Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing.
First of all, if you don't like to tinker around, then don't buy this game if you're running Windows XP or 2000. Second of all, download the patch! You'll probably need it eventually. Thirdly, excuse all spelling mistakes in this so-called review ;)
Okay then. Grim Fandango is an adventure game, and it's the first adventure game to make the step up to 3D for...
Published on 6 Jan 2003 by J. P. Ellison

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Son had to have
My son saw this in one of his on-line groups and it looked like 'fun'. He most definitely enjoyed it immensely - um - for a week or so, but that's just teenagers for you.
Good value as a cheap game...
Published 4 months ago by Fraggle


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing., 6 Jan 2003
By 
J. P. Ellison "jpellison" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grim Fandango - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
First of all, if you don't like to tinker around, then don't buy this game if you're running Windows XP or 2000. Second of all, download the patch! You'll probably need it eventually. Thirdly, excuse all spelling mistakes in this so-called review ;)
Okay then. Grim Fandango is an adventure game, and it's the first adventure game to make the step up to 3D for LucasArts (The finest adventure game company since... ever). Some people complained at this, but these people are just plain boring. The game is superb.
You play Manny, a travel agent, so to speak. Only he's a different kind of travel agent. He's dead. He's kind of a Grim Reaper. You see, when you die, you have to cross through the land of the dead to make it to the 9th Underworld (Heaven). Now, if you've been good, you get a decent form of transport to take you there, but generally, people aren't good. The agency that Manny works at is heavily corrupted, and a story begins to uncoil itself and lay about on your PC screen, just waiting to be tickled.
The atmosphere is spectualur, very Film Nóir (As Movie students would say, although they're probably cursing me now for saying that they would say that). Everyone has cigarettes (Hey, they're dead), and the music is extremely groovy jazz. The voice acting is superb, and the range of characters that you meet is spectacular, including the fantastically obese half-wit demon Glottis, your Chaffeur, so to speak. Plays a mean piano too. This isn't an Indiana Jones affair either. Everyone has a sense of humour, a dry wit, a wet wit, and a knack of humiliating themselves, or at least someone else, be it intentional or not. Mr Tim Schafer, the (main) guy behind it, is hilarious, and it shows.
On to the gameplay. The puzzles in Grim Fandango are just as good as ever - No, better. You'll be frustrated when you realise how obvious everything really was. There's nothing too elaborate here, everythings logical and makes perfect sense. The only problem is that you might get lost in the vast cities, but, they're not really that vast, there's no repeating scenery, so don't worry too much. It's nice to have a look around, see the festival, discover the secret undergr... I'll shut up.
Schafer has pulled off a cracker here, probably the greatest adventure game yet - At least in sheer terms of atmosphere. I love it to pieces, and I'm currently trying to twiddle it to work in 2000. :(
Buy it, Buy it, Buy it. Buy It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 27 Sep 2001
By 
Mr. K. Lutener "Lorfarius" (Glossop, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grim Fandango - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Every once in a while, a game comes along which forces the game's industry to review just how good a game should be made. Grim Fandango completely redefines the graphic adventure genre and still manages to add that little bit extra. The game borrows quite heavily from the Film Noir period, with its quick and snappy one liners, dark alleyways, bars and labyrinth like plot.
Set in the the Land of the Dead you play the role of Manny Calavera, a Grim Reaper/travel agent who reaps the souls of the recently departed and ushers them on to a four year journey to eternal rest. However, things have not been going to well for Manny lately and he has found himself falling behind his 'sales' quotas. Meanwhile Manny's main rival, Domino Hurley, seems to be getting all the praise and choice souls. It is your job to help Manny out of this 'sales rut' and find out what the connection is between Domino and Manny's boss, Don Copal.
The difference between Grim and graphic adventure's of old is that Manny is now the interface instead of an action bar on part of the screen, for example when Manny walks past an item of interest his head turns to look in that direction. By pressing the relevant key, Manny will make a comment or pick the item up. Grim does away with the old inventory bar as Manny's jacket now acts as the inventory and any items you pick up are accessible within.
Grim's fantastic locale art is inspired by ancient Aztec history that can be seen to effect throughout the 100 game locations. Each location has it's own musical score which has the upbeat of Jazz and Swing-Era Bebop, my personal favorite being the score outside the nightclub in Rubacava.
Grim is considerably large with puzzles that will keep even the most ardent gamer occupied with a period of roughly 30 hours to complete. A truly magnificent game, worthy of space in anybody's game collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Adventure Ever. Full stop., 28 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Grim Fandango - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Where do I start? This game has absolutely everything. You start off as one Manuel Calavera working as a 'Travel Agent' in the DOD (Department of Death) selling tickets to the ninth underworld. You can smell that something is up, and from there, you start the best adventure of your life.
The graphics are supherb, each pre-rendered painstakingly by hand. The cast of characters is humongous, and each one has a different personality. You end up actually caring for the characters who are portayed by Oscar worthy voice actors. The musical score had me reaching for new superlatives. They are simply the most toe-tappingly wonderful songs ever heard in a game. The all important story unfurls expertly, and is the stuff that Hollywood script writers would be proud of.
Atmosphere-wise, Grim Fandango is a dark, brooding game, but still manages to jam in some of funny dialogue that is good enough to challenge even the Monkey Island series. It does play like a 1950's noir film, and is all the better for that fact.
The whole game is enormous. It could take a casual gamer as long as a month to complete, which is totally unheard of for an adventure game. This is easily the greatest adventure game ever. Don't even think about letting this one pass you by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential game; An amazing story, beautiful sets, memorable characters and the best script around, 15 Jan 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grim Fandango - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This will be the swansong of Lucasarts adventure games and sadly the one that would make a fitting tombstone for the genre. I was a fan of Lucasarts adventure games since Monkey Island II debuted with AdLib sound on my SoundBlaster soundcard and 256 colors on my VGA monitor (and I remember making the brash statement "Where are they gonna go from there? It's real!").

And then came Full Throttle which became my favorite game for a long time and then game designer Tim Schaffer gave us this, Grim Fandango, a beautifully scripted game with breathtaking art and the most memorable characters to date. This one is up there with Planescape Torment as my favorite game.

What really makes it or breaks it for me is always the story and Grim Fandango plays the noir genre like a trumpet in the hands of Miles Davis. A mish mash of Casablanca, the Maltese Falcon, Chinatown and a host of other movies, Schaffer sets his adventure in the Land of the Dead. Almost every character remains emblazoned into my mind to this day, whether it is our jack-of-all-trades, bony protagonist; Manny or Schaffer's love for hotrods personified; Glottis, down to the supporting cast of mini-demons who work on the afterlife's cablecars or Salvadore Limones, the revolutionary with a penchant for dead carrier pigeons. To this day I catch myself thinking of catchphrases spouted by these characters and give it a wee chuckle knowing very few people in the world would know what I'm talking about. You can tell that Schaffer enjoys his job as every character has reams of script lines they can go through. This game isn't for those who like to finish games, but rather for those who enjoy them. Take it slow and just speak to everyone and use everything on everything.

Graphically I would contend that this game hasn't suffered the passage of time one bit. The Lucasarts team wisely spun the basic 3D graphics of the foreground characters into a particular style that gives this game it's age-defying factor. Every environment is painstakingly designed with art deco motifs for the urban sprawl to the creeping art nouveau for the decadent underworld of casinos and crime where the dead spend the last days of their lives. The music is suitably schnazzy and creates a beautiful ambience in the background that keeps the graphics sizzling at a cool but temperate pace.

You will follow Manny as he quests to redeem himself in the Land of the Dead. Schaffer manages to keep the laughs coming and then pull the blinds down to create dark spots where you get sucked into the poignancy of the scenes. I would say that Schaffer's games always have great endings and Fandango reigns supreme. As in the flaming carrierplane with severed wings chase and cliffhanger at the end of Full Throttle, Fandango's ending is majestic, sad and beautiful.

So, before we all shuffle off this mortal coil to an afterlife that will probably be a lot less stylish and a lot more boring, give this one a spin. Do it now because Manny says : You can't hide from the Grim Reaper. Especially when he's got a gun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the wittyest game ever, 23 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Grim Fandango - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
i found the funny dialouge fun and it makes you smile when manny who must be complete cynic come out with the things he does. my advice, try to pick up characters and see mannys reaction. through some bits were rather hard and a little fustrating (especially the bit in the lift where you have to drive a forklift) i relly recomend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anything BUT Grim -, 21 Feb 2007
By 
Grumbleguts (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grim Fandango - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This is a game I replay every so often - for the sheer delight of the humour - the story - the graphics.

It's faultless in my book - and I've been pointing and clicking for years!

Therein lies the disatisfaction for some gamers with this game.

It isn't point and click - the controls are keyboard.

If you have played Simon the Sorceror 3, you will have experienced these sorts of controls.

Nonetheless - within about 5 minutes I'd forgotten about the mouse.

The controls quickly became second nature and I got lost in the game.

Go on - persevere with the keyboard for 5 minutes - you know you want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Game, 15 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Grim Fandango - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Grim Fandango- One of the greatest and most underrated games of all time. The defining game of the point-and-click era and the most unique and engrossing adventure game I have ever played. Despite it's age, grim fandango still doesn't seem dated, because it's reasons for being so great aren't state of the art graphics, but a fantastic storyline, unique settings, memorable characters and laugh-out-loud humour throughout that no other game has achieved. I recommend this game to EVERYONE. It's like no game you'll have ever played before, and it's a game that you'll never forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic - Nothing less, 22 Sep 2005
This review is from: Grim Fandango - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Not just one of the greatest games of all time but one of the greatest stories ever told. It's very rare that games maintain their timeless quality, with graphics getting sharper and discs holding more information allowing more epic scope to their plots. However, there are a few games that, no matter how old, one year or ten years, they maintain their quality and value.

'Grim Fandango' is one of those rare games.

The hand drawn (pre-rendered graphics) work perfectly to keeping the correct atmosphere throughout (Rubecava remains one of the most inspirational locations of any game - taking us back to the clubs and casinos of 1920's America), accompanied by the fantastic musical scores throughout.

However, this is nothing without a good plot, and this is where Fandango delivers further than most other games. Manny, a greedy, non-sentimental man (or skeleton), is stuck in the `land of the dead', a void between the real world and the `land of eternal rest' with the job allowing other, more worthy, members of the dead to their rites of passage to the land of eternal rest.

Finding an opportunity to leave his job, he accidentally sends the saint, Miss Meche Colovard, out on her feet to face a long travel of uncertain peril, losing his job and possibly soon his [after]life as well.

Seeking redemption by facing the same perils to find and save Colovard, and to reach his own paradise, Manny gets caught in the middle of a plot that could send the most evil members of the undead to the eternal rest they've never deserved.

Characters are enchanting and almost all indisputably likable. Their styles and animations are simple yet irrepressibly lovable. It reaches between post modern and mythical. Neither demanding attention with outrageous Monty Python acting or patronising downbeat monotone, it just works at creating a serious yet witty tone throughout. Many have their own stories and philosophies to tell and every voice actor putting out a standout job.

The game also has a fantastic sense of humour, just right so that whether the game is played by a seven-year-old or by a someone fifty odd, the humour is playful yet sophisticated to impress whatever age.

Controls are not point and click but by either by keyboard or gamepad. This is possibly the only remote fault in the game, as it provides some getting used to for fans of the point and click genre not used to more action/ platform adventures.

Locations are detailed with one of the most stylistic, most sophisticated and unique representations ever. 1920's America meets Aztec would be the best way to describe but seeing is believing! The places you go range from a 20s New York to the paradise port town Rubecava to snowy plains.

The soundtrack is one of the best I've heard. It deserves an entire review of its own. Consisting of mainly Jazz & blues with various hints and influences of traditional Russian or Celtic, Mexican/ Spanish culture and the like.

Puzzles in this game are one of the very rare that had me not wanting to use a guide. Although some can be monstrous at times (although I'm not the best adventure gamer, admittedly) it allowed me to search high and low on the game, speak to as many people and spend more time embracing the game.

The conclusion, if you have a PC then there is absolutely no reason for you not to have this game. Because as games such as 'Grand Theft Auto' and 'Halo' are fun for the moment, 'Grim fandango' will remain in your nostalgic mind forever and will keep you coming back again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grim Fandango is AMAZING, 1 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Grim Fandango - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Grim Fandango, for me, was one of those games that just crept onto the shelves without many people even batting an eyelid. It's a bit of a shame then, since this is without a doubt, going to go down as one of the best games ever. A beautiful game if ever there was one, with a fine plot and delicious graphics. The dialogue is something I reckon you'll treasure, and I've often found myself repeating some of the classic lines in the 'real world'.
Some of the puzzles I have to admit are a little obscure and a bit off-putting at times, but don't let that put you off playing through this fine title.
Finally, a word of warning, and a kind of spoiler:
The 'lift' puzzle has an irritating bug in it which I've found it impossible to complete on computers over 500MHz in speed because the lift travels too fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games I have ever had, 15 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Grim Fandango - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This is the best game ever,as good as the Sims. Manny Calavera is a hilarious character who lives in the land of the dead, and finds lost souls to give them a travel package. But all sorts of funny and exciting things happen. I was so upset when the game ended. I have a good mind to write to the creaters and ask them to bring out a Grim Fandango 2. This game is everyone's favourite; go on, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grim Fandango - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD)
Used & New from: 11.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews