Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars My first Snoop Album
This was my first Snoop Album back when I first started really enjoying rap. I see the reviews of this are mixed, lovers of Doggystyle and the early Snoop era seem to dislike this album, others love it. This makes it hard to comprehend the reviews if you're unsure whether to buy this.

If I can put it simply, Doggystyle was released in 1993 under Death Row...
Published on 20 Nov. 2012 by Paul

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Of A Greasy Spoon Than An A La Carte!
I thought I better give this album a proper review as there is no way that this could ever get 5 stars as some people have given it. The only Snoop album to acheieve that acolade is 'Doggystyle' and this is far from the quality of that classic!
There are some good tunes on this, the two Timberland productions 'Snoop Dogg' and 'Set It Off' are quality, and other...
Published on 18 Dec. 2002 by olithorp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars My first Snoop Album, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
Paul - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tha Last Meal (Audio CD)
This was my first Snoop Album back when I first started really enjoying rap. I see the reviews of this are mixed, lovers of Doggystyle and the early Snoop era seem to dislike this album, others love it. This makes it hard to comprehend the reviews if you're unsure whether to buy this.

If I can put it simply, Doggystyle was released in 1993 under Death Row records and this album was released in 2000. That's quite a lot of change in those 7 years and Snoop, much to some fans dismay and to others pleasure does flirt his style about to try to keep current and gain new fans as music progresses. Rap lovers often resist change, craving the early days and hating on artists dumbing down for radio or selling out for more fans. The truth is, money is priority and if sticking to the old style doesn't sell, they'll change. If the change sucks, they'll disappear. Snoop keeps going.

As this was my first album, I hadn't heard any other Snoop albums and I absolutely loved this album. I own all his albums now and it's still one of my favourite albums of Snoop Dogg and there are songs on this that are amazing to crank up and enjoy. Some are old school-esque, some are funky and I would say 'Lay Low' is worth the album cost alone. (RIP Nate Dogg) My advice would be that the album is around £4.00 it's not a lot of money to purchase now and as the reviews are a mixed bag, you need to make your own mind up but this album isn't trash, it's good just don't expect it to echo Snoop's early era, he does move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOGGYSTYLE 2, 1 April 2007
By 
Mr. J. Mcgaw "BIGJAY" (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tha Last Meal (Audio CD)
THE BEST SINCE DOGGYSTYLE AND THE CLOSEST TO IT, RETURNING WITH THAT

G FUNK, CHECK OUT THA BLUE CARPET TREATMENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice mix of "Modern" and "Old School" gangsta rap, 10 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tha Last Meal (Audio CD)
This Album has some real hot joints on it. Look out for "Set it off" (track 7), "Lay Low"(track 9")and "Issues" (track 12)". Some of the album looks back on the way gansta rap has changed, and some is chill out usic to get stoned to (Hennesy n Buddah).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snoop is back, 14 May 2001
This review is from: Tha Last Meal (Audio CD)
This album is true Snoop, back to his best. The lyrics are as hot as ever, the beats are mellow and funky and tha Dogg's rhyming is another level. Definitely his best album since Doggystyle, The Last Meal is well worth it's five stars. To all you Snoop fans, you will love this album, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a phat album, u gotta get it!, 12 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tha Last Meal (Audio CD)
As i'm a big fan of Snoop i thought that he had already released the best, but i was wrong! This album is proof that he just keeps on gettin better. Its got a nice, easygoing feel to it aswell as having the sound of hip-hop. The album is put together really well and its one of his best so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Of A Greasy Spoon Than An A La Carte!, 18 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Tha Last Meal (Audio CD)
I thought I better give this album a proper review as there is no way that this could ever get 5 stars as some people have given it. The only Snoop album to acheieve that acolade is 'Doggystyle' and this is far from the quality of that classic!
There are some good tunes on this, the two Timberland productions 'Snoop Dogg' and 'Set It Off' are quality, and other highlights include 'Go Away', 'Brake Fluid' and 'Y'all Gone Miss Me'. But overall there are a lot of tracks that sound similar and are weak Dre style imitations. This album sounds as if it was made with a limited budget and not as many quality rappers and producers could be brought in to help out as could be afforded. Tha Last Meal would also benefit from a fair bit of trimming down as 19 tracks is too long and many of the tracks would not really be missed.
The overall result is somewhat frustrating as it is obvious that Snoop Dogg has plenty of talent and his own unique style of delivery. But I feel that until Snoop hooks up again with Dre, not just for a few tracks, but for a whole album production, none of his albums are going to come anywhere near to that of 'Doggystyle'. I wait in hope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Snoop album ....., 13 April 2005
This review is from: Tha Last Meal (Audio CD)
I have had this album quite a while & have just written a review for the Topp Dogg album so thought I'd write a review on this one.
Their is some good tracks on this album, my favourite being the albums starting track "Buddah & Hennesey", which i find very funky (kinda a little bit of the G-Funk era), & of course "Whats My Name - Part II" is a classic tracka aswell, though some of the other tracks do sound like fill in tracks really.
It's not however a bad album & if you love Snoop, you will like this album ... though if your not a massive Snoop fan, then go for Doggystyle or Top Dogg (Of which refers to some of the Doggystyle material (check out Nate Dogg doing "Ain't No Fun" on the track "Don't Tell" on the "Top Dogg" album)), it's a good album to have to go in your Snoop collection .... though it's not his best, so if your new to Snoop then you want to get some of the other albums first.
Hope this has been of help to some buyers ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doin' it Doggystyle, 7 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Tha Last Meal (Audio CD)
After "Da Game is to be sold...", many (including me) thought that Snoop had fallen off something chronic. But he came back bangin' with "Top Dogg-No Limit", and has gone from strength to strength with this LP. A good mix between old and new, with lots of interesting reflections, brilliant guest spots, and top quality production, this CD will not leave your player. The hot tracks to look out for are "Set it off", "Lay Low", and "Issues". On "Set it off" Lady of Rage makes a rare but welcome appearance, and Nate's hilarious lyrics always crack me up. "Issues" is a short but full-on cut made to show off Snoop's lyrical prowess. But it also has lots of good chilled tracks, like "Stacey Adams" and "Loosen' Control". All round an excellent album for Snoop, showing how Rap is breaking new ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Last Meal, 19 Aug. 2005
By 
J G (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tha Last Meal (Audio CD)
The album signals the end of Snoop's spell with No Limit and it comes across as a farewell album, even though its far from his best work it aint that bad in fact i'd only say one track is particularly bad and thats track 8 Stacey Adams which i dont rate at all. The best tracks are 2 - Hennesey & Buddah, 7 - Set It Off, 9 - Lay Low, and 12 - Issues. Overall i give the album 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tha Last Meal
Tha Last Meal by Snoop Dogg (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews