Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, Brutal and pumped full of andrenalain
I bought 'The Darker Side of Nonsense' on an off chance after reading the review in Kerrang! and Metal Hammer. I really so far hadn't been too impressed with the Nu-Metal scence and what it was bringing into the music scence. I whacked the CD into my stereo and as the rawcus guitars and off beat pounding Rhythms of 'Nightmare' i started to feel that this Nu-Metal aint...
Published on 26 Dec 2001 by crucify_the_nation@hotmail.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the third generation of nu metal
in the grand scheme of nu metal there were 3 generations
and this band were about for the final death rolls of the genre
the timeline for this band goes a little like this
slipknot leads to mudvayne which then leads to dry kill logic
which is a shame as there are some great ideas on this album but the majority of it you will have heard elsewhere quite...
Published on 10 April 2009 by ben_jekyll


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, Brutal and pumped full of andrenalain, 26 Dec 2001
By 
crucify_the_nation@hotmail.com (Cookhill, Warwickshire, England, Britain, Europe, The World, The Galaxy, The Universe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Darker Side Of Nonsense (Audio CD)
I bought 'The Darker Side of Nonsense' on an off chance after reading the review in Kerrang! and Metal Hammer. I really so far hadn't been too impressed with the Nu-Metal scence and what it was bringing into the music scence. I whacked the CD into my stereo and as the rawcus guitars and off beat pounding Rhythms of 'Nightmare' i started to feel that this Nu-Metal aint too bad! After deeper listening accompanied with much moshing i really was blown away with 'The Darker Side of Nonsense'. Singer Cliff Rigano screaming like on pissed off primate, scott thompson bringing you bad ass guitaring, bass player Dave Kowatch and drummer Phil Acuri scraping your brain out with deep bass filled tunes you cant really complain about. 'Pain', 'Nothing', 'Rot', 'Give up, give in, lie down' being a few of the tracks that grab you by the balls and dont let go. I think that Dry Kill are more than Nu-Metal at the moment. Unlike Linkin Park, Papa Roach, Limp Bizkit etc they have no cheesy gimmicks, covers or bloody annoying DJ's. They are not Nu-Metal, they are, in my opnion, pure Heavy Metal. 'The Darker Side of Nonsense'. Gospel truth? I think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most innavative metal album i've heard in 2 yrs, 27 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Darker Side Of Nonsense (Audio CD)
Dry Kill Logic are a band that are almost impossible to compare to anyone else, yet have a sound that is familiar without being dull. DKL aren't what you would call "something new and different" but they take a metal sound that was boring and ageing and pour vodka into it's eyes so it screams in outraged agony!!! With vocals that resemble Kud from MuDvAyNe and Maynard from Tool, Cliff Rigano lets rip on this album with a definitive sound that shakes your speakers and compliments the amazing musical talents of the other band members perfectly!!! two final words: buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody good album!, 22 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Darker Side Of Nonsense (Audio CD)
This album is bloody great and should be bought buy everyone. if you dont like it then i guarantee your older siblings will. its a riff fueled assembly of impossible lyrics (no matter how many times you try they just cannot be spat out in the same way cliff rigano manages it) and thumping bass that will have you constantly wanting to knock your head from the upwards position to the downward position repeatedly. just buy it, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loud, heavy, fast... Brutal!, 26 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: The Darker Side Of Nonsense (Audio CD)
After listening to just a few of the samples on offer here and I was turned to the 'Darker Side of Nonsense'. Dry Kill Logic pound your head with pacing tracks like 'Rot', akin to the speed of Slipknot, whilst tracks like 'Nightmare' and 'Pain' remind you of heavy riffs that would be at home with Soulfly, and leave you slavering for the pit. I played this to my brother and by the time the CD reached 'Rot' he was sold. Do yourself a favour and buy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dry Kill Logic - The best new band of 2001, 6 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Darker Side Of Nonsense (Audio CD)
When I heard "Nightmare" off "The Darker Side of Nonsense" for the first time, I knew I would become a follower of the band, and never be the same. One of the greatest aspects of nu-metal is the energy you obtain from the band and their music. When you listen to Dry Kill Logic, you receive the hatred imbedded in their songs. This anger is beautifully incorporated with the music, with Cliff Rigano (vocalist) opening your soul to be invaded by such tracks as "Nightmare", "Pain" and "Feel the Break". Dry Kill Logic is the enraged beast that has and will change the industry forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh my god(I would give it more stars if it were possible), 31 Dec 2001
By 
Cl Warburton "Caroline" (Prudhoe, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darker Side Of Nonsense (Audio CD)
I am a difficult man to please and impress but this has blown me away,I bought it on the stength of the first track nightmare,and although that is an amazing song and all, it did not prepare me for the haunting vocals of cliff rigano and the ease with which they do metal to a more calmed down relaxed, almost depressed feeling on the last track Goodnight,seriously,buy this album if you like bands such as soulfly and spread the word of the best new band to come about in many a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a major beat down, the best I've heard in a long time, 20 Jun 2001
This review is from: The Darker Side Of Nonsense (Audio CD)
What can I say I haven't listened to pretty much anything else for the week I've had the LP, you won't find any fillers on here. It runs in at 45 minutes you wont find any messing around here unlike slipknot why mention slipknot you say well they are the easiest comparison but theres much more to dry kill logic than that, pantera, static-x, stuck mojo. But still theres something undescribingly different that makes me come back again and again (strangely a certain amount of the songs are really bouncy in their heaviness). I like an album to smack you round the head and end so you can do it all over again. Dry Kill Logic achieved this 100%. ignore at you peril. Pop fans tremble they'd shred the skin of steps at fifty paces a good thing to. Standout tracks: pain, give up give in lie down, a better man than me. Its great to have an all out pummell fest Peace out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss goodbye to Pop metal, 12 May 2001
This review is from: The Darker Side Of Nonsense (Audio CD)
I have loved all styles of metal music for almost a decade now, and have recently become frustrated by the surge of bandwaggon jumping nu-metal bands such as Papa Roach and Linkin Park. Well now its time to forget all that - Dry Kill Logic (previously called 'Hinge AD') have produced an album that words struggle to describe. It does not compromise on anything, does not care for the well-being of your ears, and is certainly not rap-metal. Basically...by this album (but do not store under 'easy-listening').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the third generation of nu metal, 10 April 2009
This review is from: The Darker Side Of Nonsense (Audio CD)
in the grand scheme of nu metal there were 3 generations
and this band were about for the final death rolls of the genre
the timeline for this band goes a little like this
slipknot leads to mudvayne which then leads to dry kill logic
which is a shame as there are some great ideas on this album but the majority of it you will have heard elsewhere quite a few times before
for example assfault is a great song but is equal parts mudvayne and machine head
the production is pretty weak too, the vocals and guitar dominate the mix with very little room for the drums and even less for the bass
if you like slipknot or madvayne you lwill probably find much to like here but again if you like those bands then you probably dont need this album in the first place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Metal Band this Year, 8 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Darker Side Of Nonsense (Audio CD)
This is one of the most devastating Metal albums ever. With hard arse guitar riffs and hardcore vocals i think this band needs to be recognised further! If you like stuff like soulfly,OLD sepultura then i suggest you get your arse over to the music store and GET THIS RECORD !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Darker Side Of Nonsense
The Darker Side Of Nonsense by Dry Kill Logic (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews