Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an enjoyable film ,but scary.
this is a really enjoyable film that left me on the edge of my seat. the performances by hilary swank and keanu reeves are immpecable and really make a good film excellent. katie holmes also adds an excellent performance. all in all this is a very good and well acted film. go see now.
Published on 16 Sep 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars solid entertainment
Psychic woman helps unravel the mystery surrounding the disappearance of a local girl, finally exposing whodunnit - it's not a particularly original premise, but what makes this film stand out from some similar films I've seen is the tremendous cast performances,
Cate Blanchett is very good as the otherwise normal woman who happens to have 'the gift', Keanu Reeves is...
Published on 3 Mar 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of my faves, 28 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Gift [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films ever, and my favourite Keanu Reeves role by far. Anyone who doubts he can act should watch this film and remember its the same guy who played Ted in Bill and Ted or Neo. A great performance from Cate too. She is captivating.

The scene with the fiddler by the river is haunting and gives me the heebie jeebies every time I see it (although nothing actually really happens).

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cate blanchett, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Jason Dunlop "JD" (Ballymoney, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I bought this dvd, mainly because cate blanchett was in it. Its an ok film, nothing spectacular, but very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Gift: well worth the watch, 9 Nov 2001
This review is from: The Gift [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I didnt know what to expect when i saw this film in the multiscreen, but wow was i empressed, the story is well paced and plotted and the characters are believable ad well as the circumstances they are in. Relitivly realistic for an american film the story goes deep into the old fears of witchcraft and tarot cards. The films ending is good and overall the film is a simple must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Not that good a bit slow and predictable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was very satisfying thanks very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good supernatural thriller, but dissapointing extras, 17 Sep 2001
By 
azralph@hotmail.com (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gift [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
You might have noticed theres rather a lot of this type of thing at the moment, if Holywood were real life we would never need detectives as theres obviously enough psychics, clairovoyants, mediums and ghosts around to tell us exactly who the dastardly villain is, and so this is the premise behind director Sam Raimi' slatest thriller, what if the only witness wasnt even there? Of course if you are a fan of Sam Rami you will hope this to be grusome , violent and yet darkly funny film, putting his own unique twist on the presently rather bland genre of the supernatural horror, such films as Stigmata and What lies beneath have done nothing for the genre so pefectly exampled by The Exorcist and the Omen trilogy.However this shows none of the dark humor of Rami's Evil Dead films, which is just as well as this is a great portrayal of an everyday person born with a gift she cannot control, a roel Cate Blanchett( Oscar nominated for her portrayal of Queen Elizabeth ) plays exceptionally well. The rest of the cast also performs equally especially the usually wooden Keanu Reeves as a wife beating red-neck. As far as story goes i cant say much without spoiling it, but as a southern community is shocked by the dissapearence of a young girl some may react badly to the psychic able to find her, alive or not. So basically this fil deserves four out five, it certainly scares the pants off rather pants films like Lost Souls and What lies beneath, so why only three stars, well the extras on this are'nt really that great, theres the token trailers and tv spots, which i've never thought of as that much extra as well as cast and director inreviews. So if you want to buy this buy it because is a great example of how a supernatural-thriller should be made, with superb plot impeccable acting and characterisation, just dont expect that much exrtraon the disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Sep 2014
By 
G. Passan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Amazing movie. Quick delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A very good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy, 11 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Excellent buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gift [DVD] [2001]
The Gift [DVD] [2001] by Sam Raimi (DVD - 2001)
£4.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews