Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Great Blu Ray Conversion
We all know it's a great film so instead of me going on about that or how average the cover looks(!), I'll talk about what you're spending the extra 's on, the Blu Ray conversion.... There have been a number of older films that have been put on to Blu Ray which, simply, have been very poor (see my review on Bullitt (another Warner title FYI)). The point of Blu Ray...
Published on 2 Jun 2008 by A. Flowers

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She called it shining (spoilers)
Stephen King has inspired two kinds of movie adaptations -- the ones that are brain-meltingly bad ("Dreamcatcher") and the ones that are considered quite good ("Misery," "The Shawshank Redemption").

"The Shining" is often considered to be the best adaptation of King's works ever, primarily because it was directed by Stanley...
Published 6 months ago by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Great Blu Ray Conversion, 2 Jun 2008
We all know it's a great film so instead of me going on about that or how average the cover looks(!), I'll talk about what you're spending the extra 's on, the Blu Ray conversion.... There have been a number of older films that have been put on to Blu Ray which, simply, have been very poor (see my review on Bullitt (another Warner title FYI)). The point of Blu Ray should be to showcase the very best in picture and audio quality that is currently available. Thankfully, this title has converted very well. The picture quality is exceptional, it makes a 28yr old film look very recent. Jack has never looked so maniacal! And again, the audio quality just brings a whole new experience to the film, adding an even darker edge than you were previously aware of.

I'd fully recommend the Blu Ray version of the film, top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of US Version which is longer : check running times before purchase, 13 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
After thirty two years, finally, I get to see my favourite film of all time on the silver screen. And, for the first time in Britain, it's the original 'Directors Cut' of "The Shining" that he released in the US. : To say that Kubrick was hampered is a fallacy, he repaced the film for a shorter running time and took 32 brutal minutes out for the European release, which only now has officially been seen in the UK.

Not that I haven't seen it. The Kubrick fan would have been stunned in 1993, when Central Television in the Midlands - where I was living at the time - broadcast, unannounced, the full 144 minute version of the film in the middle of the night. I was sat there at the time, goofing off in my summer holidays, jaw aghast at the new scenes I'd never seen before, that I never knew existed, that quickly became part of the fabric of my world.: no longer did the conversation end when Wendy entered the Ballroom, it carried on long past. No longer did the momentary confusion at the climax seem so brief, but became longer and more intricate. The whole film was richer and stronger and more luxariant, and it was only in 2001, with the advent of DVD, I managed to own a non-grainy, non off-air broadcast. The first DVD I bought was an unrated US import - and I bought a special hacked DVD player to watch it : a poorly transferred 4:3 DVD with the barest of transfer, and visible, noticable hairs, pops, and crackles on the print. And it still looked amazing.

Looking at the European version now, Kubricks cuts seem arbitrary, graceless, and obvious. Scenes where transitions, fades, and rich dialogue were paced are castrated. The dialogue cuts mid sentence. Introductions are removed, the discussion of Jack's alcoholism, Danny's invisible friend, dislocated shoulders, and small pieces of dialogue that removed plotholes are excised. The European version seems abrupt, rude even, and the hotel doesn't have quite so much menace : the luxurious toying the Hotel takes with the Torrances (it has all the time in the world, after all), is telescoped, and instead of a slow, vicious torture the Hotel seems to spend much less time getting to business.

Seeing it on the big screen allows me to see the film in a way I haven't seen it in twenty years. I was able to absorb the details, watch the backgrounds, see the film, and not just follow the plot and dialogue. I was following the movement between shots of ties, appearing and reappearing chairs, subtle visual clues ("EXIT" signs at incongruous places), paper refilling itself in the typewriter and changing colour, the bizarre, impossible geography, the reflections in the mirrors (and the absence of them), the way that parts of the building move in relation to each other ; for example the garden maze appears, reappears, the entrance moves nearer the building, the maze changes shape, and so forth. Despite protestations of the crew, I am fairly sure that Kubrick meant at least most of this.

"The Shining" is a blank canvas to some : to others a rich tapestry of complex, interweaving signals and meanings. To me, it a luxurious, epic horror film that presents a tale of, as Kubrick put it "One family going insane together", but also, and more than that, it is one of the finest horror films of all time, because it respects itself. It takes the genre, and turns it inside out, making the "Monster" so much more than a physical beast, exploring the darkness of the psyche with psychological disembowelment instead of mere physical dismemberment. It treats a horror film as a tale as worthy of being told, and as epic and carefully constructed as any obvious Oscarbait. The Characters are well sketched (albeit, not always well rounded), and the acting somewhat lacking in obvious hamming up : aside from Jack's possessed character, who is ham on toast with cheese, as he unravels. Even the obvious jump scares - the visions of murdered people, skeletons, and so on and so forth - are designed more to make the participants collapse than to scare the audience, as the hotel itself is terrorising and playing with the Torrences, in the same way that Kubrick is playing with the audience. Ultimately, it is, to me at least, the finest film I have seen ; one that pits ordinary people in an mundane environment against a foe that may not even exist and is so far beyond their comprehension that they only perceive it in the way that most people perceive a black hole ; by inference and guesswork. The true monster in the dark is all around them, utterly normal on the surface, and hidden within the walls, which is both themselves and to an extent within their own minds. The Hotel is never seen 'attacking' anyone explictly - even the shower room sequence is portrayed ambigiously as a dream vision which may, like Lloyd, like Grady, like the packed Gold Room and the unlocked door, be a projection inside Jack's mind. Pictures in a book, that's all it is. Pictures in a book. Or on a screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best it can look..., 6 July 2009
By 
Ross P. Hyland "ross_hyland" (Stanwell Tops, N.S.W. Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Assuming people are familiar with this classic film, this Blu ray transfer looks amazingly clean and fresh. Great to see older films look as good as if they were released yesterday.I much prefer this shorter directors cut (which was the original theatrical cut actually) rather than the much longer USA version that comes in at 144 minutes. I have owned the longer version but found it bloated and slow, with much reduced tension and momentum. The additional scenes would be interesting as bonus features but do not help the film at all.

This UK release of The Shining on Blu ray is the one to get.... and this shorter version was the director Stanley Kubrick's prefered version. If you've got an old dvd of this I think you'd be pleasently surprised at the difference on Blu ray. The bonus features are excellent too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different running times for R1 & R2 editions of THE SHINING, 31 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Shining [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
A note for the curious. Ever since the film was first released, THE SHINING has existed in multiple versions. The film originally ran for a little over 2h25 but a single scene in the epilogue to the film was cut by Kubrick after the opening week-end (never to be seen again). Thereafter, the film has existed in TWO distinct editions. The first is just under 2h25. It is available on R1 DVD and Video but has not (to my knowledge) ever been available in the UK on either video or DVD. The second edition is approx 1h50. It is the version released outside the US in cinemas in 1980 and is available on video and now on DVD.
The differences between the two versions are principally scenes deleted from the first half of the film although there appear to be some occasions when some shots in some scenes appear to have been re-edited using different camera angles. The majority of the deleted material either sets up in greater detail the situation or the characters or both. [This will explain why ANNE JACKSON appears on the opening credits of the 1h50 version whilst her character (a doctor who treats Danny after his first "shining" of the Overlook Hotel) does not appear at all. Her role was deleted in its entirety from the 2h25 version].
Why Kubrick made the changes (and it was Kubrick who made them), I do not know. Why there are two different versions available commercially (albeit in different marketplaces), I don't know. Should you want the 2h25 version, see Amazon.com in either their video or DVD sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She called it shining (spoilers), 24 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Shining [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Stephen King has inspired two kinds of movie adaptations -- the ones that are brain-meltingly bad ("Dreamcatcher") and the ones that are considered quite good ("Misery," "The Shawshank Redemption").

"The Shining" is often considered to be the best adaptation of King's works ever, primarily because it was directed by Stanley Kubrick. However... it's actually a pretty terrible adaptation. A very chilling horror movie -- if excessively slow for the first four-fifths -- but it has little in common with King's story. Also, a good man turning evil is less suspenseful when he's played by Jack Nicholson.

Teacher-turned-writer Jack Torrance (Jack Nicholson) accepts a job as the caretaker of the Overlook Hotel, a luxury mountain resort. He figures that since the Overlook is completely cut off by snowfall in the winter months, it would be the perfect time for him to get some writing done. His wife Wendy (Shelley Duvall) is eager to stay at the overlook. but his young son Danny (Danny Lloyd) is having premonitions about the Overlook.

Why? According to the chef Dick Hallorann (Scatman Crothers), he has the "shining," which is basically any psychic abilities that the plot should demand. Unless you're an African-American man, in which case they will go on the fritz just so you can die. Movie cliches must be maintained!

At first, the Torrance family seems to be enjoying themselves -- Jack has plenty of time to write, and Wendy and Danny are able to explore the giant hotel and hedge maze. But Danny keeps seeing disturbing visions of creepy twins, "redrum" and rivers of blood. And Jack is quickly falling into the sway of the Overlook, becoming more violent and vicious towards his wife and son...

One thing to keep in mind about "The Shining" is that... well, it's a TERRIBLE adaptation. Had this movie been made by Joe Director instead of the great Stanley Kubrick, it would probably have been despised for how much of the original novel was discarded -- in particular, how much of the supernatural elements were cut out completely... just so Kubrick could insert his OWN supernatural elements.

It feels like Kubrick liked a one-sentence summary of the movie ("Writer stays in a haunted hotel with his family, goes insane and tries to kill them"), but had contempt for the original story (presumably because it's mere pulp horror). This gives "The Shining" a peculiar unevennness -- some parts are pure King, others are pure Kubrick.

Taken purely on its own merits, "The Shining" is an excellent psychological thriller -- lots of icy, eerie atmosphere, with pale light and cold, echoing rooms. Kubrick fills every scene with a feeling of tension building just under the surface until it erupts into blood and screams. The story is rather slow-moving until the ax-swinging climax, but Torrance's legendary rampage is definitely worth seeing.

However, the casting of Jack Nicholson was a mistake. Jack Torrance starts as an ordinary man, but is slowly devoured from within by his demons and resentments. The problem is... Nicholson already looks evil. He ALWAYS looks evil. He is incapable of NOT looking evil. So when he is turned into a sinister cackling lunatic by the Overlook, it doesn't really feel like much has actually changed.

The rest of the cast is pretty solid, though -- Duvall gives a fluttering, weepy performance here, but she does give the impression that Wendy has some guts. Lloyd gives a decent performance as Danny, and Crothers is waaaaayyy underused as the kindly psychic chef... who inexplicably can't see Jack coming. I still don't understand that.

"The Shining" is a very good psychological thriller on its own, but ends up feeling uneven and weird because of the bizarrely unfaithful way it was adapted. Very creepy, but a really bad adaptation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Conversion, 28 Jan 2011
The conversion of this classic to HD is really great. Its a testimony to Kubriks attention to detail that the quality is so superb. I think the quality of the original film stock makes a huge difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 28 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Shining [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
i LOVE this film, it's definetely one of my favourites. The first time I watched it I didn't really find it scary, just strange. But after I'd read the book by Stephen King it was a lot more scary.
The film is actually nothing like the book really, but the atmosphere is and i think the actors are excellent.
My only complaint is the character of jack torrance. At the beginning of the book he is very devoted to his child and wife, but in the film i didn't really get that vibe, and he seemed mental from the beginning, and not as a result of the hotel.
BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Viewing, 23 Aug 2004
By 
Ian Reader "pat marryat" (Walmer, Kent, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shining [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
'The Shining' on DVD is essential viewing, not only because the film itself is one of the most beautifully shot horror classics of all time, but also because it comes accompanied by a wonderful documentary. 'The Making of The Shining' provides a rare insight into director Stanley Kubrick ('A Clockwork Orange') and also features actors Jack Nicholson and Shelley Duvall at work on set, both in and out of character. From this invaluable footage, you will learn to admire those who do the business behind the scenes and gain a good appreciation for what it takes to create a masterpiece.
As a movie, The Shining is thoroughly watchable from start to finish. Jack Nicholson steals the show as the ex-alcoholic, ex-teacher who is looking for solitude for a 'writing project', and the Overlook Hotel appears to be just what he is looking for as he pitches in as caretaker during the snowbound winter months. Joining him at the Overlook are his wife Wendy (Duvall) and his talented son Danny (Lloyd), whose special ability to 'shine' causes him to fear (and rightly so) the dark secrets of the hotels past.
With The Shining, director Stanley Kubrick has thankfully created an intellectual horror movie rather than merely played it for shocks. His superb pacing builds the tension up gradually, and with so many memorable scenes here, there is enough to make you return time and again, where you will always find something new.
I cannot recommend this film enough; if you haven't seen it, what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT CROPPED !!! please don't listen to reviews above !!, 9 May 2009
By 
M. Gomes "dannydj" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
1 - the UK cut is Kubrick's preferred cut, the longer US cut contained scenes SK inserted to make the story more understandable for the US audience - although any fan would own both.

2- this blu ray has not been reframed, in-fact this the first time that we are receiving it in its correct ratio. SK composed this film in 1.85:1, within the compositions there is a safety net protected 1.33:1 area which was intended for TV broadcasts this is the version that was on the previous DVD - so that is actually the cropped butchered print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and an amazing adaptation of Stephen King's epic, 29 Jun 2001
By A Customer
I have seen many of the adaptations of Stephen King's books but "The Shining" takes the biscuit, and this biscuit is chocolate covered! I read the book first and it had me quivering in my pants, and the film displays the same eerie carisma thanks to the amazing Stanley Kubrick and the talents of Jack Nicholson and Shelley Duvall. The beautiful but somewhat freaky setting in the Rockies brings true character to this orignal horror film, bringing light to the awe inspiring description of Stephen King. The ending of the film is truely brilliant thanks to the almighty freakiness of Jack Nicholson's insane Jack Torrance. Best bit - bathroom scene. Worst bit - before they enter the hotel (goes on for ages). Basically the film is............out of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shining [DVD] [1980]
The Shining [DVD] [1980] by Stanley Kubrick (DVD - 2001)
3.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews