Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can our love be as perfect as this music!, 2 Jun 2001
By 
Rhys Buckingham (Nelson New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can Our Love... (Audio CD)
To me this brilliant masterly production surpasses that of the previous release 'Simple pleasure' and takes one back to their second album masterpiece 'Tindersticks 2'. While the mood and ambience remains distinctly Tindersticks, there is more passion here, and even moments that tend to explore different territory.
Its similarity to 'Simple pleasure' is in its relatively short length (just over 45 minutes), and the substance of its mood and lyric. Both are compositions of carefully arranged gems that tell the story of relationships and dilemmas of everyday life.
'Can our love...' be as perfect as this music? Almost worth buying for the cover alone. An absolute must for any Tinderenthusiast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music To Boil Water To, 7 Oct 2001
By 
M. Fantino (San Francisco, California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can Our Love... (Audio CD)
Tindersticks are not for everybody. The music they swirl is most certainly melancholy, but not at all depressing. Lead singer, Stuart Staples has the most quivering, fragile, mumbling, vibrating baritone you are ever likely to hear. His voice sounds like it is about to crack at any moment and that sound, even though it will be beautiful, will break your heart. And it will sink right into the music, which sounds a lot like something Burt Bacharach might come up with, if he were less distant.
I remember getting into the Tindersticks years ago, back in 1994, when there was a lull in Nick Cave releases, and Stuart Staples was a common antidote for such occasions (back before we had a more subdued Nick Cave). And I remember liking them, but eventually getting tired of them. This album, Can Our Love... changes those determinations. It is clear that both the Tindersticks and myself have matured enough over the resulting seven years.
I think it's really a perfect album. It's the kind you can play on a rainy day, and cook pasta so that the windows steam up, and let it play over and over. Every now and then, repeat songs #4 and #8 (Can Our Love... and Chilitetime) because they are worth repeating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tindersticks looking in both directions, 25 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Can Our Love... (Audio CD)
Once again, Britain's most undervalued band produce a piece of work that leaves everyone else in the shade. The songwriting is of the high standard Tinderfans have come to expect, the playing is effortless, the arrangements are sublime (no one knows when to bring strings and brass in like Tindersticks), Staple's voice reaches new heights (literally, in the track PEOPLE KEEP COMIN' AROUND), and Hinchliffe's violin is more achingly yearningly beautiful than ever before. For all the talk about how this latest release sees Tindersticks venturing further into the world of classic soul, what struck me on first listen was how it managed to combine that with material and arrangements sounding more like their first album than any work since. This is a great album by a great band. Here's to the next ten years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for the soul, 23 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Can Our Love... (Audio CD)
Can our love...picks up where their last album Simple Pleasures left off. The orchestral frenzy that characterised the early outings are minimised in favour of a more restrained and stark sounding melancholy. Dying slowly, the first track sets the tone, using familiar Tindersticks themes and the emotion doesn't let up. The title track is a slow blistering classic, as is the sweet soul of the closer chilitime. As usual the musicianship is perfect, the production lush and Stuart Staples vocals sound more like Otis than the Vic Reeves club singer of old. Crack open a bottle, open a packet of your favourite cigs and let the pure beauty of this album take over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars look who's going all soulfly, 21 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Can Our Love... (Audio CD)
Their last album, 'Simple Pleasure' was a gem, a really smooth, beautiful album you could geniunly call a classic. One main reason is that they cut out the crap and left it at 9 tracks - remember, quality, not quantity. They came across much more as a soul-influenced band in that album, and that trend continues here. This is probably the equal to 'Simple Pleasure' and boasts, in 'Sweet Release' one of the best tracks they have ever recorded; it's worth the price of the album on it's own. 'Tricklin' isn a fairly weak track, but 'Dying Slowly' and 'People Keep Comin Around' (another classic) open the album fantastically well, introducing us to the evolving Tindersticks sound. The title track is great, and the last three wrap up a fantastic album. Buy now, and appreciate Tinderstick heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tindersticks - Back to their best, 18 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Can Our Love... (Audio CD)
Tindersticks have been trying to diversify from their early - some may say - melancholy sound for a while now with mixed fortunes. However this time they have got it bang on right, whilst retaining their original sound they've managed to fuse it brilliantly with a strong soul influence. Can Our Love... grabs and holds the listeners attention right through the album in a way that Simple Pleasure probably didn't but their earlier offerings certainly did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Infuriating game of two halves, 15 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Can Our Love... (Audio CD)
Rather a false-start to this gorgeous album with the Tindersticks-by-numbers of 'Dying Slowly' and the sketchy time-filler 'Tricklin'. The heart of the album however takes us to True Soul the like of which no other band seems to have the heart and ambition to attempt these days. In 'Sweet Release' they have crafted the most breathlessly wonderful song you've heard this millennium, and as another reviewer has opined, is alone worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars yes it can, 25 Oct 2009
This review is from: Can Our Love... (Audio CD)
One of their best in my opinion. the sound has moved on but its not a complete left turn, just a hint of soulfulness added to the mix, like a little sugar to sweeten the melancholy (not that it needed it).It starts with a lovely folky drinking song that could break your heart, so touching is the sentiment. it gets a bit what i can only describe as sexy from then on but in a subtle way, especially 'sweet release' and the title song. overall i dont think this their best that would be 'curtains' in my opinion but if you have any of the other albums then this is a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa0071b0)

This product

Can Our Love...
Can Our Love... by Tindersticks (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews