Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camel for everyone
This compilation would serve as a good introduction for anyone not familiar with the music of Camel, though whether the selection of tracks is a better representation of the early work of this great band than the 1993 release "Echoes" is open to argument. For me "Lunar Sea" noses in front by virtue of the accompanying booklet, which provides a slightly grittier version of...
Published on 17 Oct 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ... what I was expecting - remember listening to this wonderful guitar years ago
This wasn't what I was expecting - remember listening to this wonderful guitar years ago. Perhaps the wrong album ... or even the wrong band!
Published 8 days ago by RK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camel for everyone, 17 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985 (Audio CD)
This compilation would serve as a good introduction for anyone not familiar with the music of Camel, though whether the selection of tracks is a better representation of the early work of this great band than the 1993 release "Echoes" is open to argument. For me "Lunar Sea" noses in front by virtue of the accompanying booklet, which provides a slightly grittier version of Camel history. (The "Echoes" booklet was written by Susan Hoover, an integral part of the Camel set-up and perhaps unsurprisingly some of the more tragic events from the band's past were glossed over in favour of a more affectionate narrative). "Lunar Sea" also scores brownie points for paying homage to the greatest strength of Andy Latimer and co. by including a few live tracks, not least of these being the never before released version of "Lady Fantasy" from the 1975 Royal Albert Hall Snowgoose concert, complete with orchestral accompaniment. This alone will sell it to the die hard fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best "best of" selection from Camel, 6 Feb 2011
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985 (Audio CD)
covering almost their entire career - well Decca era at least - this set includes their most progressive music, as well as a few rather misguided attempts at hit singles. Camel were always an album band, as this clearly shows. Extended instrumentals such as Ice demonstrate Andy Lattimer's concept vision and virtuosity, while the extracts from Snow Goose show what Pete Bardens took out of the band when he left. Cloak and Dagger Man shows Camel's skill at making a shorter but nonetheless engagingly progressive track. They've even included music from the near-miss albums Rain Dances and Breathless, Camel's low point in the late 70s when ever changing band lineups and the interference of music company directives in creativity had them falling out of favour with a previously well established audience. Unlike many of their contemporary bands who just gave up and quit when the prog rock scene fell apart under punk and new wave, Camel are still putting out occasional extremely professional albums like Nod and a Wink and Dust and Dreams, not featured here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Camel at "currently" an unbelievable price., 10 Aug 2011
This review is from: Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985 (Audio CD)
Camel have always been one of my favourite groups and particularly their earlier recordings Mirage, Moonmadness and Breatless. Andrew Latimer guitar work and Pete Bardens organ combined really well particularly on Lady Fantasy Freefall and A song within a song. Pete was awesome on Spirit of the water. After Pete left I took a while to warm to the new band, tracks like Ice soon got me back in the fold.
This is a really good introduction, also check out "Coming of age" mellow with Andy's great guitar playing. I recently acquired Rajaz a 1999 release and it finds Andrew , Colin Bass (Bass) Tom Scherpenzeel (Keyboards) Dave Stewart (Drums) and Barry Phillip (Cello) in fine form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Would Be Lunar Sea Not To Buy This!, 9 Sep 2011
By 
J. HOLMES (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985 (Audio CD)
An absolutely wonderful introduction to Camel, who produced some extraordinary music from 1973 - 1985, and indeed on until the early years of this century, before guitarist and band founder Andy Latimer was taken seriously ill - from which he now thankfully appears to be recovering, with talk even of another tour.

This double album contains tracks from all the albums released over that period, but also includes the odd unreleased track, to wet the appetite of regular Camel listeners. However, that is not to imply that this is a rip-off type album. Far from it, because at this price it is an absolute steal even if there are only a handful of tracks you don't have.

Top quality musicianship and carefully crafted songs abound here, to delight both the casual listener, and the serious devotee. Highlight for me is always the stunningly lyrical guitar work of Latimer, which is coupled to an exquisite tone wrung from his Gibson Les Paul or Fender Strat!

5 stars at least!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lunar Sea is a superb introduction to Camel's Decca releases, 24 Aug 2002
This review is from: Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985 (Audio CD)
I bought Lunar Sea after i had bought Mirage, and i since getting Lunar Sea, i am about to purchase my 5th camel album (after getting Snow Goose and Moonmadness). There are a number of rare tracks on here, that you won't find anywhere else, including several live versions of camel classics. It covers a broad spectrum of Camel's music (from what i've heard), from the original lineup on disc one, through the alternating lineup through the 80s on disc 2, and the sheer variety astounded me at first. Songs like Cloak and Dagger Man from Stationary traveller, were unlike any camel stuff i'd ever heard before. I'd suggest you get this, if you are (like me) getting into Camel for the first time, and you can build up your collection based on what you hear here (except the Camel Productions stuff, which you won't find on this Decca compilation).
I'd reccomend Moonmadness as the best (& my favourite) Camel album, but I wasn't so keen on the stuff that was on Lunar Sea at first (plus, i've not heard all of Camel's fairly large dicography).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection in 2 CDs, 27 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985 (Audio CD)
I was so pleased when I found this collection, and at the price I just had to have it! I have several Camel albums on vinyl, but I wanted a definitive representation of the Camel era of when I was at school and at college in one place, and this is it. I would still recommend buying Flight of the Snow Goose in it's entirety though. Saw Camel at the Brighton Dome in 1977 and the acoustics of the theatre and the musicianship remain an inspiration. I have no hump with this Camel.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alles perfekt. Danke., 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985 (Audio CD)
CD in einem perfekten Zustand erhalten. Schnelle und korrekte Abwicklung der Bestellung. Alles prima und deshalb gibt es 5 Sterne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ... what I was expecting - remember listening to this wonderful guitar years ago, 18 July 2014
By 
RK (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985 (Audio CD)
This wasn't what I was expecting - remember listening to this wonderful guitar years ago. Perhaps the wrong album ... or even the wrong band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985 (Audio CD)
This anthology covering their career from 1973 to 1985 is as good as it gets if you want to dip your toes into the water to paddle through the repertoire of this important symphonic prog band of virtuoso musicians. Barden's keyboards are inspirational but the real star is Latimer on vocals and guitar. The spirit of Camel resides in these artists, though it can never be underestimated the power of Ward's accomplished drumming and Ferguson's pounding basslines. Together they were untouchable, pure magic and there was never a lineup like them in early symphonic prog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of weak, 9 Sep 2011
By 
Zac "Reggae Fan" (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985 (Audio CD)
There's some decent stuff on this compilation, but the songs that were picked to represent the "Rain Dances" CD were probably the weakest songs on the disc. That was a great Album/CD. I was lucky enough to have seen Camel back in the day (the '70's) at the Roxy Theater on Sunset Bl. Instead of this compilation, I recommend to anyone half way interested in Camel to get the first 4 or 5 CDs. You will not be sorry, and will end up a HUGE Camel fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985
Lunar Sea: An Anthology 1973-1985 by Camel (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews