Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot like me nans water water in the pot, 25 Aug 2001
By 
A. Coulter "CoLt" (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cold Vein (Audio CD)
Yeah, tight. As the other reviewer says takes it from where co-flow left off. Superb mystical electronic El-p production, typical of the man, make this LP what it is. The MCing is hot though but it is the beats which give the piece it's character, and what a character! If you enjoyed funcrusherplus this is for you, I was disputing whether to buy this for some time as the group cannibal ox to me was something totally new, but my faith in the el producto paid off. Superlative tracks include 'Iron Galaxy' 'Straight of the D.I.C.' 'The F word'and 'Stress raps' although the whole album is so good this is very subjective. This is the sort of record which takes you away from the world, with it's other worldly sounds and qualities, almost a-kin to the blade runner soundtrack. Buy this, it's some of the most mature yet innovative and cutting edge hip hop you'll hear this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-altering, 7 Jun 2002
This review is from: The Cold Vein [VINYL] (Vinyl)
It's very difficult to find words to describe this album. It's an epic science fiction space opera, a unique, unearthly soundscape that makes me ache with pleasure to hear it. If the Gods listened to hip hop in Valhalla or on Mount Olympus, they would be listening to this. It sounds futuristic, yet old as the dawn of the Universe. It is the sound of science. It is the sound of quarks colliding. It sounds disjointed, distorted, warped, but seems simultaneously to fit together perfectly, elements of beats and rhymes meshing together to create unimaginable new musical compounds. It is dirty yet pure. It is beautiful yet ugly. It must be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trust the reviews people, 10 Mar 2007
By 
A. C. Raymond "in the cold vein" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cold Vein (Audio CD)
Too often I've read over-zealous reviews on here and have been disappointed after buying and playing the cd a few times. I agree with the person above: the same thing happened to me a couple of years ago when I originally picked up 'The Cold Vein' - I foolishly left the cd languishing at the bottom of my pile after first listening 'cos I couldn't get my head around the production/beats or even the rhymes. It pains me now to think how long it took me to give Can Ox another spin.

Put simply, this is without a doubt one of the best albums I own, certainly the best hip-hop album. It's worth buying for 'Iron Galaxy' alone - surely the best intro to any hip-hop album ever?

Calling it a genius, monumental, genre-redefining piece of art is no exaggeration; the drony, inspired production by El-P is futuristic and yet, sounds so deep and earth-shattering as if it's been around forever, waiting for you to catch on; the beats are really tastefully chopped up and rearranged; Vaudel and Vast's rhymes and subject matter are based on their real experiences of living in NYC, but are expansive and intelligent and thought-provoking enough for anyone to get into..and their different styles do indeed perfectly compliment each other.

"Put a mic in front of me, and I'm gonna bless it,

hummingbird style, seventy times in one second."

All great art is hard to put into words so I'll shut up now and just say: "BUY THIS NOW!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 28 Oct 2006
By 
J. Stocks "hip-hop-head" (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cold Vein (Audio CD)
Initially I found the unorthodox layered beats on The Cold Vein too much to take in. However, when I sat down one afternoon and listened to the whole album properly I realised that I had never heard a work of such uncompromising brilliance, it struck me like a blow to the face.

Vastaire and Vordul demonstrate what a great duet are able to achieve over a set of beats which are in my opinion completely unmatched in 21st century hip-hop. This is the evolution of a genre from materialistic showmanship to hard-edged metaphorically-expressed reality. Vastaire spits insightful and creative lines in his own unique and impetuous style e.g. "The samples the flesh and the beat's the skeleton/ you got beef but there's worms in your Wellington/ I'll put a hole in your skull and extract the gelatine." Vordul spit's a semi-metaphorical dose of street talk with less hard hitting lines but a nicer flow which fits with Vast perfectly.

Such is the strength of tracks that my favourite tends to be whichever is currently playing, there are no weak ones and that surely is the definition of a classic. Produced by the standout (I should say genius) producer El-P (of Company Flow fame), Cold Vein takes the listener on a relentless journey through a reality expressed in other-worldly fashion. The range of samples used is another outstanding feature of this album.

To say it's my favourite album of all time is an understatement, it's a total no-brainer. No hip-hop album I have ever heard comes anywhere near to being as good as this one. When I listen to this album I imagine myself floating through space. It is from another world, another time and another place. It is also a work of contemporary genius. How this is possible I don't know but it's the truth.

All this might sound a bit far-fetched but it truly is difficult to put into words just how good this album is. If you do one thing after reading this review, buy the album and take the time to listen to it. IT IS AMAZING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannibal Ox pick up where Company Flow left off, 15 July 2001
This review is from: The Cold Vein [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Fans of Company flow may have been left a little disapointed when the group announced their split but Cannibal Ox's debut album picks up where Co Flow left off. The album is entirely produced by El P and it showcases some of his sickest beats yet. The beats are hard hitting with dark melodies and samples laid on very heavily these compliment two lyricists perfectly. Vast Air's lyrics are deep and thought provoking especially on tracks like "the F word" and "Iron Galaxy". All in all this is'nt a hip hop album for the fans of people like Ja Rule and DMX but if your looking for something a little more intelligent, creative and original then this should be to your tastes especially if your a fan of El P production style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply put, my favourite album of all time, 3 April 2003
This review is from: The Cold Vein [VINYL] (Vinyl)
my favourite album of all time's a big thing to say, but every time I listen to 'Cold Vein' my thoughts are confirmed. Vast Aire and Vordul are both lyrical geniuses, but Vast Aire's gotta take the gold for some of the most intelligent, thought-provoking and coldly relevent lyrics I've heard, delivered as smooth as silk. Their take on Harlem life is bleak and harsh, yet enlightening and deep, with an uplifting feeling of hope for the future. And then theres the simply awe-inspiring production of El-P, in my humble opinion the best producer in hip hop today. His production ranges from electronica (vein, atom) to funked up beats (painkillers) to beautiful soundscapes (pigeon, scream phoenix), always keeping it original, interesting and melodic, with Vasts and Vorguls lyrics fitting perfectly with the sound of each track. All the tunes range from very good to classics, but my faves gotta be 'The F-Word', since I, and most people, can relate to its take on certain relationships. A masterpiece- everyone should own this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the best compliment, 25 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Cold Vein (Audio CD)
I bought this album alongside MF Doom's operation doomsday, and i listened to them both quicky through and at first i liked them both, on a par, maybe i liked doom a bit better. Then i listened to this properly, thought; hmm this is pretty damn good. Then again, thought; hey this album is wicked! Then again, said out loud; I LOVE THIS F*%$IN' ALBUM!!!! Now i can't stop listening! It is an inspiration, each track really does take you on a journey not on this plane of reality.
Buy this album, then really LISTEN, its the best advice i can give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold veins, but heart warming., 14 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Cold Vein (Audio CD)
I don't even know where to begin reviewing this album because words are not enough. Suffice to say that if you want proof that not all rap artists are gun obsessed misogynists than this is the album for you.
Ok. Lyrically, this thing is up there with the best. In fact its beyond that - this thing is lyrically 10 levels (at least) above the best rap album you've ever listened to - believe me. If Shakespear or Wordsworth rapped, they'd produce lyrical poetry like this. Examples:
"Birds of the same feather flock together/conjested on a majestic street corner/thats a short time goal for most of em cos most of em would rather flap they wings and hover over greater things" - Pigeon
"Im not made of organics/not even wires/and to the common fowl the phoenix is sire/most highest of all things to ever have wings" - Scream Phoenix
"Im not greedy but to hold your heart I gotta put my hand in.....this is more than just a song/and when he's treating you wrong im more than just a shoulder to cry on" - The F Word
Beautiful.
Production? El-P - the greatest producer in hip-hop today BAR NONE. Forget avarage beats here: strings, electro, funk, piano, Beatles samples ('Strawberry Fields' meets acid beats!) - this album rocks.
Buy this album now. Its flawless. 'The F-Word' is enough to make anyone cry if they've ever been unlucky in love. 'Pigeon' and 'Scream Phoenix' can lift even the most depressed heart out of darkness. 'B-boys Alpha' and 'Ridiculoid' just stomp effortlessly.
Albums like this come along once a lifetime if you're lucky. Capture it now. Its albums like this that defy genres, make you passionate about music again and make me wish that Amazon would allow me to give marks out of a hundred - but it still wouldnt be enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 24 Feb 2002
By 
This review is from: The Cold Vein (Audio CD)
The journey begins with the cover art of the Cold Vein, with two future warriors (and their cannibal ox) armed to the teeth ready to take on the ghetto.
On this atmospheric album MCs Vast Aire and Vordul Megala lay down both sharp battle rhymes and thoughtful insight into life on the street. El-P delivers some of the best production on a hip hop record in recent memory. Teeth-chattering beats, divine choirs and even a sample from the Transformers movie, this is something else.
Recommended to anyone with an open mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sets a new standard, 1 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cold Vein (Audio CD)
When i first bought this album, i didn't know what to make of it. A lot of the tracks seemed difficult or near impenetrable, but as with most Def Jux/El-P recordings, the more you listen the more brilliant it becomes. It kicks off with 'Iron Galaxy', the intro to which is a floating ambient soundscape, shot through with mis matched horn blasts and a breathy speech sample. This basically sets the standard for the whole album: sublime, unexpected and almost experimental. Vast Aire takes the mic for the best part of it, with his distinctive, hard hitting flow brilliantly juxtaposed with Vordul Megilah's spaced out, almost free word accosiating rhymes. Former Co Flow man and Def Jux boss El-P provides a musical background that fits perfectly, switching from visious bass and funky horns on 'Battle For Asgard' to swelling wind-tunnel noise on the foaming 'Vein' to angelic, redemptive choirish funk on the gorgeous hidden track, 'Scream Phoenix'. It's an incredible album. Buy it. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cold Vein
The Cold Vein by Cannibal Ox (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews