Album, 19 Nov 2009
By 
Crystal Tips (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Tea (Audio CD)
This CD is a winner from start to finish ! From the 7 mins of pure Blues Heaven of Baby Please Don't Leave Me to the shorter yet very sweet tracks !
Buddys guitar playing is awesome and his raw Blues vocals tug at your soul .
This is truly Buddy Guy at his very best !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic Blues, 28 Sep 2010
By 
R. J. Brady "madandbad" (wallington, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Tea (Audio CD)
This is a moody and atmospheric blues album. Great incendiary playing by a true bluesman and great support from the
rest of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Tea
Sweet Tea by Buddy Guy (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews