Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! The best album in the world ever!
Before i bought this album i had already bought 'Polythene' which reallly suprised me .....It was sooo good! I started liking Feeder as soon as i heard 'Buck Rogers'Since then i have bought every single and album the've done and the one that stands out the most is 'Yesterday went too soon'. I has everything i ever had wanted from and an album and everything i will want...
Published on 4 Aug 2001 by Andy Lambert

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected.
After Polythene and hearing some new material at live shows this albumdid surprise me a little. It was less smashing pumpkins and more stereophonics. Grants voice is qite rough on this album, and the whole thing straddles the indie/metal divide mor than polythene.
Opener Anaesthetic is a cracking track, in the style that has become typical Feeder.
Insomnia is...
Published on 21 Sep 2007 by genejoke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! The best album in the world ever!, 4 Aug 2001
This review is from: Yesterday Went Too Soon (Audio CD)
Before i bought this album i had already bought 'Polythene' which reallly suprised me .....It was sooo good! I started liking Feeder as soon as i heard 'Buck Rogers'Since then i have bought every single and album the've done and the one that stands out the most is 'Yesterday went too soon'. I has everything i ever had wanted from and an album and everything i will want. It is truly amazing!
My personal fave is the unbelieveably catchy 'Insomnia' (If you like 'Buck Rogers' you'll love this). As for the rest of the songs they are all top quality. It contains Feeders origional stlye and a contrast between slow and fast songs for example;'Dry' then 'Hole in my head' then 'So Well'. All this makes for a classic album..........A MUST HAVE!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A confident masterpiece., 20 Aug 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday Went Too Soon (Audio CD)
I love all of Feeder's albums but this just might be my favourite. The tracks on Yesterday Went Too Soon are pretty diverse, but all of them are perfect and fit brilliantly into the album as a whole. It's an amazing achievement by the band, who self produced this album - and Grant Nicholas' songwriting skills just get better and better, he's come up with some fantastic songs here. Personal favourites are the heartbreaking, beautiful 'Dry' and the frenetic 'Hole In My Head', together with the perfect rock song 'Insomnia' and the exuberant 'You're My Evergreen'. However, there's not one weak track on the album. If you've recently got into the brilliance that is Feeder and are wondering whether to buy this album, then do it, now - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's worth buying the album for Insomnia alone!, 30 Jun 2001
This review is from: Yesterday Went Too Soon (Audio CD)
This was the first Feeder album i ever bought, at the time i just bought it for Insomnia (which is the best song ever!). But i was pleasently suppriesed by how good the rest of the album is. In my opinion it is the best of all the Feeder albums. On 'Yesterday Went Too Soon' every song is quality (even the hidden track is quite good). Although if you are expecting 13 songs all like 'Insomnia' you'll be disapointed, but given half a chance songs like 'Picture of Perfect Youth' and 'Yesterday Went To Soon' will grow on you and end up becoming some of your favourite song. Overall a very good album and if you were like me thinking 'i like Buck Rodgers and Insomnia but i don't know if it's worth buying a Feeder album' you should definatley buy this, you wont' regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album in the world...........ever!, 26 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Yesterday Went Too Soon (Audio CD)
In 1999, I first got into Feeder thanks to their TOTP and TFI Friday appearances that year. However, I was still yet to hear an album by Feeder, so got all the ones I didn't have all on the same day in Virgin Megastore. A few weeks later I've been reading loads of rave reviews for "Yesteday Went Too Soon" and knew it would be yet another impressive album by Feeder, and I was not to be disapointed.
The album consists of showing many different sides to Feeder's music. The heavy as in "Waiting For Changes", the mellow-acoustic flavours of "Dry" and "Tineltown", the experimental delights of "So Well" and "Radioman" and the downright mosh-pit frenzy of a tune by the name of "Hole In My Head".
Every track is something special, when I first heard Feeder albums it was the first time in my life I bought an album, and every track is supberb, and this one carries on that trend which so far has not and never will stop.
I really like the way the album is organised,- you get a heavy track, a mellow track, a heavy track then maybe another heavy track and then something experimental thrown in for fine measure and variety. This is not one of those CD's where you have a track in mind you're intending to skip when it comes along.
Even 4 years after it's release I'm still playing it week by week, and for that to happen to a four year old album really must mean how timeless Feeder are.
If you buy one CD today, make sure it's this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a bargain!, 22 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Yesterday Went Too Soon (Audio CD)
Its sometimes hard to describe Feeder. They are quite a heavy band but have moments of pure brilliance in slow songs "Piece by Piece - Echo Park". Yesterday Went Too Soon has an excellent mixture of songs. The title track is quite outstanding, with some ingenius songwriting. "Picture Of Perfect Youth" is mainly a solid rock song, but halfway through Feeder change the pace to great effect, and has easily become my favourite song on the album. Its not often you get a consistent album of good songs without any unusual (crap) experimenting. Altho Echo Park contains the better songs - "Piece by piece", "Turn", "Buck", YWTS is consistent and an enjoyable listen. More of the same please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YWTS - class, 2 Nov 2003
This review is from: Yesterday Went Too Soon (Audio CD)
This is by far one of Feeder's most accomplished albums to date. Unlike the somewhat same-y slow songs on Comfort in Sound, and more of a balance of slower and rock songs than Echo park, YWTS is a clear display of Grant Nicholas' pure songwriting and producing talents. With such thought-provoking tunes as the title track and "picture of perfect youth", and yet catchy, simple songs as insomnia and waiting for changes, not to mention the melancholy sound of "paperfaces", this album is a must for any newer Feeder fans, and an essential in any rock lover's CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album has pride of place in my collection, 22 May 2003
This review is from: Yesterday Went Too Soon (Audio CD)
For me YWTS is the best Feeder album. It's been in my car cd for weeks now, everything time I listen to it, it's different.
There's such a diverse mix of song styles, from really jumpin on 'Insomnia' and 'Changes' to the emotional 'Dry'. Feeder are musical kings and definitely underplayed on our radio and musci tv stations.
If you want a place to start with Feeder buy YWTS first! I can't say enough good stuff about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great album from Feeder, 14 April 2003
This review is from: Yesterday Went Too Soon (Audio CD)
I got into Feeder during the Buck Roger days and as I loved the latest albums I decided to invest in this. Insomnia, Anaesthetic, Waiting for Changes and Hole in my head are great tracks which will please fans of Echo Park, and the slow tracks (YWTS, Radioman, Paperfaces) are also good and show the band are more than just frantic pop-rock. Particular mention goes to Dry- what a brilliant song which is worth the price alone. Tinseltown is the only let down, a slow and dull song which never picks up. Even the bonus track is better than this. What the album lacks is a stand out track like Buck Rogers or Just a Day. However YWTS is a varied album with lots of great songs which is well worth the money for new and old Feeder fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grant Nicholas is God, 23 Mar 2003
This review is from: Yesterday Went Too Soon (Audio CD)
This is easily one of feeders best albums, in my opinion falls behind the re-released version of Swim, most people would compare feeders albums to Echo Park, which I think is feeders poorist attempt, still excellant but not to feeders original fans taste, imagine nevermind by nirvana, highly popular, classed as their best effort, but its not to feeders true fans tastes. Yesterday Went Too Soon is a great combination of metal and indie and because of this variation in styles its all the better off for it, as there is always a song for your mood. The best song on the album is arguably Insomnia, its an early Buck Rogers with more emotion and its sounds better than what is classed as being feeders best song, I think that feeders best song is Chicken on a Bone, which featured as an instrumental on the original Gran Turismo, which is where I got into feeder.
Whether you like this album or not depends on whether or not you like feeders new stuff, if your not a great fan, the first three albums are worth getting as they are nothing like Echo Park or Comfort In Sound. This is a great album shame feeder were not as popular as they are now because it would have sold like hot cakes, do Grant Nicholas a favour and buy this album, you will not regret it, trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not all bad, 15 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Yesterday Went Too Soon (Audio CD)
Despite what most people believe this album isn't as bad as they say!!! With unmistakable voice of Grant Nichols and that feeder sound you get great veriaty! From Anesthetic to a song like Tinsel Town you get a album filled with chill-out and some rock music!! I would recomend this album and rate it highly as they have produced an album with a good selection of songs for you to listen to!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yesterday Went Too Soon
Yesterday Went Too Soon by Feeder (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews