Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars21
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2002
As it says, this is a remastered release of the 1981 " Point of Entry" Album. Although it sounds cleaner than my vinyl copy, I cannot hear much difference to My sons CD version (not remastered).
This album has been much maligned and described as Priests weakest offering to date, an unfortunate consequence of following the EXCELLENT " British Steel" album. However there are some good tracks on this album and I do not believe it to be as bad as the critics say. It has a very commercial feel and you can imagine most tracks being released as singles, although they were not.
Opening track " Heading Out To The Highway" is a great track, uptempo and with a great dual guitar part during the song. "Don't Go" slows things down a bit before more high paced antics in the form of " Hot Rockin'" ( anyone seen the hilarious video to this track). " Turning Circles" starts with a slight reggae feel before recovering itself. " Desert Plains" is a STORMING track and is the best of this album, live it came across even better, as you will hear as you get it as a bonus track ( Oh Goody! ). Next you get the phasing guitar intro to another great track, a slow little number called "Solar Angels".
After this comes the problem with this album, 4 songs that are just album fillers. I can think of not much to say about " You Say Yes, "All The Way", "Troubleshooter" and "On The Run". Maybe the group were rushed into releasing this album and did not have the time to come up with anything better. Unfortunatly all 4 songs sound a bit weak and thats being polite.
What makes up for this though is the bonus tracks. There is a song that never saw release called "Thunder Road", Why this was not releaed is a mystery as it is a really good track, uptempo stuff, great vocals from Rob and a middle Bass part, unusual for Priest. I would hazard a guess that it was written around the time of "Turbo"-"Ram It Down". Last track, as mentioned is a great live version of "Desert Plains".
Another thing to recomend this CD is the sleeve layout, nice pictures and all the lyrics, plus some band notes to do with making the album.
Overall worth getting for your Priest collection because of the bonus tracks or you are collecting for the box set.
Remember if this album were not recorded we may never of had the truly brilliant " Screaming For Vengeance" album. You can always skip the naff tracks.
44 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2000
This is one of priest's lesser known albums, but it is still a good album. It sounds very different to the preceding 'British Steel' and the album was obviously an attempt by Priest to win more fans in the States, because the album is very American sounding. It does nevertheless have some great tracks on it, and it is by no means a bad album. 'Heading out to the Highway', 'Hot Rockin' and 'Desert Plains' are its stand out moments. Recommended for any Priest fan.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2009
Please ignore all the reviews that describe this as Priest's weakest, they are written by insane people. I absolutely love this album.

Compared to all previous Priest albums this came as a bit of a surprise. It is certainly more commercial than British Steel and has a lighter feel to it than anything that had gone before. However, that does not make it a bad album. I found it extremely refreshing at the time of release.

Point Of Entry rocks, albeit not as heavily as earlier Priest, with some truly infectious hooks. Heading Out To The Highway is one of my favourite Priest tracks of all time. Along with Solar Angels and Desert Plains they are stone cold Priest classics. Hot Rockin' may be the most well known track on here but Troubleshooter, All The Way, On The Run, Turning Cirlcles and You Say Yes are hidden gems that need checking out by the uninitiated. Don't Go lets the side down a bit. Not a bad song per se but a bit too left field for Priest and I've never really got on with it.

Point Of Entry is one of those albums that you need to listen to several times before you fully appreciate it and that is what I suggest you do. You won't regret it, I promise.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Judas Priest's Point Of Entry was released just one year after their classic British Steel album, and the band sought to further the radio success of 'Living After Midnight' et al with a more commercial sound, but failed to break big critically or commercially. The album is seen as something of a disappointment for a lot of Priest fans.

Stylistically, the album isn't the fastest or the heaviest Judas Priest album you're likely to hear, the music is actually much closer to classic rock than to the heavy metal sound of the most loved Judas Priest albums.

Regardless of their musical directions, all albums stand or fall on the quality of the music within. For the most part; Point Of Entry is hit and miss, a mixture of good songs and songs that are unobjectionable but just kind of forgettable, had the ratio been better then the world would have been kinder to Point Of Entry, but unfortunately the album doesn't have enough classic material to really make it a must have.

The album isn't devoid of good moments, tracks like `Hot Rockin,' `Heading Out To The Highway,' and `Desert Plains,' are all enjoyable. `All The Way,' is perfectly good too if you don't mind the obvious inspiration from about five famous Kiss songs.

If you like Judas Priest, you may want to check Point Of Entry out; after all you still have the guitar and vocal talent as with any Priest album, in addition to a few genuinely good songs here and there. If you are new to the band I'd advise not trying this album until you are already familiar with all the classics first.

Overall, Point Of Entry is neither good nor terrible. It certainly doesn't deserve its awful reputation, but I wouldn't go as far as to say it was criminally underrated either. In summary; a decent, if somewhat forgettable album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2008
Sandwiched between the pure 80's Heavy Metal of British Steel and the full frontal attack of Vengeance lies the somewhat Americanised and commercial Point of Entry album. It therefore sits pretty much as Turbo does between Defenders and the truly lamentable Ram it Down record and suffers by comparison in the same way (ie it is simply not aggressive and heavy enough). However, like Turbo it has an airy, summery, feel good factor to the music (especially if cranked up loud) which is admirably demonstrated on the excellent single `Hot Rockin' and the opener and long standing crowd pleaser `Heading Out to the Highway'. The majestic `Desert Plains' adds a depth of colour to the general laid back proceedings (again a live favourite), supporting a big chunky riff and thoughtful vocal melody, and the throw away `On the Run' closes out the album in a non grandiose way, which sort of sums up the whole album - undemanding on the listener, but thoroughly enjoyable and listenable. It's not without faults though - `You Say Yes' is a rare filler track, a practice that Priest have avoided since `Heroes End' on Stained Class (is that a Beatles melody in there? - you say goodbye, I say hello?). But apart from that small forgiveable wrinkle it really is a good and enduring record with warm but hard hitting production that stands up well to modern scrutiny.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2007
OK so the priest Fan's refer to this as the lower scale of the Albums and I can see why if you like the earlier stuff which is more raw with searing vocals than Point of Entry. I think this is agood rock Album and has some great tracks which I still think hold their own and should not be overlooked as it is a good offering from a band that realised they needed to move on. Priest certainly came back stronger and heavier with the superb Screaming for vengeance after this which I think is a compromise of what this album did and their earlier stuff.

Good Stuff-Give it a spin
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Judas Priest. Now there's a band for you and no matter where you're coming from they will always be the first name in heavy metal because they practically invented it. Now on to this album, their 7th studio release of 1981 that followed the immortal British Steel and preceded their best selling multi platinum Screaming For Vengeance opus. Ok, now here's the trick. How do you better an album that spawned so many hits and practically defined heavy metal music? The answer is you don't. You simply go away and spend some of that hard earned money having some big fun experimenting, hell even laugh at yourself and this is what Priest did on Point Of Entry. They took a long hard look at themselves and were rightfully proud of their monumental achievements being the envy of many of their peers. They had nothing more to prove to anyone.

Heading Out To The Highway is classic gold plated Priest and it comes in with a heavy hummable riff, the remastered sound loud and clear. Its heavy, its catchy and Halford is in his stride, confident and letting his voice take the helm. Downing and Tipton are bang on the money too with some great harmonies. Holland and Hill take care of the rhythm section almost effortlessly and its professional, precise. Don't Go is a real grower, almost deceptively taking hold of you and just when you want more, its over in just over two minutes. Hot Rocking will have many a middle aged rocker reaching for the air guitar. Go on draw the curtains and bang your head to your heart's content to that irresistibly infectious riff. There's nothing fancy here, just simple hard rock metal the way it should be. Who cares if the wife and kids saw you, they would probably join in.

Turning circles comes in with a reggae like strum before exploding into one of my favourite Priest songs. Its a dark moody piece with lots of thematics and Rob really comes into his own offering some wonderfully melodic vocal parts. And so on to the first side closer, Desert Plains. This song alone could define the band as it evokes travel to far away places, a magic carpet ride through time and memory. Yeah the memories baby, they come flooding back as the riffs build and build relentlessly with some scorching trade offs from Downing and Tipton those infamous twins of HM guitarmony. The live version bonus is a real thrash metal treat with some nice improvisation. Phase guitars herald the arrival of Solar Angels, an almost forgotten JP gem. Its a song that really lifts your spirits and Halford's amazing voice really pushes the boundaries of heavy metal here with his passionate vision. Golden halos radiating fire, indeed!

You Say Yes is another simple and catchy little boogie type number. I personally love it because it shows a very different side to the band and grooves along on its own with little fuss. All The Way follows suite and is a straight forward rocker that precedes Troubleshooter another bubble gum sex laden stomper. Its simple and its effective and like most of the second side, all growers. On The Run sees Priest doing a 12bar boogy thing which again i love because its different and Halford really lets his octaves out here proving just why he is one of the greatest sngers ever. In fact he could sing any style such is his gift. Its nice also to here Ian Hill's bass pounding away with Dave's solid as a rock drumming throughout this record. Bonus track Thunder Road is a great uptempo tune recorded in 1987 after the Turbo sessions and somehow got lost in between Ram It Down. Personally it feels out of place here as the studio sound is completely different. Desert Plains however is a welcome bonus recorded live and is a storming version. Both tracks do not add anything however to this album which i feel is one of my faves of all time. Its a timeless classic and time indeed will heal many of the misgivings people had about it. The sleeve notes suggest the band are proud of this collection regardless.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2010
This album seems to divide the priest fans and to be fair the tilt is probably more to this album being a load of dross.
I like this album, oh its far from perfect but there is a good vibe to it and while it is more rock than metal i still think there are enough good tracks to merit praise.
This album doesnt really flow well with what came before or after but if you isolate it then you may well enjoy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
There is always a key decision for any band or artist who release a big selling or critically acclaimed record; do they try recreating the same album again, or (the more risky option) explore another musical direction all together.
Unfortunately JP chose the former (which was a strange decision as they are quite experimental for a hard rock/heavy metal band) recording a pretty pale imitation of "British Steel".
Now you do get excellent "Desert Plains" & "Heading out to the Highway", the latter still a fan favourite in the bands live set, but 2 songs a good album does not make, with JP treading water throughout the rest of the record.
So if you have just discover Judas Priest, I would advise "Point of Entry" to be one of the last of their albums you purchase (along with "Turbo" & "Killing Machine").
Oh & the original sleeve has got to win the award for worst album cover of all time, I mean really of all the options the band were presented with, this was the best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
I loved this album as a teenage heavy metal fan, there were few other faves but this certainly rated highly among them.
My wife bought me the cd as a present and I'm pleased to report that hrmphgh years on, it's just as good as I remembered it.

Priest were always changing the styles from album to album and I could never work out why this wasn't more popular, and still can't today,I guess it's the least aggressive of their work and maybe that's why.

Heading out to the highway really sets the tone of the album, so don't expect it to suddenly change musical style.

As ever great guitar work and some high pitched screaming vocals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.