Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars v.v.vgd! A must for all Bridgets!
This is a superb soundtrack, which completely captures the essence of the film. With a mixture of old and new, happy and sad, it should please everyone. Whether you are a singleton or a smug married, this is for you! I strongly urge you to buy it, if only for treasures such as 'All by Myself' and Robbie Williams' 'Have you met Miss Jones'. Well worth the money. Enjoy...
Published on 3 Nov 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars service good, songs ok
It's what I ordered, came quickly from Zoverstocks and good quality as described. The songs are just ok though, remember feeling more from them while watching the film.
Published 3 months ago by Mrs. Hannah Howard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars v.v.vgd! A must for all Bridgets!, 3 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Audio CD)
This is a superb soundtrack, which completely captures the essence of the film. With a mixture of old and new, happy and sad, it should please everyone. Whether you are a singleton or a smug married, this is for you! I strongly urge you to buy it, if only for treasures such as 'All by Myself' and Robbie Williams' 'Have you met Miss Jones'. Well worth the money. Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album of the year!, 21 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Audio CD)
Outstanding! Truly one of the best albums this year. A lot of old "goodies" in a well-balanced mix with newer sounds. GET IT! It suits all moods and all occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great film, great music!, 27 May 2001
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Audio CD)
What more could you want! After reading the book and seeing the film I thought, 'surely the album can't be as good?' Wrong. This album contains some real classics aswell as recent ones. In my opinion the best tracks are 'Ring, Ring, Ring', 'Pretender got my Heart' and 'All by Myself' and the album is worth buying for them alone. One of the best albums I have ever bought and worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its raining men but i dont hear anyone complaining!, 20 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Audio CD)
This 19-track album contains all those songs that just creep up on you but you never know who sings them! They are the songs you want to get up and dance to and sing along. The movie was amazing and it was hard not to sing along and I was thrilled when Geri Halliwells song came on! The songs clearly relate to the movie and make it a more interesting film to watch because f the songs that play along. The album is alot more enjoyable after seeing the film because it is made obvious why they used the songs! Top marks bridget!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant soundtrack for a brilliant movie, 19 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Audio CD)
One of the most impressive things about the comic masterpiece that is Bridget Jones's Diary, for me, is the great soundtrack. Often, film's soundtracks can be unnoticeable or completely ill fitting to the scene. Bridget Jones's one was neither of these, and is a very good compilation album, featuring old favourites, new ones and combinations of both - re-workings of classics.
Within the film itself, each song fitted admirably with the scene it accompanied, complimenting the emotions on display extremely well. Practically the first song to hit you upon seeing the movie is the old weepie 'All By Myself', sung by an unknown voice to me - Jamie O' Neal, whose voice is powerful and displays the raw emotion associated with the record.
Singleton favourites 'Respect' by Aretha Franklin (which was most impressive when forming the backdrop for Daniel Cleaver's humiliation in the movie) and Chaka Khan's 'I'm Every Woman' also make their way onto the soundtrack and are little masterpieces in their own right and need little description.
The brilliantly bouncy 'Don't Get Me Wrong' and the 'fantastic, bombastic, ecstatic' Woman Trouble went along with their scenes particularly well, and are bound to have you tapping your fingers within moments.
The other original songs that make the soundtrack are the classics 'Stop, Look, Listen (To Your Heart)' and 'Can't Take My Eyes Off You' (altogether now, 'I love you baby...') ensure that the originals are still the best.
Meanwhile, there are a number of impressive covers, such as Jamie O' Neal's rousing interpretation of 'All By Myself', the fantastically over-the top Geri Halliwell number 'It's Raining Men' (which accompanied the hilarious fight scene very well), Dina Carroll's soulful re-working of 'Someone Like You'.
The film itself was brought out with a bang, courtesy of Robbie Williams' display of his amazing voice on 'Have You Met Miss Jones?' Mr. Williams also has an entirely new song on the album too - 'Not Of This Earth', which is fresh and funky and gives him a further chance to display his vocal talent.
Gabrielle needs little introduction and her song, the lead single from the album, is a soulful R n' B track, which gives a showcase to the singer's wonderful voice. In fact, 'Out Of Reach' is the song that accompanied some of the more emotional moments in the movie and stands out in both the movie and the soundtrack.
Shelby Lynne, a little heard of artist in Britain, impresses with her two songs 'Killin' Kind' and the chilled-out 'Dreamsome', whilst Rosey's fresh and funky song 'Love' is also notable. Both these artists display unusual and great voices.
Alisha's Attic, a band that have unfortunately fallen on rather hard times, are incredibly good with their haunting track 'Pretender Got My Heart', displaying pure, beautiful voices, reminiscent of the great Kate Bush. Aaron Soul's 'Ring, Ring, Ring' is another upbeat track, which will probably have you singing 'ring, ring, ring' all day long.
Patrick Doyle's orchestral number may fall flat for some wanting more of the unbeatable karaoke that the rest of the album offers, yet is undeniably good, whilst the only song that did not work for me was Sheryl Crow's (undoubtedly one of the greater talents this decade has unearthed) 'Kiss That Girl'.
This soundtrack is a compliment to the movie. In other words, it's brilliant. Ignore the increasingly bland 'Now' collections and opt for this fantastic compilation of songs, which offers slow smoochies, girl power tracks, karaoke favourites, finger-tapping songs and fresh talent. This album is excellent and is a credit to Bridget Jones's Diary that one of the best compilation albums, let alone film soundtracks, has been produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 glasses of wine (v.good), 5 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Audio CD)
While the rest of the album if super fantastic, geri really did fall on her face here didn't she? To try and cover such an anthem was brave - so kudos there - but what was she thinking? As for Sheryl Crow - I am an endless fan of hers, and I think that this is a good song, but its badley misplaced on this album.
Enough of the bad!! There are several of my all time favourite songs on this album - who doesn't like "Too good to be true"? (And i am so glad that they picked Andy Williams version, not the Frankie Vallie one.) I can't wait to listen to it again, and I am well chuffed with it.
The only songs I would skip are Alisha's attic and geri - so thats a good batting average!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sound track to bridget jones diary, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Audio CD)
Just to say this was incredibly good value due to ordering late we had to by exact same cd from hmv for 10 and amazon one was i think under 1 thought it would be rubbish but same standard as the shop brought one so kept for myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT COMPILATION CD, 24 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Audio CD)
I have always much preferred compilation CDs - different artists, good variety of music, etc. So would often buy sampler L.P.s (in the olden days!) Now I love these feel good films with various artists on the soundtrack, as long as they do stick to the description - 'Soundtrack Recording'. You too often have a lot of artists who were not on the soundtrack, and whose recordings you do not want. This soundtrack however, although it may have one or two extras, is good, and they only enhance with the same flavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's amazing!, 6 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Audio CD)
How could they make an album so full of stars ?! Robbie Williams, Sheryl Crow, Chaka Khan, Diana Ross, Geri Halliwell! WOW! It's "wunderbar" "maravilhoso"! I hope the motion picture is as good as the soundtrack! Don't let it go! Catch your copy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Represents the film brilliantly, 6 May 2001
This review is from: Bridget Jones's Diary (Audio CD)
Unlike some soundtracks that just have random songs on to fill in the space, the BDJ one is spot on. It has stayed in my CD player solidly for about 2 weeks and I have only just changed it today (too much of a good thing...). One of the reasons for its longevity is that there are 19 tracks that are all v.different so that you have a song that suits your mood at that moment.
The Geri cover is not that bad and isn't really meant to be taken that seriously anyway. My favourite track would have to be Aaron Soul - Ring, Ring, Ring - brilliant! Then there is also the very fitting Out Of Reach track and Can't Take My Eyes Off You. The only songs that I'm not that made about is Dreamsome by Shelly Lynn, and even that is still OK.
If you want a reminder of Bridget, then this soundtrack is definitely for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews