Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ALL TIME CLASSIC., 10 Oct 2003
By 
Rudy (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Right Time (Audio CD)
This album really is a classic and has to be rated as one of the greatest albums of all time,from any genre of music. This album was first released in 1976 and is a perfect example of the rockers sound beginning to dominate. To me the 70's are without a doubt the best period for reggae. It was the first decade when reggae was taken seriously on a world stage,artists such as The Wailers,Burning Spear,Mighty Diamonds, Abyssinians, Wailing Souls, Dennis Brown and Gregory Isaacs were getting signed by major labels and started to record full albums rather than releasing collections of singles, which tended to happen alot in the sixties. The Mighty Diamond released this album on the Frontline label which was part of Virgin Records.
The song Right Time starts the album and straight away it's obvious why there was so much interest in this group. The harmonies are immaculate. Jamaica has produced some of the greatest vocal groups of all time and the Mighty Diamonds are unquestionably near the top of that list. The sweet harmonies sound like they would be better suited to love songs rather than full on roots lyrics, but this just creates an interesting counter point to the lyrics. From black on black crime (Why Me Black Brother Why),the awful treatment suffered by Marcus Garvey (Them Never Love Poor Marcus), to repatriation (Africa) the rasta message is delivered in the smoothest way possible and throughout the lyrics remain as tight as the harmonies.
The musical backing is exceptional and you would'nt expect anything less when you know that Sly and Robbie were the rhythm section for some of the album. Many of the backing tracks are updates of various tracks that had been recorded by the Revolutionaries band and provide a perfect soundscape for the vocals. The keyboard duties (which were shared by Ansel Collins and Ossie Hibbert) are also excellent. Choosing standout tracks is difficult, but my personal favourites are Why Me Black Brother Why, Gnashing of Teeth, Them Never Love Poor Marcus, Go Seek Your Rights and Africa. As you can see I've just listed half the album but I think you get the point. If you like reggae or if you're looking for a place to start this album by the Mighty Diamonds would be a wise choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic reggae from Jamaica's foremost vocal trio., 13 Oct 2001
By 
S. G. Oldman (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Right Time (Audio CD)
Concious reggae at its purest, this classic album dates from the mid 70's when Channel One rythms ruled the dance floor. Blending impecable vocals and crisp rockers music these songs cover the full range of social and political issues that dominated reggae at that time. Stand out tracks include the title track and "I need a roof", rerecorded later by the group but never bettered. Any collection should include this disc. Start with "Right Time" and you'll soon be searching out the rest of their catalogue. The Diamonds are still going strong with the recent release of "Rise up" but this CD still stands as one of their best moments.Buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reggae CDs you must own #1, 24 Jan 2004
This review is from: Right Time (Audio CD)
This is all honest and beautiful music. 'I need a roof' is one of the greatest sounds ever created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent songs, great harmonies and singing, 2 Feb 2002
This review is from: Right Time (Audio CD)
This album is considered by many as a key work in reggae music, and as one of the best works of the Mighty Diamonds. Rightfully so, I think. It also is said to have made the 'rockers' reggae style popular, which differs from e.g. the 'one drop' reggae style. Elaborating on this would go too far, and information regarding this maybe can be (or ought to be) found elsewhere on the Web. With respect to this album, I consider a major strong point the soulfulness of the songs, which seem also Soul-influenced, but are definitely reggae: roots reggae, with Garvey-ite lyrics. Lead singing is great, and the (original) harmonies give many songs that extra quality. The songs 'Them never love poor Marcus' and 'I need a roof' I find amazingly beautiful, but all songs on 'Right Time' are solid and well-composed, to my opinion. Many songs stay in your head, and you'll keep on singing once heard (I did).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice time, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right Time (Audio CD)
the album isn't the one i thought i had years ago but its an ok listen all the same.mellow tunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars always the right time, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right Time (Audio CD)
transported back to my youth every time i play this cd just the right amount of tracks and they are all brill best 4 quid ive spent in a long time if you are into the old tunes its a must for any collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mighty Mighty Indeed Shine On You Diamonds, 25 Dec 2010
This review is from: Right Time (Audio CD)
The first five tracks are possibly my favourite side of any record ever (yes, I know I am stuck in the past)and this is almost a perfect album. The Mighty Diamonds sure could sing - the harmonies are absolutely superb here. No doubt that the singing is the jewel in the crown of this album but the music is brilliant too, not just the legendary Sly and Robbie but everyone single musician here featured is at the top of their game. Classic, classic tunes. The Right Time is one of the most important reggae records ever and you know it is going to be a peerless epic from the introduction. Why Me Black Brother Why? has a timeless message as true today as ever, Shame and Pride is a warning for those obsessed with the glitter not gold of today's babylonian society, Gnashing of Teeth is a record so good I wish that you could hear it now. The first five song sequence ends with the religious sincerity of Them Never Love Poor Marcus, a song which seems to take on a life of itself so that it talks of all good people who have been betrayed. I Need A Roof and Go Seek Your Rights follow and are almost as good as the first five, with a strong social message. Have Mercy is a plea for a better world, a better man. Ten peerless tracks but the album is bigger than the individual parts and needs to be played in its entirety before the full power and passion of the music, the sweet and sour perception of the singing, rips its way into your mind, your body and soul. This is rebel music for the spirit and lord knows I need another dose, wash me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... it took to long to arrive but it's a great, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right Time (Audio CD)
I think it took to long to arrive but it's a great copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is The Right Time!, 28 Sep 2007
This review is from: Right Time (Audio CD)
Right Time has to be the Mighty Diamond best album. This trio group without doubt is one of the best groups to come out of Jamaica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Right Time
Right Time by Mighty Diamonds (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews