Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attempt at American glory
This is one of priest's lesser known albums, but it is still a good album. It sounds very different to the preceding 'British Steel' and the album was obviously an attempt by Priest to win more fans in the States, because the album is very American sounding. It does nevertheless have some great tracks on it, and it is by no means a bad album. 'Heading out to the...
Published on 23 Nov 2000

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Judas Priest-Point Of Entry (Remastered)
As it says, this is a remastered release of the 1981 " Point of Entry" Album. Although it sounds cleaner than my vinyl copy, I cannot hear much difference to My sons CD version (not remastered).
This album has been much maligned and described as Priests weakest offering to date, an unfortunate consequence of following the EXCELLENT " British Steel" album. However...
Published on 8 Aug 2002 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Judas Priest-Point Of Entry (Remastered), 8 Aug 2002
This review is from: Point Of Entry (Audio CD)
As it says, this is a remastered release of the 1981 " Point of Entry" Album. Although it sounds cleaner than my vinyl copy, I cannot hear much difference to My sons CD version (not remastered).
This album has been much maligned and described as Priests weakest offering to date, an unfortunate consequence of following the EXCELLENT " British Steel" album. However there are some good tracks on this album and I do not believe it to be as bad as the critics say. It has a very commercial feel and you can imagine most tracks being released as singles, although they were not.
Opening track " Heading Out To The Highway" is a great track, uptempo and with a great dual guitar part during the song. "Don't Go" slows things down a bit before more high paced antics in the form of " Hot Rockin'" ( anyone seen the hilarious video to this track). " Turning Circles" starts with a slight reggae feel before recovering itself. " Desert Plains" is a STORMING track and is the best of this album, live it came across even better, as you will hear as you get it as a bonus track ( Oh Goody! ). Next you get the phasing guitar intro to another great track, a slow little number called "Solar Angels".
After this comes the problem with this album, 4 songs that are just album fillers. I can think of not much to say about " You Say Yes, "All The Way", "Troubleshooter" and "On The Run". Maybe the group were rushed into releasing this album and did not have the time to come up with anything better. Unfortunatly all 4 songs sound a bit weak and thats being polite.
What makes up for this though is the bonus tracks. There is a song that never saw release called "Thunder Road", Why this was not releaed is a mystery as it is a really good track, uptempo stuff, great vocals from Rob and a middle Bass part, unusual for Priest. I would hazard a guess that it was written around the time of "Turbo"-"Ram It Down". Last track, as mentioned is a great live version of "Desert Plains".
Another thing to recomend this CD is the sleeve layout, nice pictures and all the lyrics, plus some band notes to do with making the album.
Overall worth getting for your Priest collection because of the bonus tracks or you are collecting for the box set.
Remember if this album were not recorded we may never of had the truly brilliant " Screaming For Vengeance" album. You can always skip the naff tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attempt at American glory, 23 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Point of Entry (Audio CD)
This is one of priest's lesser known albums, but it is still a good album. It sounds very different to the preceding 'British Steel' and the album was obviously an attempt by Priest to win more fans in the States, because the album is very American sounding. It does nevertheless have some great tracks on it, and it is by no means a bad album. 'Heading out to the Highway', 'Hot Rockin' and 'Desert Plains' are its stand out moments. Recommended for any Priest fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love this album., 21 Jun 2009
This review is from: Point Of Entry (Audio CD)
Please ignore all the reviews that describe this as Priest's weakest, they are written by insane people. I absolutely love this album.

Compared to all previous Priest albums this came as a bit of a surprise. It is certainly more commercial than British Steel and has a lighter feel to it than anything that had gone before. However, that does not make it a bad album. I found it extremely refreshing at the time of release.

Point Of Entry rocks, albeit not as heavily as earlier Priest, with some truly infectious hooks. Heading Out To The Highway is one of my favourite Priest tracks of all time. Along with Solar Angels and Desert Plains they are stone cold Priest classics. Hot Rockin' may be the most well known track on here but Troubleshooter, All The Way, On The Run, Turning Cirlcles and You Say Yes are hidden gems that need checking out by the uninitiated. Don't Go lets the side down a bit. Not a bad song per se but a bit too left field for Priest and I've never really got on with it.

Point Of Entry is one of those albums that you need to listen to several times before you fully appreciate it and that is what I suggest you do. You won't regret it, I promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Rockin', 3 Jun 2008
This review is from: Point Of Entry (Audio CD)
Sandwiched between the pure 80's Heavy Metal of British Steel and the full frontal attack of Vengeance lies the somewhat Americanised and commercial Point of Entry album. It therefore sits pretty much as Turbo does between Defenders and the truly lamentable Ram it Down record and suffers by comparison in the same way (ie it is simply not aggressive and heavy enough). However, like Turbo it has an airy, summery, feel good factor to the music (especially if cranked up loud) which is admirably demonstrated on the excellent single `Hot Rockin' and the opener and long standing crowd pleaser `Heading Out to the Highway'. The majestic `Desert Plains' adds a depth of colour to the general laid back proceedings (again a live favourite), supporting a big chunky riff and thoughtful vocal melody, and the throw away `On the Run' closes out the album in a non grandiose way, which sort of sums up the whole album - undemanding on the listener, but thoroughly enjoyable and listenable. It's not without faults though - `You Say Yes' is a rare filler track, a practice that Priest have avoided since `Heroes End' on Stained Class (is that a Beatles melody in there? - you say goodbye, I say hello?). But apart from that small forgiveable wrinkle it really is a good and enduring record with warm but hard hitting production that stands up well to modern scrutiny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated Priest Album, 5 Jun 2007
This review is from: Point Of Entry (Audio CD)
OK so the priest Fan's refer to this as the lower scale of the Albums and I can see why if you like the earlier stuff which is more raw with searing vocals than Point of Entry. I think this is agood rock Album and has some great tracks which I still think hold their own and should not be overlooked as it is a good offering from a band that realised they needed to move on. Priest certainly came back stronger and heavier with the superb Screaming for vengeance after this which I think is a compromise of what this album did and their earlier stuff.

Good Stuff-Give it a spin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Judas Priest - Point Of Entry, 3 Aug 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Point Of Entry (Audio CD)
Judas Priest's Point Of Entry was released just one year after their classic British Steel album, and the band sought to further the radio success of 'Living After Midnight' et al with a more commercial sound, but failed to break big critically or commercially. The album is seen as something of a disappointment for a lot of Priest fans.

Stylistically, the album isn't the fastest or the heaviest Judas Priest album you're likely to hear, the music is actually much closer to classic rock than to the heavy metal sound of the most loved Judas Priest albums.

Regardless of their musical directions, all albums stand or fall on the quality of the music within. For the most part; Point Of Entry is hit and miss, a mixture of good songs and songs that are unobjectionable but just kind of forgettable, had the ratio been better then the world would have been kinder to Point Of Entry, but unfortunately the album doesn't have enough classic material to really make it a must have.

The album isn't devoid of good moments, tracks like `Hot Rockin,' `Heading Out To The Highway,' and `Desert Plains,' are all enjoyable. `All The Way,' is perfectly good too if you don't mind the obvious inspiration from about five famous Kiss songs.

If you like Judas Priest, you may want to check Point Of Entry out; after all you still have the guitar and vocal talent as with any Priest album, in addition to a few genuinely good songs here and there. If you are new to the band I'd advise not trying this album until you are already familiar with all the classics first.

Overall, Point Of Entry is neither good nor terrible. It certainly doesn't deserve its awful reputation, but I wouldn't go as far as to say it was criminally underrated either. In summary; a decent, if somewhat forgettable album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the album that people cherish or hate or somewhere in between, 4 Jun 2010
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Point Of Entry (Audio CD)
This album seems to divide the priest fans and to be fair the tilt is probably more to this album being a load of dross.
I like this album, oh its far from perfect but there is a good vibe to it and while it is more rock than metal i still think there are enough good tracks to merit praise.
This album doesnt really flow well with what came before or after but if you isolate it then you may well enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My teenage memory was correct, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. R. Toft "SQLDoc" (SQLDoc) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Point Of Entry (Audio CD)
I loved this album as a teenage heavy metal fan, there were few other faves but this certainly rated highly among them.
My wife bought me the cd as a present and I'm pleased to report that hrmphgh years on, it's just as good as I remembered it.

Priest were always changing the styles from album to album and I could never work out why this wasn't more popular, and still can't today,I guess it's the least aggressive of their work and maybe that's why.

Heading out to the highway really sets the tone of the album, so don't expect it to suddenly change musical style.

As ever great guitar work and some high pitched screaming vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars British Plastic, 23 Jun 2013
This review is from: Point Of Entry (Audio CD)
There is always a key decision for any band or artist who release a big selling or critically acclaimed record; do they try recreating the same album again, or (the more risky option) explore another musical direction all together.
Unfortunately JP chose the former (which was a strange decision as they are quite experimental for a hard rock/heavy metal band) recording a pretty pale imitation of "British Steel".
Now you do get excellent "Desert Plains" & "Heading out to the Highway", the latter still a fan favourite in the bands live set, but 2 songs a good album does not make, with JP treading water throughout the rest of the record.
So if you have just discover Judas Priest, I would advise "Point of Entry" to be one of the last of their albums you purchase (along with "Turbo" & "Killing Machine").
Oh & the original sleeve has got to win the award for worst album cover of all time, I mean really of all the options the band were presented with, this was the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than what what it is supposed to be, 22 Feb 2013
This review is from: Point Of Entry (Audio CD)
The reviews I have read in the music press always make this album out to be a limp squib where JP lost it. So having finally heard it I was pleasantly surprised: this is a good record with good songs. I prefer to the earlier Priest albums which are seen as metal classics. While said albums may well be where the NWOBHM got all its ideas they are not that great to listen too. With PoE JP come up with a decent collection of songs while thise earlier albums were works in progress with riff-based soundscapes with vocals on top. On Sin after sin for example it is clear that diamonds and rust is a cover as it stands out among the other compositions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Point Of Entry
Point Of Entry by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews