Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars18
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:£32.96+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2001
X-Wing was one of those "Must buy" games when it was released way back in the darkness of the early nineties. It was like nothing anyone had ever experienced before, intense space combat on a grand scale. It was instantly a classic. It was followed up by an even better game, Tie Fighter changed some of our lives forever. Playing for the bad guys actually made for a better game, It was crisp and smooth. It still grips many people today. This special edition did for these games which XvT failed to do, Single player combat with graphics to match. It wasn't just an update, it was completely different game. If there any fans of these original games out there then I heartilly recommend this title. Stop struggling with stack overflow errors, sit back and enjoy crisp 3-D graphics on a stable platform designed for Win 95/98. At only 14 quid, this is a must.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2002
Wow. If, like me, you enjoyed and own the original X-Wing and Tie Fighter games you may be wondering why it is necessary to buy X-Wing Alliance. The short answer is "multiplayer". Yes I know there was X-wing Vs Tie Fighter but Lucasarts have improved on the main game engine since X-Wing Vs Tie Fighter and it wasn't really a complete game in any case. The single player missions in X-Wing Alliance are great fun to play... but there is nothing like taking your friends to task with the aid of a quad-linked laser blast. Everyone who enjoyed any of the others in the X-Wing series, or anyone else for that matter, will find this enjoyable as a one player game. To truly appreciate how good this game is though, I recommend a joystick (trust me, its worth the expense if you don't already have one) and some friends. Its so good its just rude.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2003
The pinnacle of the brilliant X-Wing/Tie Fighter series, Alliance is almost perfect, but not quite.
There are a great number of missions in the game itself and some of them tie superbly into the storyline and expanded universe novels such as Shadows of the Empire.
Occasionaly a mission that has already taken an age to play will have to be redone due to no fault of your own, and it is sometimes confusing when the rest of the fleet hyperspace to a new battle zone leaving to flap about not knowing where to go, but for the most part it's hugely enjoyable.
The game is split into family-based missions (you are a member of a family wronged by business rivals) and Alliance missions, which are by far the more compelling.
The climax of the game should have been the Battle of Endor assault, but this is where things get disappointing. It is wonderful battling so many TIE fighter's, but the shambolic run to the Death Star main reactor is a total pain, with some of the rooms you pass alomost impossible to find a way out of.
The family missions are left at a giant cliff-hanger and once the Death Star is blown up, there is no end sequence as such to let you know it's game over. I had to look on the internet to confirm I had done everything.
Still, until then it's great and in the combat simulator you can set up your own missions and fly in any fighter craft in the game which should, in theory, offer unending possibilities.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2000
This pack has something for every one. X-wing and TIE fighter (considered by many the best in the 4 titles) provide an 2 excelllant singal player campaigms with good plots powering them (it even provides back ground to some books, like the history of Grand Admiral Thrawn). X wing Vs TIE fighter is a brilliant Multiplayer ex[eriance, although it has only a few 'plotless' one player missions. The graphics have been enhanced from the orignal release, and the control systems have been updated. The graphics in Alliance are better, although at £14 this is a real bargin.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2001
Star Wars X-Wing Alliance is an incredible flying experience. Fight your way through over 50 ,yes 50, missions each one harder than the last. You start as a simple trader family but when the empire attacks you are forced to join the rebellion where you must strike out against all the empire until you are told that a second Death Star has been constructed. There is also the amazing skirmish mode that lets you create your own battles chose out of littrally dozens of your favorite Star Wars vehicles and do battle with any Star Wars vehicle minus the death stars. I would certainly recomend this for any person whether or not they are a Star Wars fan as there is so much to do. It is definitely worth five stars!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2002
I have had this game for a while now, and it is still among my favourite games of all time.
The graphics are excellent, and the AI of the enemy ships seem to be pretty good.
For the ultimate experience though, you will want to play against real people over the internet, where you can make a completely customised multiplayer game with 2-8 teams and 16 flight groups. Although trying to give comands to your wingmates is a little tricky while you are flying.
Sheild and Laser canon recharge rates can be modified easily and if you find yourself needing to make a quick getaway, you can simply cancel both to give your engines that extra boost.
The only thing I don't like about it is the fact that they still have the incorrect Super Star Destroyer length of about 8km, when it is actually 17.5km in length, but now I'm just nit-picking.
A truly great game, and one that I will continue to play over again for years to come.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2001
The single player aspect of this game is real good. Will take even the most hardened gamer a couple of weeks of intensive gaiming to complete on Hard. This game really comes into its own when played online. It will take a while to get used to the different tactics needed to beat Human opponents but it is worth the effort. As a single player game its good. As a multiplayer game its Excellent. My favorite online Space Combat Sim!!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2009
Particularly TIE Fighter is still a great game, the graphics are at 640x480 of course out-dated but you shouldn't really notice after some time.
Unfortunately the difficulty of the missions varies greatly from one to the next, some are trivial (you can almost just sit around and wait for 15 minutes and win), some seem impossible without cheating (easily done at any time during the game, but costs you points). Most of the time it is fine though.
For my copy, the labelling on the CDs are swapped though, so better look at the CD name shown e.g. by Windows Explorer to avoid confusion. I inserted the disk labeled "TIE Fighter" and was perplexed to only be offered to install "X-Wing" or "X-Wing vs. TIE Fighter Flight School". Inserting the CD labeled "X-Wing" solved the issue and let me install TIE Fighter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2002
The first several missions are largely tedious affairs with little-known craft that have the manouverability of a cow. However, persevere with it and you'll suddenly find yourself in one of the best space flight sim games out there, second perhaps only to freespace 2. With all the craft you know and love and more, and the ability to take on the death star, this is a star wars fan's dream. Even if it weren't star wars, it'd still be a superb game. What sets it apart especially is the ability to make your own missions (or set up a HUGE skirmish if you like) not only for use over a network, but for single player fun as well using practically every ship in the game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2001
If you want fast furious action in all your favorite Star Wars crafts then look no furter than X-Wing: Alliance. If you want to take on the might of a Super Star Destroyer or just to get into some dogfights with loads of pesky TIE's then X-Wing: Alliance is for you! Plus fight in over 30 missions including the famous Battle of Endor where you must destroy the Death Star II.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)