Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wooden Abacus
Had this for a couple of years now. Kids have thrown it around and it's been under other toys at the bottom of the toy box etc. Still in one piece though. Quality build and hardwearing.
I have used this to help kids with the concept of adding and subtraction. Can't say that this is their favourite toy. They'd rather play with their NDS than with this. But has an...
Published on 4 Oct 2008 by muffin

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars O.K.
product was o.k. nothing special. I cannot comment any further.
PLEASE DO NOT ASK ME TO COMMENT ON THIS AGAIN!!
Published 20 months ago by dagmar


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wooden Abacus, 4 Oct 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Wooden Abacus (Toy)
Had this for a couple of years now. Kids have thrown it around and it's been under other toys at the bottom of the toy box etc. Still in one piece though. Quality build and hardwearing.
I have used this to help kids with the concept of adding and subtraction. Can't say that this is their favourite toy. They'd rather play with their NDS than with this. But has an educational value and they get a concept of addition and subtraction for their maths through this. Would recommend it for 4+yrs in my opinion, but others may have different experiences.

Update May 2014
Have had several kids use it (bigger than average family!!) and my 3 year old is using it now. Still as good as new. Very hardwearing and solid toy. The colours of the beads and the appearence of the wood still good. It has been a very good purchase.
These days things you buy don't last long. But nice to have something all my kids have used and still almost as good as when the first child received it. If I get around to it I will upload a picture.
I hope these ones they ship now are as good as the one that I received many years ago (saw this on Amazon for 6 recently, which is cheaper than I paid years ago and represent good value).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABACUS, 29 April 2010
By 
Pat45 (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Wooden Abacus (Toy)
My little grand-daughter was having difficulty in grasping the concept of 'tables' and I could think of no better way of helping her than by using the old-fashioned method of the Abacus. She is really keen and enthusiastic and thoroughly enjoys using this colourful method of counting, adding, subtracting etc. Problem solved! Must say though.. not a toy as such but a fun way of learning the basics of mathematics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multi Functional., 9 Feb 2010
By 
bluyonda - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Wooden Abacus (Toy)
Extremely well made quality Abacus. Solid wood frame very securely put together. Thick shiny metal rods and sturdy wooden beads.

Height approx ~ 12" (30cm).
Width at the widest base point approx ~ 12" (30cm).
10 rows of 10 beads ~ Navy Blue, Dark Red, Natural Wood, Dark Green and Yellow.

As a baby, my little one loved to bash the beads as they are beautifully tactile. They offer no resistance gliding effortlessly across the sturdy metal rods, creating a lovely noise as they crash into each other. Hands and feet would be moved up and down enjoying the smooth rolling sensation of the beads, moving them side to side to make the noise.

As a toddler, holding the frame and tilting it side to side to create LOUD crashes. We count the beads, moving each in turn. I find this helps to slow down and touch count, improving hand eye co ordination. This helps with colour learning and reinforcement as the beads are lovely and bright. When older we will use this as a numeracy aide but for now this more a sensory toy and percussion instrument.

We find this to be a multi use abacus, relavant from baby upwards. This will be in our family for many years to come, God willing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sturdy abacus, 7 Mar 2010
By 
S. C. JONES "Jonesy" (Leicestershire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Wooden Abacus (Toy)
Before buying this abacus, I was reading reviews of various abaci on Amazon. Other reviewers wrote of products which fell apart almost immediately. There's no chance of this abacus falling apart almost immediately or, I would imagine, in the long term. It's an extremely well constructed educational toy, clearly made from good quality materials, and if by chance anything does break then it has a lifetime guarantee. I can recommend this abacus without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wooden abacus, 9 Mar 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Wooden Abacus (Toy)
This abacus is great, it has really helped my son get to grips with number bonds, times tables. He can visualise the sums now which has led to greater understanding. I would recommend this product. Good value for money I think too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great durable abacus, 5 Oct 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Wooden Abacus (Toy)
perfect - my daughter ~ 20 months old - hasn't managed to break it yet which shows how strong this is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for young learners, 25 Feb 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Wooden Abacus (Toy)
love this abacus, my daughter is just starting to learn maths and this a a great tool for her. she loves using it to count, and its a great way to help her to add, subtract and multiply.
ideal for all young learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas success, 19 Feb 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Wooden Abacus (Toy)
I gave this to my 2 yr old grandson for Xmas. He was spoiled rotten and received lost of toys but the one he picked and played with for the rest of the day was this one. He has fun starting to count, to learn colours, enjoys moving the beads back and forth: There are endless educational permutations. It is a sturdy toy which he will enjoy for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant item, 18 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Wooden Abacus (Toy)
This item is of solid construction, smooth edges and bright colours making it a perfect toy for my 4 year old. The price is also very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wooden Abacus, 25 May 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Wooden Abacus (Toy)
I bought this for my 6 year old daughter who was struggling with the concept of Maths. It has been a great tool. The quality of the product is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melissa & Doug Wooden Abacus
9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews