Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP DRAWER GORE
A corpse. A syringe full of day-glo green re-animating fluid. And Herbert West. What could possibly go wrong...?

Plenty, if this wildly funny and extremely gory film is anything to go by. RE-ANIMATOR is a classic example of comedy and horror combining to shred the usual expectations by thrusting us headlong into altogether crazier dimensions - and that still...
Published on 9 May 2007 by Kelvin J. Dickinson

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good gore,not a world class movie
I remember watching this when i was about 14 years old and my dad watching it with me until he asked me to switch it off as he thought it was unsuitable for me,i did as i was told but woke early the next morning and watched it twice in a row,i loved it then,time passed and i saw it again recently for the first time since that time and now it just doesnt seem as cool as it...
Published on 19 Feb 2007 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP DRAWER GORE, 9 May 2007
By 
Kelvin J. Dickinson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A corpse. A syringe full of day-glo green re-animating fluid. And Herbert West. What could possibly go wrong...?

Plenty, if this wildly funny and extremely gory film is anything to go by. RE-ANIMATOR is a classic example of comedy and horror combining to shred the usual expectations by thrusting us headlong into altogether crazier dimensions - and that still applies now, 22 years after it first eviscerated onto our cinema screens. It sure still feels fresh to me, with evidence in almost every scene of the excitement and adrenaline that must have permeated the whole production at the time. (Not difficult either to imagine the producer and director donning their protective splash-suits and saying to each other on a daily basis: "go for it!").

I love the 'teaser' (pre-titles sequence), the titles themselves - including a wonderful musical nod to Hitchcock's PSYCHO - and the remaining 80-odd minutes. Yes, if you're in the right mood, there's not a single wrong-footed moment to spoil this show.

And what a show. Watch in slack-jawed amazement Herbert West's obsessive experiments to bring back to life that which has expired, including a distinctly pissed off cat. Stare in wide-eyed disbelief as a severed head plumbs depths hitherto unexplored by your average movie severed head. Pray in silent torment that the final re-animation of a central character justifies the whole catalogue of horror that has preceded this moment.

So why doesn't all this excess leave a nasty taste in the mouth? Because there's a directorial tongue firmly planted in everyone's cheek, that's why. Thank you STUART GORDON and BRIAN YUZNA. Oh, and if you're still not sure, check out JEFFREY COMBS'/HERBERT WEST'S delivery of the classic line: "Of course he's dead, the dosage was too large", it'll make your eyes pop out. And on that bombshell, I rest my surgical case.

Boasting some great packaging, a pristine picture and sound transfer, it's easy to say I wish there were more films like this, but something inside is glad it's a one-off. Forget the sequels, although you might consider FROM BEYOND. H.P. Lovecraft's RE-ANIMATOR has now been passed uncut by the BBFC, so buy it - and appreciate a truly great film from a decade of considerable dross.

BLOODY WELL RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the gore you could possibly want in one movie!, 3 July 2009
Re animator is one of the greatest horror movies of our time.It's about a scientist who comes up with a formula that can wake up the dead,but after an experiment goes horribly wrong,he has a real mess on his hands.

This is the UNCUT version of the movie and has all the extras you could possibly expect.If you have the opportunity to see it don't pass upon it you will laugh until you scream!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Heartily Recommend This German Blu-Ray Set!, 5 Mar 2014
Those of you from non-German territories, are probably wondering whether or not to pay-up for this set. All I can say, is, that you absolutely SHOULD do so immediately!

I won't explain the plot of the film, as you probably already know about that. What you want to know is whether this set is any good or not.

This set absolutely IS worth purchasing! And here's why...

Disc 1 - Blu-Ray Number 1, featuring the uncut Theatrical Version we all know and love. It's in 1080p, in Anamorphic Widescreen (1.85:1 ratio), and fully-uncensored, and it looks lovely. This disc contains all of the extras too. So, you get the 65-minute RE-ANIMATOR RESURRECTED documentary, several audio commentaries, deleted scenes, extended scenes, a featurette about Richard Band's score, and various other bits-and-bobs. The only ommission's I noticed from previous releases, are some of the picture/art slideshows, which don't appear in this German release at all. For completists, you may prefer to retain any of your older, DVD versions, should you enjoy these specific extras.

Disc 2 - Blu-Ray Number 2, featuring the Integral or Extended Version of the film, running to 1hr 44m in length. This version of the film has rarely been seen, and - as far as I know - has rarely been officially released, but it's a delight. The pacing is slower, and there's a lot more drama, with some additional sex and gore too, but as an Extended Director's Cut, it's very, very good. Again, presented here in 1080p, in a lovely-looking 1.85:1 Anamorphic Widescreen print. In fact, the film has been restored from 4K Scans of original materials, by a German movie company, in 2013, so this really is a delight to watch and behold! (The info, is right at the very end of the credits, if you want the exact and full details.)

Disc 3 - DVD, which ONLY features the standard Theatrical Version, and most of the extras from the First Blu-Ray disc.

A short, full-colour booklet is included, bound-in to the centre of the case, but alas (but obviously) it's all in German. It covers the film's creation, some short interviews with Stuart Gordon, and details of the film versions and some of the extras too.

This is a really nice, 3-Disc set, and whilst Amazon Spain sells a 5-Disc version (which omits the Extended Director's Cut), but does include the complete CD Soundtrack to the film, I think this German release is far superior.

What makes it even better, though, is this: also included, as a BONUS HIDDEN EXTRA, is the TV Version of the film, in a 4:3, non-letterboxed, full-frame format (so you'll get a square image in the middle of a Widescreen TV here).

This is NOT mentioned on the box, for obvious reasons, but it's a fun, additional extra. Running to just over 80 minutes, and rather ropey-looking and faded, it's still worth a look. To access it, just insert the 2nd Blu-Ray disc (with the Extended Version of the film on it). Select "Einstellungen" (Languages), then "Untertitel" (Subtitles), then "Aus" (Off), then Enter and the TV Version will start playing.

Each version of the film comes with fully-removeable German and/or English Subtitles, as well as a choice of Soundtracks: German DTS 7.1, English DTS 5.1, English Stereo and a music and effects only soundtrack option. All menu's are in German, but are pretty simple to decode. So, there really is no reason NOT to buy this set now!

Quite simply, you really owe it to yourself to buy this set if you love this film! This may well be the Definitive Version!

N.B. Please be aware, that you may be able to order it brand new, and cheaper, direct from Amazon Germany (www.amazon.de)! However, it is a Limited Edition set, and has technically sold-out. Still worth a look though, as I got it new for 26 Euros!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a version to have !!!, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. M. Balde "dvds fan" (london.uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Re-Animator (uncut) (DVD)
at last , l got in my possession this cult movie , to be honest l never think l will be able to get one day ! re-animator is one of thoses movies , since is release in dvd was really hard to get ( uncut version of course ! ) l bought the dvd 9 or 8 years ago at mhv megastore thinking : cool this version will be uncut , how wrong l was !!! this version was heavily cut to bit !!! since that day l try endless search on many different websites , but without success ! until one day l find it on amazon.co.uk ! conclusion : get is version , this is the one to have !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything but the mortuary sink., 28 Jan 2014
By 
Rich (The Frozen North) - See all my reviews
We all know the score with Re-Animator, one of the best wall to wall, fun gore movies of the 80's.

This expensive German blu-ray is the only release that offers the theatrical cut and the composite version that contains all the gore and deleted scenes (apart from the dream sequence) from the T.V. version in lovely HD.

Bringing the running time up to a whacking 104 mins this cut is much richer in characterisation and irons out a few narrative inconsistencies from the theatrical version. Any fan will have seen the scenes before on the many numerous releases but they work much better in the context of the whole movie and add a surprising amount of depth.

You also get a raggy copy of the censored T.V. version where the extra scenes originated as an easter egg.

Packaged in a beautiful media book with twenty pages of German only text and photos the set does look stunning and I doubt the movie will ever achieve a better presentation.

WARNING! This review appears on the Spanish five disc set page. That release does not contain the composite version.

I'm off to tryst with a bubble headed coed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't expect it to tango, it has a broken back", 31 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When Herbert West, a medical student who was working in Switzerland with the late Dr. Gruber, starts at the Miskatonic Medical School in Massachusetts, he is quickly introduced to a promising young student called Dan Cain and the world renowned brain surgeon Dr. Hill. Upon meeting Dr. Hill, West makes it very clear that he feels Dr. Hill's work is useless and outdated. Soon after his introduction, Herbert moves into Dan's spare room where he discovers that Dan is seeing the school Dean's daughter Megan. Megan seems instantly creeped out by West and his strange behaviour, and for good reason as it isn't long before Dan gets dragged into West's bizarre experiments aimed at reanimating the dead. The two break into the school and begin their experiments which accidentally leads to the death of Megan's father, soon after Dr. Hill discovers exactly what they've been upto and tries to steal their work, leading to a gory, grotesque and often hilarious battle between West and Hill.

Horror legend Jeffrey Combs is a joy to watch as Herbert West, he plays the role with such sinister relish that it's impossible not to like him. A lot of the films comedy comes from how straight Combs plays the role, and along with From Beyond, Castle Freak and The Frighteners, this is his best work. The other real standout performance comes from the late David Gale as Dr. Carl Hill, Herbert West's nemesis. He died aged just 54 and I haven't seen anything else he made apart from the sequel, a shame he appeared in so little as he's wonderful in Re-Animator. Barbara Crampton is very pretty and played her role as Megan well, she later teamed up again with Combs in Castle Freak. Bruce Abbot and Robert Sampson round off the main cast as Dan Cain and the Dean Alan Halsey, but Combs and Gale are what make this film so endlessly enjoyable. I love the direction from Stuart Gordon and i'm sure the actors loved it too, this was his first proper film and to this day it's his best. He quickly followed it up a few years later with the excellent From Beyond and Dolls, after the 80's his films have been a little bit more hit and miss, but Fortress, Castle Freak, Dagon and Stuck are all very watchable. Re-Animator virtually steals Bernard Herrmann's fantastic Psycho score, but it fits the film so well that I can't imagine the film without it. There's some nudity, and lots and lots of over the top gratuitous gore. The effects and gore are brilliant considering this 1985 classic was made for under $1,000,000, it's probably the bloodiest over the top film i've seen along with Evil Dead 2 and Braindead.

This 2 disc special edition is packed with extras, especially when compared to the near barebones dvd I owned previously. On disc 1 there's what appears to be a cleaned up version of the film as it looks better than my old copy, there's a commentary from director Stuart Gordon and a second commentary from producer Brian Yuzna (later a director himself and director of the sequels), and actors Jeffrey Combs, Bruce Abbott, Barbara Crampton and Robert Sampson. Of course it would have been even better with David Gale. Disc 2 is just as good, a brilliant 70 minute making of, interviews with Stuart Gordon and Brian Yuzna, further interviews with writer Dennis Paoli, composer Richard Band and Fangoria editor Tony Timpone. A music discussion with Richard Band, deleted scenes, extended scenes, trailer, tv spots, production stills gallery, behind the scenes still gallery, fun on the set gallery, posters and advertising gallery, storyboard gallery, Stuart Gordon biography, the screenplay and finally Herbert West, Reanimator by H.P. Lovecraft from which the film is based. It's a great dvd and what all special editions should be like, check out the Poltergeist "special edition" to see how little is on some. Considering how much is on the discs, it seems crazy that there's no subtitles which would obviously be a big problem for some.

Re-Animator is a great film and now has a great special edition, one of the best horror comedies ever made and if you're not too squeamish and aren't bothered by the perverted, gratuitous tone, you should love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLEAR!!..BUMPH!!..wobble.., 27 Sep 2010
By 
L. A. Prince - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loves Re-Animator [1985] [DVD].The look of the revived corpses is quite disgusting and according to a friend,who said he seen a dead person once,very realistic.The actors are all very engaging and Jeffrey Combs is fantastic as the overly ambitious Re-animator..I'm sure we all know that Barbara Crampton as the beguiling Megan Halsey has her knockers-and if I believed in god-I'd thank him for 'em too!She is a total 80's scream queen sexpot..in my youth I nearly fell in love with her.The gore is fantatic too...eyeballs pop,heads are severed and some guts burst out.This movie has it all if you like to see nudie 'dead' folks..especially this big-piece who pegs it and Dean gets those electric paddle things on her to start her heart up-CLEAR!!BUMPH!(wobble)FANTASTIC!Stuart Gordons finest hour in my opinion..but if you need more Barbara Crampton get From Beyond too..phwoar...Jeffrey Combs is a jammy git!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I gave them Life...", 27 Jan 2010
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Often with B movies & horror movies of old (e.g. Nosferatu), the film fails to hit the right notes. Either the horror is dated & corny or the director has flashes of genius, but no consistency.

Thankfully this is not true with this film. Starring the guy who played 'Weyoun' in Star Trek - Deep Space Nine, the film has that unnerving quality & goriness that makes truly great horror. Jeffrey Combs' character grips you from his very first line (the title of this review) & his weirdness is never too extreme, staying within the realm of the understandable (just...)

Furthermore there are also the other actors/ actresses who are convincing and never have any 'B-movie moments' (when you can tell they're reading a script!) Unusually for this type of film, you actually become interested in the plot as all the performances are fleshed out & deep, which is not true of say The Evil Dead (great film though it is).

About the goriness, I felt this movie hit the nail on the head. The gore is not sparse & timid, but nor is it an overdose or 'the gore, the merrier'. Each bit of squeamishness is used efficiently, but not overplayed & this is refreshing from an era of 'video-nasties' that tended toward cliched over-emphasis.

I can honestly think of little to criticise in this film. There are the odd bits that strain credulity (e.g. the baddie not losing his mind when resurrected) & there is little music (except the intro/outro song, which is compelling).

And since I can find little to criticize in this film, I have no hesitation in recommending it to horror fans everywhere.
Of course, you should bear in mind that it is horror (not suitable for young-ones or women who don't like scary films) & there are some nude scenes. You should also read some of the other reviews (for balance).
However, I can honestly say there is nothing I have found in my searches that would stop me endorsing this as a truly great horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same Old..But Classic, 26 Dec 2009
By 
J. Briggs (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this because it is uncut. However, I noticed no extra content from my old VHS copy from 15 years ago.

However, having said that, the film is an absolute hoot and the extra content is great.

I strongly recommend this to anyone who loves horror and that guilty feeling you get when you laugh at something then realise you shouldn't be laughing at the situations the characters find themselves in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Funny, 17 July 2009
By 
Murat Beldek (Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Stuart Gordon's horror comedy Re-Animator is a must have for all horror comedy fans. If you're a fan of movies like Shaun of the Dead or Braindead you're definitely gonna love Re-Animator. Thank you Amazon.co.uk for the awesome price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6bf96b4)

This product

Re-Animator [DVD] [1985]
Re-Animator [DVD] [1985] by Stuart Gordon (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: 7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews