Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Throughout
As the 1970's dawned Jeff Beck was becoming bored with the constraints of rock music, and, never one to remain in a rut, he wisely expanded his horizons to include jazz rock. In fact, Jeff Beck was one of the first to explore the possibilities of making a rock album with no lyrics whatsoever. Beck was never one to enjoy singing (To this day he still hates singing Hi Ho...
Published on 20 Mar 2002

versus
50 of 83 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my kind of music.
I bought this album after listening to (and really liking) Joe Satriani's 'Surfing with the Alien'. Before then I had not been very interested in purely instrumental music though I always appreciated great guitar playing. Having read about Jeff Beck many times in guitar magazines and hearing praise along the lines of him being 'the greatest living guitarist', I thought I...
Published on 1 Aug 2005 by T Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Throughout, 20 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Blow By Blow (Audio CD)
As the 1970's dawned Jeff Beck was becoming bored with the constraints of rock music, and, never one to remain in a rut, he wisely expanded his horizons to include jazz rock. In fact, Jeff Beck was one of the first to explore the possibilities of making a rock album with no lyrics whatsoever. Beck was never one to enjoy singing (To this day he still hates singing Hi Ho Silver Lining), and tired of sharing the limelight with a lead singer, he focassed all his attention on the music, it's arrangements and the complex guitar solos he would play with characteristic aplomb. Blow by Blow was a tremendous success when it was first released in the early 1970's, thrusting Beck into a whole new area of serious jazz rock. This whole area of music was sufficiently exciting and original to attract the attention of George Martin, no less, who produced this magnificent album. Beck's strength's lie firmly in guitar playing and his arrangements of solo's. Various sources are credited with the writing of the songs on this album, whilst Beck concentrates wholly on the guitar. The result is a genuine innovation and one that would equally astound and infuriate Beck's fans and critics. Some thought Beck should stick purely with blues and rock like his old mate Eric Clapton, while others thought this album was truly an original piece of work, easily out classing other less adventurous guitarists. Needless to say, the album is well produced by George Martin, with a couple of tracks being enhanced by strings, arranged by Martin. The whole thing is so utterly compelling and refreshing now, it must have seemed breathtaking at the time. Such a success this album was that Beck turned his back completely on pure rock music to concentrate his efforts instead upon his own blend of highly charged jazz rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Genius Work of Jazz/Rock, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Blow By Blow (Audio CD)
The spark of inspiration for this ground-breaking Jazz/Rock ,instrumental album ,came when Jeff had the idea of taking some of the more obscure guitar lines that John McLaughlin was employing with The Mahavishnu Orchestra and making them more accessible.

Of course ,Jeff has always had his own unique musical expression on the guitar and he had already demonstrated his talent for playing instrumentals prior to this on superb tracks such as "Definitely Maybe","I Can't Give Back The Love I Feel For You" and the atmospheric,"Max's Tune".

Max Middleton wrote the latter song and he makes a massive contribution here on 'Blow By Blow' , in terms of his piano playing as well as his strong writing.The brilliant George Martin produced the album and was also responsible for the wonderful orchestral arrangement.Jeff has described how working with George Martin felt like they were "really getting to the nuts and bolts of making music".

Of the nine songs contained here ,Jeff wrote one and co-wrote two others;there are other songs by Lennon/McCartney ( 'She's a Woman' ),Stevie Wonder ( 'Thelonius' )and 'Diamond Dust' , written by Bernie Holland .My favourite songs on the album are 'She's a Woman' ,which contains joyous,lyrical phrasing, 'Scatterbrain' containing a gloriously original,exciting and inventive lead break, 'Cause We've Ended as Lovers' with it's soulful, yearning , Roy Buchannan inspired, playing, and,in my opinion,the best track of all ... 'Diamond Dust' .Max Middleton plays commanding piano here, whilst Jeff executes some really poignant,profound lead guitar lines on this masterpiece .Also, George Martin's amazing string orchestration and the sympathetic drumming of Richard Bailey and the full sounding bass of Phil Chenn,work together really successfully on 'Diamond Dust' !

An ox-blood brown Les Paul was the main guitar used on 'Blow by Blow' .Jeff also played a Tele-Gib' guitar (created for him by Seymour Duncan,when he added humbucker pick-ups to replace the original single coils on a maple necked Fender Telecaster)on 'Cause We've Ended as Lovers' .The unmistakable sound of a Stratocaster is clearly evident on another great ,Middleton penned,track called 'Freeway Jam' .This guitar sound continued on JB's next album , 'Wired' .

If you are perhaps expecting a mainstream ,riff based , rock album then you may find 'Blow by Blow' to be slightly confusing. If ,however, you appreciate some of the very finest musically inspired and original lead guitar playing ever then give this fine album a fair listen .You may find that you need to give it several listens but I believe that you will be glad that you did...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No, not necessarily for (all) Satriani fans but for everyone else..., 14 Jun 2010
This review is from: Blow By Blow (Audio CD)
One of THE great guitar albums. I was amazed to see that someone had given this a 2 star rating but having read their review, it would appear that they are at the Joe Satriani level so didn't "get" Blow by Blow. For everyone one else, this is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Beck.., 27 Jan 2013
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blow By Blow (Audio CD)
If Jeff Beck had only made one album and it were 'Blow by Blow', then it would stand as sufficient pointer to the fact that he is not only a master guitarist but also an artist with a distinctive mature musical vision, way above the normal unfeeling technical bombast of much that passes for jazz-fusion.

Jeff works his way through a bunch of classy instrumental pieces that move seamlessly through a wide variety of styles with ever really stopping for breadth. From the transcendent 'Cause We've Ended As Lovers', to the clavinet based funk of 'Constipated Duck' and the grooving rock of 'Freeway Jam', there is a consistency of approach that makes 'Blow by Blow' the sort of album that can be listened to from end to end, without any feelings of ennui creeping in, a rare phenomenon in fusion circles.

So, 'Blow by Blow' is without doubt a classic. Beck plays with real assurance. His command of tone and technique is second to none and he seems to have an endless supply of ideas to keep things interesting. The band and production (by George Martin of Beatles fame) are also first rate. The net result is a disc with real musical staying power, variety and depth of expression. Better still, you don't even have to a guitarist to appreciate all the beauty and power in these here grooves! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty and Masterful, 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blow By Blow (Audio CD)
Having been to a JB gig fairly recently, I remembered an album which somehow had slipped under the radar, so I decided to backtrack to 1975 vintage and see how things stood up. In short, this album is stunning with great production from George Martin. The funk element is typical of its time but there is so much energy and verve contained in 45 minutes. JB demonstates all the licks and tricks that he is renowned for but from an earlier time and well worth having in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Dust, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blow By Blow (Audio CD)
Great album, though some tracks are beginning to sound dated. Worth buying for Diamond Dust alone. Jeff is an extremely competent musician, and this has to be one of his best albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 22 Jun 2011
By 
iamhe (dublin,ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blow By Blow (Audio CD)
This cd is replacing a cassette tape which became grotty but it's renewed my interest in Jeff Beck,
he's a fantastic musician and sounds as good as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sick, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blow By Blow (Audio CD)
amazing tone, great to chill out to as background or to turn it up and be in ya face, I think one of jeffs best albums, it s a much nicer tone than his strat based stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still Good....., 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blow By Blow (Audio CD)
....'trippy', as described by my 19YO son. I never thought of it like that. Bought to replace an aging and worn out cassette tape bought on release. It kind of propelled me into my appreciation of jazz and jazz rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blow by blow, 22 May 2011
This review is from: Blow By Blow (Audio CD)
Unusual and fine instrumentals. My first introduction to Jeff Beck; His "ROCK AND ROLL PARTY" is completely different {which I have purchased from you] Looks like I will be building a collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blow By Blow
Blow By Blow by Jeff Beck (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews