Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original recordings of twenty classic hits
Ricky had more than twenty hits in America but all the important ones are in this collection. Ricky's hottest period was from May 1957 to June 1959, during which time he scored many American top ten hits including several double-sided singles that yielded two top ten hits. Ricky was much less successful in the UK although it's not clear why as he didn't suffer from...
Published on 25 April 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Me
I bought this CD of Rick (or 'Ricky', as he then was) Nelson because 'Poor Little Fool' - included in this compilation - was one of my earliest experiences of Pop music. Thirteen or fourteen at the time, I found Ricky's mix of pure honey and self-pity (complete with lonesome echo-chambers) irresistible to my adolescent sense of emotional drama. Now, he seems rather...
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by Pen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original recordings of twenty classic hits, 25 April 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Ricky had more than twenty hits in America but all the important ones are in this collection. Ricky's hottest period was from May 1957 to June 1959, during which time he scored many American top ten hits including several double-sided singles that yielded two top ten hits. Ricky was much less successful in the UK although it's not clear why as he didn't suffer from competition by British cover versions as (for example) the Drifters did. During this period, Ricky made the UK top ten with Poor little fool (an American number one hit), Someday and It's late, although Someday is omitted from this compilation. Ricky's American top ten hits from this period included I'm walking, Be-bop baby, Stood up and Believe what you say, all of which made the top five, as well as Never be anyone else but you, which may well be the most-covered of all Ricky's songs. Saying that, covers of Ricky's songs are far less common than covers of some of his contemporaries' songs, such as Buddy Holly or the Everly Brothers.

Following the double-sided American top ten hit, Just a little too much / Sweeter than you, Ricky's career went into a bit of a decline. All that changed in 1961 when he had another double-sided hit - the biggest of his career. On one side was Travelin' man, which gave him his second and last American number one hit, selling over six million copies. On the other side was Hello Mary Lou, written by Gene Pitney who (at the time) was known only as a songwriter. It was also an American top ten hit, but it made number two in the UK, where it became his biggest ever hit.
The revival in Ricky's career was short-lived. He scored two further American top five hits (Young world, Teenage idol) before changing record labels, when he also changed his name from Ricky to Rick. After a promising start in which he nearly made the American top ten with a cover of Fools rush in (Glenn Miller) and did even better with For you, the hits dried up.

With his hit-making days over, Rick tried various things including country music. He eventually formed the Stone Canyon Band. Two of their American hits are included here, the most notable of which is Garden party, in which Rick sings about how his audiences are only interested in his old songs while he wants to sing contemporary material.

While this collection omits the UK top ten hit Someday and also omits some notable American hits that didn't make the top ten there, the twenty tracks here represent Ricky's career fairly and include all the essential. It's particularly satisfying to see that this compilation encompasses the whole range of his hits from the fifties to the seventies - and they are all original recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I went to a garden party to reminisce with my old friends, 13 Sep 2011
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
For a single album twenty track best-of this gives as good an overall view of Rick(y) Nelson as we're likely to get. It starts from his first single, a cover of Fats Domino's "I'm Walkin'", recorded after his father, a big name in television, had used some clout with the record label. Subsequently he switched to Imperial and the next track here, "Be Bop Baby" was his first track for them. Nelson's initial aims were to put on record something as good as the output from his early idol Carl Perkins. Arguably, "I believe what you say" was just that. It was the first of his singles to feature (stunning) lead guitar work from the new young axeman on the block, James Burton who was to go on to provide such a service to Nelson over many years and to feature on oodles of records of note for a wide range of artists - Dale Hawkins' "Susie Q" is just one great example.

From there on in we get the highlights of Ricky's period of success with Imperial, which period was terminated at least in part, by the "English Invasion". He made some classy stuff during this timeframe including excellent country rockers, "Hello Mary Lou" and "Just a little too much" plus smooth ballads like "Poor Little Fool" and "Never be anyone else but you". He didn't totally neglect rock'n'roll - "It's late" is a good example - but it gradually disappeared from the release schedule. If this is more what you're looking for, there is a good compilation of his more rocky sides out from Ace called "Rockin' with Ricky" which is well worth exploring.

A move to Decca in 1963 gave his career a brief shot in the arm - "For You" and "Fools rush in" temporarily arrested the downhill trend. After that he switched across to country and was rewarded with the success of the self-written "Garden Party" in `72 but that was pretty well it.

All the aforementioned numbers are present here plus several more goodies. I only regret that they didn't find room for a couple more great B sides, the rockabilly "Waitin' in School" and the more country inclined, "Don't leave me this way".

As a postscript and relating purely to Ricky's later work, I would comment that one of the tragedies of Ricky's relatively short career was that he was unable to transfer his undoubted skill with country related material onto any serious success after his teen idol years, while other later names, often also out of the environs of LA, did achieve such success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the '50s to the '70s - Rick(y) Nelson - Greatest Hits, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you are a Ricky Nelson fan from way back or new to his music there are just too many CDs out there to choose from. You would have to buy a couple of CDs or a box set to get an overall picture. This collection however is one of the best, it is on the Capitol record label so I assume it was mastered from the original tapes. It covers a lot of his hits from his first US chart entry "I'm Walkin" (a cover of the Fats Domino song) to his 1972 Billboard Top 10 hit "Garden Party". The songs are in chronological order and there are 11 from the '50s, 8 from the '60s and 1 from the '70s. His records were enhanced by the guitar playing of James Burton and the voices of Elvis Presley's backing group The Jordanaires. The sound quality is great and in Mono and Stereo as you can hear from the samples available on this site. It is a great pity that all CDs do not have either a track listing or sampling on Amazon so that you can see and hear exactly what you are paying for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Nelson, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Hello!
I'm so Happy with my Ricky Nelson CD, takes me back a "few" years.
We were the same age, and I was madly in Love with Ricky, had his picture
on the wall above my bed.
Now I can listen to "Poor little fool" any time I want, and shed a tear or two!!
Love it,
Thanks a million.
Anna
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real blast from the past, 3 May 2011
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
had lost sight of all ricky's music and was watching one of his old films recently (Rio Bravo) brought it all back..this really took me back to my teens;and that's a long long way to travel. Loved every song on this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Nelson., 8 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
What a brilliant selection of Rick Nelsons hits, was a big follower of him in my teans, a real memory jerker a must for a 60's collector
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great early pop, 3 April 2013
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Ricky seems to cross a bridge between the hard core 50's Rock 'n' Roll as produced by the likes of Elvis, Jerry Lee Lewis, Little Richard and a "poppy" form of Rock 'n' Roll that may be associated to the early 60's as the original rebels began to mature. All the classics are there "Hello Mary Lou", "It's Late", etc. Ricky didn't mamage the same level of success in the UK, but is a much better listen than Cliff Richard, so I'm not sure why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs I remember from my youth., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I heard Rick Nelson on the radio singing "There'll never be anyone else but you for me" and it reminded me of my first Scout camp when we sang this song round the camp fire. I would recommend this CD to anyone, young or old, the music and songs are timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful musical memories from a much more agreeable age, 8 Oct 2010
By 
David Lowe (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Arguably one of the most underrated recording artists of the rock 'n' roll and pop era, the late Ricky Nelson has left us a marvellous musical legacy, as confirmed by this superb CD collection. David Lowe (Producer-Presenter BBC West & South West)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Nelson Greatest Hits, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This CD of Rick Nelson brought back a lot of memories. The CD was amazing value at [...]including VAT and delivery for 20 tracks, I just couldn't resist it, what a bargin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Ricky Nelson (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews