Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A blinder!.....it just took me a while to realise it!
Having picked this record up when it was offically released in the UK it's fair to say I was pretty disappointed at first. I didn't really get much of a kick from most of the songs when I played it (except, naturally, "Mirror Mirror") and it eventually slipped further down my album pile (which is quite a drop!).
The sheer brilliance of Ryan Adam's...
Published on 16 Jan 2002

versus
6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Try Heartbreaker instead !
All the reviews above are based more upon the strength of the Whiskytown/Ryan Adams catalogue than the quality of Pneumonia. I bought this and was very disappointed. In fact, I could see why this was hidden in the vaults for 3 years.
There are a couple of stand-out tracks which are alt.country in their leaning (always their strength) but overall it drifts from the...
Published on 3 Aug 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A blinder!.....it just took me a while to realise it!, 16 Jan 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pneumonia (Audio CD)
Having picked this record up when it was offically released in the UK it's fair to say I was pretty disappointed at first. I didn't really get much of a kick from most of the songs when I played it (except, naturally, "Mirror Mirror") and it eventually slipped further down my album pile (which is quite a drop!).
The sheer brilliance of Ryan Adam's "Gold" finally got me motivated to put it on again, and this time I actually gave it chance. What's pretty clear to me is that this album is a bit of a strange old fish because it is a real grower, and now I'm having trouble NOT playing it!
It puzzles me when I look back on reviews from magazines like Mojo, which implied this was the sound of a knackered band on it's last legs, whose major stars were just itching to get on with their solo careers, because it's utter rubbish! This is a great album which is full of soul that is utter infectious, and I'm starting to reach the opinion that it is better than "Strangers Almanac" (which is quite a claim).
Fans of Ryan's "Heartbreaker" or "Gold" should certainly pick this up without hesitation because it's a great, great record with a lot of heart and cracking good tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably Ryan Adams best record!, 28 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pneumonia (Audio CD)
This is simply beautiful stuff. There is NO filler on this album at all! Ryan Adams singing is at its best on this album and every track has a beautiful melody. My personal favourite is "Easy Hearts", with its beatiful orchestration and the blending of Adams and Careys voices (Adams voice just soars at the end). If i was looking to buy my first Ryan Adams/Whiskeytown album i would go for this one as it is slightly more accessible than "Strangers Almanac" or "Heartbreaker". You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than his solo work..., 6 Feb 2004
By 
Darren Carlile "Darren" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pneumonia (Audio CD)
My first encounter with a Ryan Adam's album was a chance purchase of Gold because I thought the reviews on the sticker sounded good (don't mock,it was also the only way I probably ever would have bought 'O' by Damien Rice). Since then, I've bought Demolition, Love is hell (1&2) and Rock and Roll, and then when searching on Amazon saw some good reviews for this album. This album is all the other reviews say and more. If you like Ryan Adams then you will love this album, and it will become one of your all time favourites.
As an all round album it is fantastic, of the 14 tracks I would only ever really skip two (Paper Moon and What the Devil wanted), and some of the other tracks I think rate up with the very best of Gold, Demolition and Love is Hell. Don't wanna know why, Crazy about you and Bar Lights are very catchy upbeat numbers, but it is definitely the slower numbers that mark this album out. Reasons to Lie is a taste of what is to come, but fails to scale the heights of my personal album favourties,Under Your Breath and Easy Hearts. Under Your Breath is a haunting, beautiful song which suits Adam's voice to perfection. Easy Hearts is quite a contrasting ballad. Bigger in sound, with the voices of Adams and Cary complementing each other with a beauty that would shine even without backing, I believe it is a song that Adams will probably never emulate whilst solo. If the money isn't right, can I be your's tonight, is a line that is bound to stick in your head, and this is an album that should certainly stick in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly Good!, 5 Mar 2003
By 
Mr. F. S. Prince "essdog" (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pneumonia (Audio CD)
After being a fan of Ryan Adams for some time I decided it was about time I checked out his Whiskeytown back catalogue. 'Pneumonia' is where I started and to be honest my expectations were not overly high, I found it hard to believe that earlier works of Adams could match the dizzy musical heights of his solo career. However, I could not have been more wrong.
'Pneumonia' is remarkably good and despite the band reportedly falling apart whilst this was being recorded there is no hint of this in the music. Indeed, there are some nice touches in the production like leaving in Adams' closing remarks on 'Bar Lights' where he laughs at having forgotten the words and broken a string all in the same take before stating "F*** this, I'm goin' to the bar".
Proceedings kick of with 'The Ballad of Carol Lynn', a simple enough song with a range of instrumentation to bring it to life and compliment Adams' excellent vocals. This is followed by 'Don't Wanna Know Why' a breezy sounding country-pop song with effective violin parts and complimenting vocals from Caitlin Carey. 'Jacksonville Skyline' follows which is undoubtedly one of Adams' best songs to date, simple and stripped down sounding, exactly what the man does best. Later tracks continue the trend, 'Don't Be Sad' and 'Under Your Breath' are notable, as is 'Easy Heart' with its rustic violin sound with effective harmonising from Carey once again.
As an album, 'Pneumonia' flows well although 'Mirror, Mirror' and 'Paper Moon' undoubtedly stand out as different. The Beatles-esque sound of the former and crooning Mediterranean sounding latter seem a little out of place but are effective songs in their own right.
Closing song 'Bar Lights' encompasses two of Adams' favourite lyrical topics, booze and women and marks an excellent finish to an excellent album (if you discount unlisted track 15).
Ultimately, if you like Ryan Adams it would be hard not to fall in love with this album. Whiskeytown were of course a band and all musicians must be credited for producing one of the finest 'alt-country' albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I say it's better than Gold - I mean literally!, 7 Nov 2003
By 
Neil (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pneumonia (Audio CD)
For any fan of Ryan Adams music, to be without this in your collection is tantamount to treason!
Possibley two of the finest Adams / Whiskeytown tracks include "Don't wanna know why" which is the most infectious and harmonious track going, with the brilliant "breathe in, breathe out.." refrain at the chorus, and "Bar Lights" a song with the most amazing rythmn and arrangement. Other reviews have alluded to the fact it is a grower, that's true, by the 3rd or 4th listen you'll set this album as the barometer to measure all others! PS. Best lyric ever on "Jacksonville Skyline..."I was born in an abundance of inherited sadness..." Absolutely first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ryan strikes early gold, 13 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pneumonia (Audio CD)
I decided to revisit this album because of the recent special edition re-release of what I consider the vastly inferior Strangers Almanac. Pneumonia was released three years after being recorded and Ryan Adams had already disbanded the group to begin his solo career. I have to say this is one of the strongest and most underrated collection of songs in his catalogue. It actually fits perfectly between Strangers Almanac and his first album as an individual,Heartbreaker. Most of the numbers here have a sharper focus than those on Almanac while several, with the miked-up-close vocals and distant backing tracks, would have fitted easily into Heartbreaker. The opening track, Ballad of Carol Lynn, is possibly the album's weakest moment. But from there things only get better.Don't Wanna Know Why is lovely and Jacksonville Skyline one of those effortless numbers with goosepimple-inducing chorus Ryan seems able to pull out at will. Other highlights include Don't Be Sad, Sit and Listen to the Rain, despite what the official Amazon reviewer may say,and Easy Hearts. Crazy Bout You is a two and half minute piece of throwaway pop genius while the closing Bar Lights is a good time romp about the joys of drinking, full of great hooks. There is the odd weak moment but, all in all , this is a terrific set and should be rated up there with Ryan's finest.Why this man is not a major superstar I'll never know. Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't Know Having Pneumonia Could Be This Good., 10 Feb 2007
By 
Michael Jones "Western Fan" (Honiton, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pneumonia (Audio CD)
This was Whiskeytown's final album before they went their seperate ways. Caitlyn Cary having some minor success whilst leadman Ryan Adams achieved more.

This album is produced by the ever brilliant Ethan Johns, who at the time of writing is enjoying major success with Ray LaMontagne.

The collection of songs featured here act almost as a test of the water for Adams' solo career really showing a range of different songs and vocal styles. The songwriting here is just brilliant too, most tracks are written by Ryan and third band member Mike Daly and to me the most outstanding of these has to be 'Under Your Breath,' a slow song with haunting melodies.

Other strong songs include 'Don't Wanna Know Why,' a country number that nods towards Ryan's more recent work with his new band The Cardinals. 'Don't Be Sad,' a real pop number and 'My Home Town,' a song that sounds like a stone cold 80's classic recorded by the likes of Dwight Yoakham.

That's not to say there are any dud tracks on this release and with each listen the lyrics become clearer and stronger. This is an album that i never tire of listening to.

It was sad to see Whiskeytown split up but at least they went out on a high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can Ryan Adams do any wrong?, 14 Jun 2001
By 
This review is from: Pneumonia (Audio CD)
This is another slice of wonderful alt.country from the inspirational Ryan Adams - picking up where Stranger's Almanac left off, it features some of the most fragile, gorgeous songs these ears have heard. Touching without being sentimental, sweet without being sickly, songs like Jacksonville Skyline tell us more about love and the human condition than most textbooks ever could - and Adams' gravelly croon holds it all together wonderfully. Check out his Cole Porter-inspired "Paper Moon" for proof that there's so much more where this came from. A must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ryan Adams, from boy to man, from heartache to heartbreak..., 30 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pneumonia (Audio CD)
Having seen Ryan live three times in the past six months, I reckon he is destined to become one of THE greatest songwriters of all time, of any genre. Pneumonia is a further example of a towering talent evolving. Underpinned by a bucketful of sadness, it touches the heart immediately. Riven with a dark melodic beauty, it is truly an album to haunt even the brighest summer days. This LP is great, "Heartbreaker" was greater still, his new solo opus ("Gold") due in the autumn will be one of the great LPs of all time. Mark my words. Ryan Adams, god-like genius and a poet for broken hearts everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pneumonia by Whiskeytown, 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: Pneumonia (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite cds.
Ryan Adams is an amazing vocalist and his lyrics can be so evocative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa218c174)

This product

Pneumonia
Pneumonia by Whiskeytown (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews