Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Blu Ray
It's easy to forget what a one-off work of genius this movie is. Think about it - a young David Lynch fresh off Eraserhead and bubbling with talent and creativity. A cast of the UKs finest actors - pre ham Anthony Hopkins, Johns Hurt and Geilgud, a wonderful turn by Freddie Jones. All shot by arguably the best cinematographer ever from these shores, Freddie Francis. Did I...
Published on 5 May 2011 by Now Zoltan

versus
10 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Joseph Merrick
This film could not have been further from the truth. Joseph Merrick was not depicted in any way true. He was a very wealthy man who made money from his deformities. He did indeed go into the workhouse but this was by choice as he was not intimidated about his deformity in there. He went abroad and made money on the continent. He did cover himself from head to foot in a...
Published on 9 May 2006 by Frances


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Blu Ray, 5 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's easy to forget what a one-off work of genius this movie is. Think about it - a young David Lynch fresh off Eraserhead and bubbling with talent and creativity. A cast of the UKs finest actors - pre ham Anthony Hopkins, Johns Hurt and Geilgud, a wonderful turn by Freddie Jones. All shot by arguably the best cinematographer ever from these shores, Freddie Francis. Did I mention Chris Tuckers makeup effects? It's a never to be repeated mix of talents and the resultant film is luminous, dark, tragic and unforgettable.
This blu ray is a revelation - the glistening, steamy Victorian world is even more vivid. This is a must have for all movie lovers, and the packaging is great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth shelling out for., 26 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. K. Arts "keirarts" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The tale of John merrick, crueley dubbed the elephant man is brought to the screen by genius/madman director David lynch in a film that was nominated for 8 oscars. I don't need to go deeper into any plot synopsis for this one, Amazon's gives you the gist suffice to say all these years on the film is still brilliant and well worth watching, even if your one of those strange people that hates black and white film. Some of Britains finest actors appear giving it their all including John gielgud Anthony hopkins and John Hurt as merrick himself in a performance that should have got him the oscar.
Older films can often be hit or miss on blu-ray, some like the omega man or close encounters can look fine others like evil dead 2 are not so good. Fortunately this one fits in the latter quality with hi-def bringing out all the details in the picture supurbly, ok some of the print grain also shows as this is the sharpest picture quality I have seen with the movie, the sound mix and general audio quality are also excellent. The extras on the disc, as with any lynch disc, are limited to interviews and on this a short documentary on the real elephant man but this is certainly better than previous bare bones releases and the packaging and book that come with it are excellent. I got this as an xmas present and was highly impressed and while it's certainly dearer than the standard dvd blu ray owning lynch fans and apreciaters of quality cinema could do a lot worse than treating themselves to this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film that everyone should watch and learn from, 16 July 2002
This review is from: The Elephant Man [DVD] (DVD)
'The Elephant Man' is a must-see film that tells the heart-wrenching tale of John Merrick, a man severely deformed by a rare disease.
The black-and-white picture brings you from joy, seeing Merrick slowly progress, with the help of Frederick Treves, a London doctor, to an intelligent member of society. The joy turns to despair in the depths of the film as we are forced to watch human society tear down this man of everything he is, just so they can have a cheap laugh.
It is an emotional masterpiece, a true story that deals with the depth of human acceptance and care for its fellow man. Beneath the skin, John Merrick was just as human, perhaps more, than any of the others - particularly those who were so blind as only to see him as a 'monster' without ever considering that he might be the same underneath as any of them.
If you want a film that asks serious moral questions and examines the human psych beautifully, then this is it. I would recommend it to any age. Let us just hope that humanity can learn from its past mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hurt into poetry, 18 April 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Elephant Man [DVD] (DVD)
John Hurt has been unforgettable in a number of roles, but never more so than in The Elephant Man. It is the one where he is unrecognisable, both facially and in voice, yet retains something of his essential self in spite of this, coming through in the gentleness of speech and the expression of the eyes of John Merrick, the central character in David Lynch's unique film. At times it is hard to watch, Lynch captures the cruelty of human nature so precisely and unflinchingly. I dread seeing the scene where the crowd bursts into his rooms and he is humiliated to a kind of grotesque waltz, and this tone continues for quite a time. Yet there is great kindness shown him as well, by Dr. Frederick Treves (Anthony Hopkins), an actress played by Anne Bancroft, and ultimately by the theatre-going public, in a very moving tribute to him. That goodness has the upper hand is perhaps suggested by the fact that the "owner"'s assistant, a young boy played by Dexter Fletcher - who a few years later would be so memorable in Jarman's Caravaggio - is the one who frees him at considerable risk to himself. This inclines towards the view that youthful innocence contains a degree of compassion before society coarsens it, although other children in the film contradict this. In the end it is unfathomable, although the theme of man's cruelty is certainly an important one. But it is also about the human spirit, and the value of gentleness, and how charity is the greatest virtue, as well as implying a comparison of the mores of different eras. All these things are sublimely brought out, culminating in the symbol of the model cathedral Merrick is building. The scene where he recites the 23rd psalm is one of the most revelatory in all cinema - a startling, unbearably moving moment. Hopkins and John Gielgud are very good, but the spirit of Merrick and his example of rising above the severest handicap are what make the deepest impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film about man's concept of beauty, 24 May 2000
By 
"The Elephant Man" is almost unbearably moving.It concerns the true story of John Merrick and the doctor who rescues and befriends him. Every aspect of this film is stunning - the acting (John Hurt as Merrick and Anthony Hopkins are particularly outstanding), the cast (including John Guilgud, Wendy Hiller, Freddie Jones ...), the photography and direction, the music. The final combination is a poetic tribute to the human spirit and a damning inditement of the cruelty mankind can inflict on those they perceive as different and deformed. It is an agonising film to watch but somehow afterwards, I felt uplifted, even though I had cried copiously from Trieves' first view of Merrick (a remarkable piece of acting by Hopkins) until after the video had finished rewinding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful film gets a new lease of life !, 15 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Elephant Man [DVD] (DVD)
This wonderful film about the life of the tragic John Merrick and the man who gave him shelter and love, Treves, should be compulsive viewing for everyone. It shows both man's inhumanity to other men as well as the compassion and care that is so often lacking in peoples lives. John Hurt's eyes and voice are still distinctive in a magnificent performance, even under the mass of make-up. Hopkins rates his own performance as one of the best of his career and the supporting cast are superb. With the film being shot in black and white and the locations often being dark and dingy this film lends itself to DVD media. The anamorphic picture is both sharp and well defined, the sound, although not Dolby 5.1, still brought out words and atmosphere I have never heard before and certainly highlighted the evocative music that I for one have always thought massively underrated. With this release, it gives us the definitive version of a classic film, I recommend this to anyone who has seen the film or currently owns it on video - no contest !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a unforgetable film., 23 Jan 2003
By 
A G SHARP (norfolk, england England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elephant Man [DVD] (DVD)
An emotional,heart thumping masterpiece everyone should enjoy and learn from. The elephant man has to be one of the greatest films ever made and really shows you that beauty is inside whatever state the outside is. Even i, a grown man, shed tears for the elephant man as he moved through his tormented yet beautiful life. Every happy moment he spends appreciating what he has got, being such a happy, polite and very positive man.
A must-see for everybody whatever race and gender in todays society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked masterpiece, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Elephant Man is a fantastic, underrated and very powerful film. I've always been fascinated with the true story of John Merrick, otherwise known as the Elephant Man. I can remember watching this at a young age and it always resonated with me, about the story of a deformed man who was ridiculed, mocked and beaten because he was seen as a creature and an outcast from everybody else, not realising that an individual's personality is not based on their appearance, but within themselves. This film portrays not only the worst of humanity, but also the best of humanity as a contrast is made when we see him being taken care of, loved and accepted by Mr. Treves amongst others in the hospital. Not only do I recommend this film highly because it's a fantastic film (with its direction, the performances from Anthony Hopkins and especially John Hurt as John Merrick, as well the emotional power of many scenes), but also because it's an important one, about reminding us never to judge what a person is like based on their appearance. It's a film that moves me every time I watch it, especially the scene at the end played against Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings, which is just perfect. It's not for the faint of heart, as it is unpleasant to see him mistreated by others and his owner, but if you allow the film to move you and to make you think, it is a brilliant film, so much so that it's actually in my top 5 favourite films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I Am A Human Being...", 10 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. B. A. D. Plowman "Brendan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"The Elephant Man" is without a doubt one of the most beautifully realised movies ever made. Every element is spot on, from the compassionate performances to the striking black and white cinematography.

I first saw this film as a floppy-haired schoolboy in the 1980's. It knocked me sideways back then, and on each subsequent viewing it has never failed to coax the tears from my eyes.

Briefly - It is the true tale of John Merrick, an astonishingly deformed man who was admitted to the Royal London Hospital in the 1880's. To say that he faced hardships is an understatement. He was fully exposed to the ugly prejudices of Victorian society. I will not reveal too many details, but his harsh treatment is presented here unflinchingly. If you have not seen this movie, experience it now and prepare for a heart-rending two hours that can be cherished again and again.

If you HAVE seen this movie, this special edition DVD is still well worth a purchase. It features a highly insightful documentary that presents life in Victorian London; the accuracy of the movie with regards to Merrick's life, and the book upon which this movie was based. Also featured on the disc is a great interview with John Hurt (who gave the performance of his career as Merrick). Finally, and most tantalisingly, there is a conversation with the enigmatic director David Lynch. Lynch discusses the development of the film in intricate detail, and his words are invaluable. It is rare that we get to see Lynch interviewed at all, being the elusive creature that he is...which makes this extra feature all the more vital!

So...a great DVD package all said and done. An absolutely stunning movie accompanied by wonderful extras. I bought this DVD when it was previously released in a basic format, but still I had no hesitation in snapping up this special edition. Some things are just too special to miss...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie, 21 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Elephant Man [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best movies I've ever seen. John Hurt as the Elephant Man is amazing; how the gentleness and humilily of his character come through with all that makeup is just astounding. The movie can be painful to watch and definitely produces a lot of tears for me, but it is also about the triumph of the human spirit, as well as the depths to which humans can sink. They have changed some facts about Merrick's life (apparently his life with the "freak show" wasn't so bad; he experienced kindness with many of those involved in that aspect, but all his money was stolen by a dishonest promoter in Europe). However, after reading a bit about Merrick's actual life, I don't think the movie is too far off concerning the pain and cruelty he experienced. A very affecting movie, that you will think about long afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elephant Man [DVD]
The Elephant Man [DVD] by David Lynch (DVD - 2001)
£12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews