Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely inspiring performance
I had never heard of this film before I purchased it. I was not sure what to expect from this, would have to say I was more than pleasantly suprised. This movie is meant to be set in the 80's when the professional footballers went on strike and they had to get in REPLACEMENTS. Well this movie is truely a hidden gem. From the hiring of the chearleaders to where they get...
Published on 26 Jan 2005 by achapman20

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars quality movie bad buy
Doesn't work in ireland crap buy
Published 2 days ago by Aaron Ennis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely inspiring performance, 26 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Replacements [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I had never heard of this film before I purchased it. I was not sure what to expect from this, would have to say I was more than pleasantly suprised. This movie is meant to be set in the 80's when the professional footballers went on strike and they had to get in REPLACEMENTS. Well this movie is truely a hidden gem. From the hiring of the chearleaders to where they get the replacements from this will have yourself laughing from start to finish. The team building skills are a little unotherdox but works.
Buy this you will not regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely great, 19 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Replacements [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I bought this DVD not knowing much about it but as Keanu was in it I thought give it a go. It was great, I watched it 3 times straight off and several times since. Plenty of action, laughs, great music from Rolling Stones and more. I know nothing about American Football but you don't need to understand the rules or enjoy the game to love this. I have leant or promised it to several friends, this is a great feelgood movie and when the credits roll you will have an enormous smile on your face and probably press replay as I did. I would give it 6 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable American Football movie for all ages, 1 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Replacements [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is a typical American feelgood type film (apparently based on a real incident in the 1970s). It stars Keanu Reeves as a retired pro and Gene Hackman as a retired coach, both of whom are cajoled into action. Brooke Langton provides Keanu's love interest and Brits will recognise Rhys Ifans from "Notting Hill".
This film is good fun even if you've never seen American Football - you don't need to understand the rules to follow the plot. It appeals to all age groups (including my 80 year old father). The accompanying soundtrack is a mixture of 70s classics (Queen, Gary Glitter, Rolling Stones) and rap.
All-in-all, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mis-understood gem, 19 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. Ed "edsheadsaid" (Japan) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Replacements [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have no idea why this film went straight to video and DVD. The story of a group of down on their luck non-professional American Football players working bum jobs drafted in to replace striking players on a pro team is fantastic.
There is a real storyline and some truly hilarious moments. The group of characters involved is fantastic and it really comes across on screen. Its not very deep, but then its not supposed to be, its a feel good light-hearted comedy and it scores 10/10 on all counts. One of Keanu's best films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class American Football film, 29 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Replacements [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Have you ever wished that you had a second chance at becoming the sporting hero you always wanted to be!? Well these few men in the 'Replacements' had that chance. The film is about an american football team based in washington, and there top professional players going on strike because of there poor pay. Thats when old coach Jimmy McGinty (Gene Hackman)and flopped quarterback Shane Falco (Keanu Reeves) try and lead washington to the play-offs. This film is a great film with laughs,sport and a few good looking girls- a perfect blokes movie! This film may be a little unoriginal but does everything right. It has a good cast and doesn't concentrate wholely on American Football, as some other films do. A good alround film you could watch again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Total Package, 20 Nov 2002
By 
Neil McSorley (Camberley, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Replacements [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is absolutely superb from start to finish. The story line is not great but the rest of the film makes up for that. This is one of the best films that Keano Reeves has made since 'The Matrix'. Gene Hackman is also a great actor and shows his full colours in this typical american happy ending film. Full of laughs and comedy. Great for almost all of the family to watch. I laughed for three days after seeing that film for the first time. My favourite scene is 'jacking off an elephant scene'. A classic film that takes pride of place at the front of my DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pain heals, chicks dig scars, glory ... lasts forever., 26 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Replacements [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The Replacements is a wonderful, well made, feel-good movie. The storyline is simple, the humour is good and the action sequences are very authentic. Understanding the rules of American Football does help but not required as you'll still be on the edge of your seats as you watch Keanu lead his team of misfits onto glory.
The DVD contains the usual stuff you'd expect, Director commentary, 'The making of ...' and the Movie trailer. All in all, a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's hilarious even if you don't understand american footbal, 26 May 2001
This review is from: The Replacements [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I first saw this movie on a aeroplane back from florida. I didn't have any clue about how to play american football but this was still hilariously funny! I was bored out of my skull on the plane but when this came on it brightened up the journey no end. And for all the blokes out there it's not a movie about how fit Keanu looks - i don't like Keanu too much but i loved the film still! I'd suggest this movie to anyone who likes comedy(and/or fancies Keanu Reeves!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good all rounder, 15 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: The Replacements [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have watched a lot of american football films through the years. It is not a very well known film, but the cast is (which includes Keanu Reeves, Gene Hackman, Orlando Jones and Rhys Ifans). Keanu Reeves plays Shane Falco, a washed-out all-American QB who has the to guide a group of misfits as the pro's went on strike. Their goal is to make the playoffs and the road to it is full of mishaps, funnies etc etc, this film is not just for the American Football fans out there but ANYONE that likes a good all round film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would give it six stars if I could!, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Replacements [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I cannot tell you how much you need to see this film!
I am a non-sport playing/watching female and I loved it, it should never have gone straight to video, its a classic,
It is hilarious in parts, cheerleading try-outs & locker room scenes are some of my many favourite parts of this film, the romance side of it is played out perfectly,the charactors are believable and real, you really find yourself rooting for them all.
You dont need to have even the slightest understanding of American Football just an appreciation for a fantastic film.
I was beside myself when it came out on DVD (I had it originally on VHS)and have recommended it and lent it out on a fair few occasions now and I have yet to hear anything less that "Brilliant, loved it" from anyone how has seen it!

Watch it, its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Replacements [DVD] [2000]
The Replacements [DVD] [2000] by Howard Deutch (DVD - 2001)
14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews