Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mactastic
So much talk over the years about Wings not being as good as you know who blah blah blah.. However if you like the Fabs(and who doesn't) then Wings are the next best thing.This is SO much better than it was given credit for in the 70s.Songs such as Uncle Albert have that quirky middle section Macca loved in Day in the Life & You never give me your money. Sure Mull of...
Published on 9 May 2001 by tim.green@investis.com

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Opportunity Missed
Who cares whether Wings were ever considered hip? The truth is they made a lot of excellent music,not necessarily the stuff heard regularly on the radio. The real fans will know where to look for it. Compilations can never hope to satisfy all the people all the time and this is no less true for Wingspan. We all want our own personal favourites on there. With a hits and...
Published on 11 Jun. 2011 by Doublecross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Mar. 2004
By 
Mr. J. A. Smith "thetoot" (Blackwell) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY (Audio CD)
From first to last this is a great record. Its also encouraging to think that there are several great tracks that could also have been on here to, but overall this is the best introduction to McCartney currently available, and sits well alongside Beatles compelations - which is praise indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remember Paul?, 14 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY (Audio CD)
So you thought the Beatles was all John Lennon. Think again!!! Hearing most of Wingspan makes us realise the worth of James Paul McCartney (I still cant get to call him Sir Paul -- it simply does not rock!!)Often rebutted for being sugary, syrupy and mushy, we tend to forget the true Paul. And Wingspan is a timely reminder. Listening to 'Maybe I'm Amazed' makes us realise how much Paul can do if he wants to. Carry on then to other gems like 'Jet','Live And Let Die' and the monumental 'Band On The Run' and there's enough proof (if ever it was needed) that the man CAN rock!!! McCartney the master craftsman is at his best here, producing work which matches those he did with the other Fabs. What makes this more significant however, is the fact that it allows him to come out of the shadows of John Lennon, something Paul has always had to contend with unfortunately. Wingspan is the ideal album for anyone who ever doubted the capability of Paul McCartney as a solo artist. I would have given it a perfect 5 had it not been for 'My Love' and 'Silly Love Songs'. But then some things never change...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY (Audio CD)
I am happy with the item and as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 23 Dec. 2005
By 
Kevan John Kite (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY (Audio CD)
For any true Wings fan this album is going to be a major let down.Sure, all the great songs are here, but they are also on 'Wings Greatest`and 'All the Best'. What McCartney is doing here is what I feel he has been doing for years, under-rating himself.There are many great album tracks missing from this release for example 'I'm Carrying`(London Town)'You Gave Me The Answer`(Venus and Mars) 'Arrow Through Me`(Back To The Egg) to name but three.Instead we have a number of tracks included here which were not even by Wings...What are they doing here!!! ( Pipes of Peace,No More Lonely Nights,Coming Up )Pre Wings stuff ok but come on, after 1980 was another chapter in McCartney history and should be treated as such on a future disc.There is no live material...Why?? 'Maybe I'm Amazed` or 'Hi Hi Hi` live surely should have been included in this type of package. There is no reference to the other band members, there is not one Denny Laine composition here and as this is supposed to be a calalogue of Wings material and not just McCartney surely "Time to Hide" from Speed of Sound deserved a place or Jimmy McCulloch's "Medinice Jar" from Venus and Mars.
McCartney seems to listen to the critics these days and here we have no less than 5 tracks from the McCartney album, once derided by the music critics for lacking invention and quality, now described as querky and wonderfully simplistic. However for McCartney I'm sure there are many fond memories in these tracks.

There is no invention or imagination here, even the the album package is a poor effort of a few photos of the different band line-ups.Don't get me wrong the songs are great,I just feel that this package could and should have been so much more.For the one off buyer you can't go wrong with this collection, but for the true fan with the back catalogue..there is nothing here.

Come on McCartney !! Wings was a great band be proud and play more Wings songs during your next tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Dec. 2014
By 
Robert S. Whitaker (Lakenheath,U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY (Audio CD)
Classics sounding better than ever!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunted by Linda, 8 May 2006
By 
R. A. Cross "busheyrd" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY (Audio CD)
The trouble with 'Best of' albums is that everybody thinks their choice of tracks would have been better; Wingspan is no exception. That said, and accepting the fact that you're never going to get a compilation from McCartney with all your favourites on it, there is one serious floor with this collection: Paul was still mourning Linda. What other reason can there be for the inclusion of the sweet but throwaway 'Lovely Linda' But at least that song is short, unlike the unisued demo 'Bip Bop/Hey Diddle'. A version of 'Bip Bop' appeared on the much derided 'Wings Wild Life'-'Hey Diddle' was never released, with good reason. There is so much that should have been there; for example the excellent 'Sally G', b side of 'Junior's Farm and a country hit in America. Instead we get the dreadful 'Man We was Lonely'. In spite of this, the album is pretty good value with its 40 tracks, and includes a few little gems such as the b.side 'Daytime Nightime Suffering',
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Collection!, 16 Dec. 2002
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY (Audio CD)
For those who had slightly written McCartney off for a few of his sillier 'pop' hits, one might want to take a listen to what may be his swan song collection. The big hits are here wether you like them or not, but the real treasures are packed in like his first great solo hit, "Another Day".
"Give Ireland Back To The Irish" was originally included in the first pressing, but deleted later due to a request from the friggin' Queen. Paul was knighted by her - so out of respect? Too bad.
Disc One sticks to the Top 40. Disc Two is a great surprise, giving up great songs album cuts like, "Heart Of The Country", "Back Seat Of My Car", "Too Many People" and the sultry, "Let Me Roll It". McCartney even publicly trashed his old ditty "Bip Bop", but it stands as a reminder to his simple craftsmanship. That of one half of the greatest songwriting team in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Post Beatles Paul and Wings., 27 Nov. 2012
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY (Audio CD)
All 4 Beatles had solo careers after the 1970 split, with varing success.
Ringo perhaps has produced the least, John had Imagine and others, George had All Things Must Pass and more, while Paul has made the most recordings.
The songs that really stand out to me are Maybe I/m Amazed, Jet, Live And Let Die and Band On The Run.
The remainder are not really for me, being somewhat light and sentimental in places.
However for fans this will be excellent and the booklet has many good photos to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WINGS - ONLY A LITTLE BIT BROKEN, 11 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY (Audio CD)
Macca was always going to have a very tough time following The Beatles. The criticism and scorn poured on his solo work and the music he made with Wings must have stung. Not until the magestic 'Band On The Run' album in 1973 did McCartney finally get to prove that there was life after the Fabs.
Wingspan collects together the singles and the best of the album tracks released between 1970 and 1980. Whilst the long players were often patchy and poorly realised affairs the singles sometimes bordered on genius - 'Maybe I'm Amazed' could have happily nestled on Abbey Road and held it's head high, 'My Love' is a lovely ballad (it's parent record 'Wild Life' is utter trite) and 'Live & Let Die' is an explosive and much loved Bond Theme. 'Jet' is a rocker worthy of Lennon and 'Band On The Run' is a clevery stiched together patchwork of three separate songs that was a deserved top 10 smash - and anyone who doesn't melt to the wistful melody of 'Back Seat Of My Car' must be tone deaf.
But for every 'Another Day' there is a 'Mary Had A Little Lamb' and banal MOR 'Silly Love Songs' (and a lot of other offenders).
In fairness when McCartney did experiment such as on the screaming 'Old Siam Sir' his singles barely charted.
So much like Wings themselves there is much to enjoy here but be prepared to keep your finger near that skip button. You get a lot of music for your money though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity, 1 Jan. 2009
By 
S. W. Ladd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY (Audio CD)
This 'Wings' compilation truly is an opportunity missed. I remember as an ardent fan in the mid-70s that a compilation was in the planning stages that was to be called 'Cold Cuts' or 'Colt Cuts' (depending on the source of the leaked info). It was to include many 'b' sides and live cuts plus songs that didn't make the final mix of various Wings albums. The Wingspan release is welcome but not essential for a true Wings afficianado.

It's a pity that such live tracks as 'The Mess'('b' side of My Love) and Coming Up were not included. The latter was featured on the U.S. version of 'All The Best' and performed by Wings (in Glasgow) as opposed to the studio cut which was a Macca solo effort.

There must be tapes of the 72/early 73 tour lying in the vaults plus even more material from 75/76 tours so let's hear them! They may not appeal to today's mass market up for we niche market 40 somethings they would be revelation. So come on Sir Paul please make your serious fanbase a lot of very Happy Bunnies in 2009!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY
Wingspan: HITS And HISTORY by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews