Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful and great fun to watch.
I found this movie by chance whilst searching for movies by Julie Andrews. What a delightful and light hearted entertainment it turned out to be. This movie was well enjoyed by my family. The added bonus of having two of my favourite actors - Julie Andrews and Colin Firth was more than I could ask for. Colin Firth was at his most mischievous best and the ever lovely and...
Published on 16 Jan. 2006 by Uenna

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Relatively enjoyable
Inspite the cast, this is fairly slow going. It is competantly acted, but the whole film is lacking in something. Perfect for a Sunday afternoon for entertaining family members!
Published on 4 Aug. 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money!, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relative Values [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is so underrated, and definitely does not get the attention it deserves. It's a fabulously witty film with some of the best of British thrown in, guaranteed to make you laugh and smile, and maybe even cry. Exactly what a good film should be from start to finish!! Always will be one of my favuorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously funny! Very Noel Coward., 10 Mar. 2014
With a witty script, polished performances and typical Coward humour, this film is a joy from start to finish. Julie Andrews is perfect as the upper class mother, intent on breaking up her son's relationship with a Hollywood actress. The laughter continues from start to finish, without the need for smut, nudity or innuendo - something rare in many contemporary films. Pure class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not at all enjoyable, 22 July 2010
By 
C. P. Costouros (Athens) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relative Values [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is not a good film. The plot could, presumably, have made for a half-decent film if it was (a) scripted better, (b) directed better and (c) acted better. I did not find the lines of the characters funny even in the least and the acting felt strained and uncomfortable. I did not even laugh once and I really enjoy english movies and simply adore the english dialogue of the old 'upper class'. I ordered this DVD thiking of actors such as Colin Firth, Stephen Fry and Julie Andrews as a kind of guarantee against mediocrity but I was wrong. This film is boring, not funny at all, and particularly Julie Andrews is almost a caricature of her older, much better acting, self. I have already thrown it away so my advice is not to bother with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DAME JULIE ANDREWS, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relative Values [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
it was very nice to see Dame Julie in this movie wonderful actress and the work she's done she's a legend it's very funny and a I was in stiches of laughter good cast
Elizabeth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relative Values [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Absolutely enjoyed this film.
It had lost nothing in this modern adaptation of Noel Coward's play.
Brilliant acting from a stellar cast line up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, rather dated. Young Colin Firth for those who love him, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relative Values [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Very old film (mad in the early 90s?), now somewhat dated and a bit bring worthy. Very young Colin Firth. Bit like a classic English farce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok!, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relative Values [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Despite the number of good actors it wasn't very entertaining and I think I would have enjoyed watching a stage show of the story more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Relative values dvd, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relative Values [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Wasn't as good as I expected it to be given the well known actors in the film but the dvd arrived promptly & was in new condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light-hearted fun, 28 Jan. 2008
By 
C. O'Hare "Paris Writer" (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Relative Values [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have watched the DVD several times now. It's fun to watch Stephen Frye, Julie Andrews, a Baldwin, and others in this fun farce. You'll enjoy this movie if you want an uncomplicated evening of laughs. Frye is the best part of the movie, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars light entertainment, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relative Values [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I recommend this DVD for anyone who needs some light entertainment of a hard days work. For lovers of Noel Coward type of humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Relative Values [DVD] [2000]
Relative Values [DVD] [2000] by Eric Styles (DVD - 2002)
£19.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews