Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, timeless and relaxing
This beautiful debut album is hard to define. Raman was brought up on classical Indian music, but with a band comprised of Indian, European and African musicians, she leads us into some more modern twists on the traditional sounds.
Her songs sound new and fresh, yet mellow and bluesy, with relaxed tunes like "Nagumomo" interspersed with more plaintive vocals. She has...
Published on 28 April 2003 by F. W. Bristow

versus
12 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars turkey, and not the country
Much is made in the album notes of this woman's training in various forms of classical Indian music. Virtually none of that comes through here, what we hear is bad urban-folk mumble and with some reggae influence. If you are familar with Indian music you will know the song "Bolo bolo" included in this album. Ms. Raman's version is exacrable, almost...
Published on 31 Aug 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, timeless and relaxing, 28 April 2003
By 
This review is from: Salt Rain (Audio CD)
This beautiful debut album is hard to define. Raman was brought up on classical Indian music, but with a band comprised of Indian, European and African musicians, she leads us into some more modern twists on the traditional sounds.
Her songs sound new and fresh, yet mellow and bluesy, with relaxed tunes like "Nagumomo" interspersed with more plaintive vocals. She has taken many traditional ethnic songs and cut them back or pepped them up to make them her own, as well writing the haunting songs "Woman" and "Salt Rain" about her own family experiences. Every song tells a tale and stands along as a gorgeous sound, while the lyrics slip between English, Hindi and Tamil.
The high point of the album for me is the final track, "Song to the Siren". (She also covers "Trust in me" from the Jungle Book, making it twisted and alluring.) This Tim Buckley classic has been covered a number of times but none so movingly as by Raman - she has brought purpose to cover versions. A beautiful close to a stunning album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 13 Oct 2001
This review is from: Salt Rain (Audio CD)
This is music to soothe the soul and make your spirit sing. 'Devastatingly beautiful' one of the other reviews said. That's about right. Susheela has a voice of breathtaking clarity and masterful range and control that she uses to wonderful effect on this CD. There's a huge range of musical styles here but not a dud track on it - every single track stands in its own right as a work of beauty. The other instrumentalists are unreservedly excellent - especially the bass - and they all play in such an understated way as to let the wonderful melodies speak rather than clutter them with too much embellishment. This is music as good as it gets. Truly sublime and magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Susheela - brilliant, 19 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Salt Rain (Audio CD)
This is a great album. I saw Susheela live in Glasgow and she was brilliant. Some people criticise her for covering the song Bolo Bolo, claiming that "Ms. Raman's version is exacrable, almost unrecognizable unless one knows the words." Yes, it is very different, but thats what makes it good. She is different, and a breath of fresh air.
I would recommend this album to people who like to 'chill' - you know what i mean. Listen to this and enjoy its effect on your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical - a favourite for years to come, 2 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Salt Rain (Audio CD)
No words will do this album justice - it's in a league of it's own so you should just BUY it. Susheela's beautiful voice, surrounded by classical Indian styles, is mesmerising. My pick list - the tracks Bola Bola, Mumvatu, Song to the Siren, Salt Rain. For some reason the emotional depth of this album reminds me of another favourite songstess Natacha Atlas, although the style is quite different. Susheela blends fusion and traditional music effectively and sensitively. A must for Nitin Sawhney fans. This is a CD to light candles and close your eyes too - treat yourself!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GENIUS, 8 Sep 2007
By 
Mrs. C. A. Bird "enthusuast" (Penshurst Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salt Rain (Audio CD)
This was my first introduction to Sushila Raman. I later had the privilege of seeing and hearing her live. She is a genius. These songs I and my daughters have played over and over and over. They are to be relished and cherished, as is she. They convey something of the rapt involvement that Shushila convey on stage and yet maintain a wry commentary and detachment. To love and never let go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go with your heart not with your head., 15 Mar 2014
This review is from: Salt Rain (Audio CD)
I am not here to judge the "bad urban-folk mumble and with some reggae influence" as the other reviewer. I am here to say the sound of this album is beautiful. Not just one track is good but all the tracks flow into each other. I feel that it gives a sense of of the feminine. Wonderful background music when gathering with friends. I saw Shusheen in concenrt when Salt Rain came out around 2005 and was spell bound. Here I am 9 years later and enjoying it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hypnotic sound, 7 July 2011
By 
J. D. Stewart "davexmachina" (Aberdeen , Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt Rain (Audio CD)
I had heard of Susheela Raman, but hadn't bought her music before this album. Had it on in the car regularly, and everyone who heard it immediately said 'who's that?'. Amazing voice and silky sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album that takes you a land of fairy tales, 27 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Salt Rain (Audio CD)
Susheela Raman manages to fuse a indian music with the mellowness of Mazzy Star, combined with her soft velvety voice, sometimes rising to authority, is most superb.
Some tracks, like the third called Mamavatu, conjures up a folky atmosphere that makes you want to dance around a fire with friends! It's true! I know it's irrelevant to rain dancing or witch chanting, but you will want to sway or dance in one form or another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer magic!, 7 Oct 2007
By 
John Landell Mills "Country fan" (The Westcountry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salt Rain (Audio CD)
This is just such a brilliant, wonderful record - both Susheela's incredibly beautful voice and the superb support from her guitarist and partner Sam Mills. I hope their immense popularity in France will be matched by equal enthusiasm on this side of the Channel.See The Guardian's rave revioew of their last record 33 1/3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars turkey, and not the country, 31 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Salt Rain (Audio CD)
Much is made in the album notes of this woman's training in various forms of classical Indian music. Virtually none of that comes through here, what we hear is bad urban-folk mumble and with some reggae influence. If you are familar with Indian music you will know the song "Bolo bolo" included in this album. Ms. Raman's version is exacrable, almost unrecognizable unless one knows the words. This went one went right into the dustbin. Many other Indian artists are doing fusion music far, far better than this attempt. Look for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Salt Rain
Salt Rain by Susheela Raman (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews