Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
35
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2002
A fabulous album, yet the title is something of a misnomer; "The Best Northern Soul Youth Club CD" would have been much more appropriate. Given the scene's preoccupation with rarity it comes as something of a surprise that a CD containing 60 tracks should be made up of tracks that (in one form or another) can be picked up individually for less than a bluey each. In the majority of cases we would be talking about a re-issue, but I doubt that would be a major concern to the prospective purchasers of this CD.
Quite frankly, I have to say it's the best VFM Northern Soul CD to be found on the shelves of your local megastore. Sure, some of that tracks are the kind of things we all bought when we were wet behind the ears ('You're ready now' 'Ghost in my house' 'The Snake' etc) but there are timeless gems which shine out like a beacon of light and defy mere monetary classifications ('Looking for you' 'Dance dance dance' 'You don't want me no more' 'Too late' et al). Not an album likely to be revered by the prudies and shrewdies who spent most of the niter stuck in the record bar philosophising about the missing Ric Tic numbers - but for those who lost pints of sweat on the dance floor thirty years ago it must be considered an essential purchase. I had forgotten just how good some of these records were. But this CD has become something of a regular on my system with a click of the 'random' button (Go on - surprise me!) bringing back too many memories of the days when I had all my real teeth, a flat belly and had never heard of Grecian 2000. Just watch me astonish my kids as I glide across the living room doing the clap to 'Tainted Love' ("Sit down dad, you're a flaming tragedy") Ah, what do they know - they've only got the derivative rave scene. I had Wigan, I had baggy trousers, I had soul. And now I have this CD - and for once, just for once, I am young again. Turn back time - buy this CD
Dave McCadden
11 comment| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2007
Yep, this is a great re-release in 2006 of a great 2001 double cd, but would have been even better if Virgin would have kept all 30 tracks on each cd not editted to 23 a cd.
So if buying 2nd hand try to get the older 2001 version first.
Hope this helps.
Baldy67.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2002
All the guys who kept the faith and still follow the northern soul scene may find that this compilation verges on the sell-out. But for me, a former follower of too-long-ago, who's been through the marriage, kids and settle down bits of life, which has involved learning to appreciate other types of music, then this little gem represents a great "welcome home".
It may be a bit commercial, it may be too near to the mainstream for the purist, however, I think that The Poets incredible "She blew a good thing" and Frankie Valli's all time classic "You're ready now" show that good music is good music no matter how many people appreciate it. The same can be said for dance standards "Out on the Floor" "If you ask" and "Our love is in the pocket"
If like me. you need to be re-educated as to what the north was and is really all about, them this musical journey from "7 days is too long" to "The Drifter", and "Girls are out to get you" to "I'm on my way" is like a loved one's welcome after a long hard journey; it's like the white cliffs of dover after the green fields of France. It's like coming home!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 August 2003
Anyone wanting to explore or just starting to get some Northern Soul tracks together look no further, this is a great starting place. The title of the CD may evoke memories of the other compilations with similar the greatest ......album of all time titles, this album lives up to its title or as near as damm it.
This album is just not for Northern Soul fans anyone who appreciates well-sung songs with real instruments and no drum machines will appreciate this album.
The album contains 60 tracks with too many highlights to mention and is a superb compilation and warrants 5 stars
If you only buy one Northern album for your collection then this is the one.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2001
One of the best Northern albums I've had the pleasure to get my hands, with classic dance floor fillers such as 'Seven days', 'Ghost in my house', 'Landslide', '25 Miles', 'The Snake', 'Move on up' and 'Tainted love', to mention but a few. 60 tracks worth of some of the best music your ever likely to hear on CD, If you don't enjoy this compilation, I should check you've still got a pulse!!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2001
anyone old enough to remember the good times will love this collection. so many good tunes on one cd, hairs on the back of your neck stuff.if you like northern keep the faith and enjoy the revival its happening and this should get you in the mood!.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2001
Hearing the tracks on this CD brought me straight back to the early days of Wigan Casino "All-Nighters". The days of standing room only on a Saturday night and queueing to get in all around the block. My first memories started in the Beachcomber Disco, beneath the Casino and as a fifteen year old dancing to "I'll do anything (anything he wants me to do)" Wow, I'm fifteen again with maybelline-blue mascara and platform soles, Russ Winstanley is the DJ and I'm loving every minute of it. Can anyone else out there still do a back-drop?!! Keep the Faith! Susan Lewis xxxx (nee Holland)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
This is a class album of really well known Northern Soul tracks. Its the tracks everyone has cut their teeth on at some point if they class themselves as Northern soul fans or ever went to local disco's in small towns in the late 70's as I did and first heard them there. You get a lot of tracks for the money, 40 tracks and none of them are fillers or turkeys. Stand outs depend so much on personal taste, my own are 7 Days too Long, The Drifter, Out on the Floor (it still brings back such memories), What andTainted Love, but there are 35 others to chose from every bit as good and its very hard to say which are the best because they all are. Get your hands on a copy its another album that you can play and everyone dances to. Perfect for parties, BBQ's and any other times when you need music that gets the feet moving, I guarantee this will.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2008
I bought this CD the year it came out and sill love it. I have copies in the car, on the pc's at home and at work and on my ipod! If you can, buy a copy of the original offering, its got a massive 60 tracks! Once the postman has been you'll have all you need to stage a great all nighter for all your soul mates......... so turn up the volume, get the talc on the floor and let your feet go free!

and remember, whatever else you might do in life, please.....'Keep the Faith'!!
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2008
I am trying to rebuild the soul collection I used to have as a fan and DJ back in the 60's - and this 2-CD set goes a heckuva long way to fulfilling my needs.
From the power-driven opener, Seven Days Too Long,through Just a Little Misunderstanding, Helpless,Homer Banks'magnificent A Lot of Love, to Tainted Love and Shirley Ellis' simple and adorable Soul Time - what a treasure trove of good old soul music.
I'm not a 'Northern Soul' fan, so don't really see any soul in Love on a Mountain Top, but let's not quibble...I'm transported to my Soul Paradise.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)