Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Age of Lucasarts Adventures
Without a doubt one of the best ever adventure games created along with Grim Fandango. Curse of Monkey Island was the first adventure game I ever played and it got me hooked straight away. It was so good that it made me expand my library to include almost all of Lucasarts adventure titles. It definitely has the best interface out of all Lucasarts games with the classic...
Published on 10 July 2005 by cdeknock

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far too easy
This game, however funny it is, is far too easy to finish. The idea with a point and click game is that you have to try hard for weeks if not months of game play to complete. That is where this game fails to deliver (even on the hard setting)
Published on 13 Jun. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Age of Lucasarts Adventures, 10 July 2005
This review is from: The Curse of Monkey Island - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (Video Game)
Without a doubt one of the best ever adventure games created along with Grim Fandango. Curse of Monkey Island was the first adventure game I ever played and it got me hooked straight away. It was so good that it made me expand my library to include almost all of Lucasarts adventure titles. It definitely has the best interface out of all Lucasarts games with the classic Point&Click being utilised. Unfortunately due to the fact that Lucasarts has chosen to move away from adventures and focus on the overworked Star Wars franchise, it won't be long before these games can no longer be purchased. I strongly recommend to buy this game along with the other Lucasarts adventure games before it's too late. My top 5 list includes:
Curse Of Monkey Island
Grim Fandango
Sam & Max: Hit The Road
Full Throttle
Monkey Island 2: Le Chuck's Revenge
Also check out the new 'Psychonauts' game which came form the mind of Tim Schaefer, the genius behind Grim Fandango and Full Throttle. Though it aint exactly adventure, it is still an amazing and original game, compared to other titles in todays gaming world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny you'll fall of your chair!, 18 Dec. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Curse of Monkey Island - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game is about as funny as they come.

In this game you find yourself playing a hapless hero trying to rescue his maiden in distress after he accidently terns her into gold and then leaves her to be stolen. I did say he was hapless!

The puzzles in this adventure got to the sublime to the ridiculess, the cartoon graphics fit in perfectly and the script and cut scenes leave you rolling on the floor!

Reccomended for everyone, even the person who's started watching over your shoulder just to see what you were doing and now won't go away!

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm Guybrush Threepwood, Mighty pirate", 25 July 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Curse of Monkey Island - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (Video Game)
I remember purchasing this game on initial release and have been a fan of the Monkey island series ever since. It manages to combine good 2D graphics, humour, adventure, head scratching puzzles and even a talking skull.

The main character Guybrush Threepwood is not exactly what you would call your stereotypical pirate, but that's what makes the character so funny. Guybrush manages to accidently turn his long time love Elaine into a gold statue by giving her a cursed diamond ring found in the Zombie pirate Lechucks Treasure hold, which is not exactly what Guybrush intended for a marriage proposal. It's upto Guybrush now to break the curse and free Elaine.

It's good to see that Lucasarts have re-released this classic point and click game. System requirements stated are Windows 95/98, but I have managed to run it under Microsoft Vista by using the compatibility wizard include with the operating system and setting it to'98/ME' compatible mode. It can run straight from Vista, but I experienced occasional freezing so the compatibility wizard solved it for me.

This game is well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curse Of Monkey Island, 14 Mar. 2004
This review is from: The Curse of Monkey Island - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (Video Game)
A couple of years ago i bought 'escape from monkey island' for PS2, i instantly fell in love with the humour and how much dialogue the creators of the game used. When i completed the game i looked on amazon.co.uk to find other titles in the series, i read the reviews of 'curse of monkey island' and found out that it is in 2D and has a simple point and click system. 2D definetly works better on the monkey island series making it much simpler and more easier to use. Also the humour is slightly better on monkey island and the lastability slightly longer. The story is basically Guybrush Threepwood is sailing in the carribean (pardon me if i spelt it wrong) seas in one of those dodgem/bumber cars from the evil Le Chucks fairground on monkey island, Guybrush is soon found by Le Chucks crew and the adventure begins there.
I love adventure games and games with loads of cutscenes and not that many gameplay e.g 'Shadow Of Memories' which i think is a brilliant game by the way. I hope more game creators make these sort of mystery games and i wish the creators of monkey island would make some more games to add to this series.
'Curse of monkey island' is the best game in my collection and other games in my collection in clude 'pokemon gold', 'prince of persia' and 'GTA 3'. What does that tell you???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monkey magic!, 23 Sept. 2001
This review is from: The Curse of Monkey Island - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (Video Game)
Ahhhh.....Curse of Monkey Island, so many memories...and i only completed the game last year. This game is filled to bursting point with clever puzzles and witty one-liners from everyone's favorite idiot (i.e. Guybrush). The characterization is really what makes this game though. Guybrush is perfect, as are the many supporting characters. Murry the evil skull is a work of genius, as is The Flying Welshman and the Cannibals. Not forgetting Mr.Fossey of course. These characters really are unforgettable.
I've played Escape from monkey island and in my opinion this game is better, but since opinion fluctuates wildly over the worst in the series, don't take my word for it.
I enjoyed the experience so much, i wanted to play it all over again, but i'm going to have to wait a loooong time before i can do that. If you like puzzle-solving and have any sense of humour whatsoever, buy it now, you know it makes sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best adventure game ever made, 30 Nov. 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Curse of Monkey Island - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (Video Game)
In the annals of adventure gaming, the Monkey Island series stands alone. The original game was one of the first games I ever bought back in my 286 days. This third installment is miles ahead of its predecessors in terms of technology, gameplay, and--thankfully--fun. The storyline, character integrity, acerbic displays of wit, and history of the Monkey Island universe were not sacrificed in the name of animation, voice acting, and graphics. The music that has always been such an important element of the games has also been improved, and we are now even treated to a couple of pirate songs in the course of the game. While anyone can enjoy this game immensely, old Monkey Island fans like myself are treated to a number of in-jokes and can delight in the return of a whole host of characters we already know so well--Wally the cartographer, the unforgettable Stan, the voodoo lady, Lemon Head and his fellow vegetarian cannibals, Elaine Marley, and--of course, the evil pirate LeChuck. And monkeys, of course. I was very impressed by the voice acting; virtually all of the characters sound just like I imagined they would, and there is a subtlety in the delivery of lines that makes the corniest of jokes work effectively. The new characters Guybrush meets in the game are also rich, amusing additions to the adventure: three ex-pirate barbers, very strange Shakespearean actors, a hilarious young entrepreneur who goes from selling lemonade to running guns, the last remaining member of the Goodsoup hotel/resort dynasty, a wild cast of pirates, unusual carnival workers, and a number of other delightfully amusing folks. The whole world contained in the game is rich, detailed, and very well done. A lot of attention, detail, and dare I say love went into the creation of every background from start to finish. A lot of time passed between the last game and this one, and I appreciate the creators' desire to release this game only after it was entirely completed.
Here's the story in a nutshell: our hero, Guybrush Threepwood, set out to be a pirate, despite his physical build and unfortunate name; along the way, he fell for the lovely Governor Elaine Marley, who by this time has finally come to love Guybrush (for some unexplainable reasons). The ghost pirate LeChuck also loves Elaine and is continually trying to make her his undead bride. Naturally, this has led to some problems for Guybrush--although he has "killed" LeChuck a couple of times, his enemy continues to molest him and seek Elaine's hand in marriage. There is some lack of continuity between the second game and this one, but it is inconsequential. As this game begins, Guybrush finds LeChuck besieging the fortress of Elaine and manages, in his usually inept yet successful way, in thwarting LeChuck's plans. Elaine finally consents to marry him, but unfortunately the ring Guybrush puts on her finger is a cursed ring from LeChuck's stash that turns Elaine into a solid gold statue. The game revolves around Guybrush's mission to break the ring's curse, thwart LeChuck's evil plans, and somehow manage to stay alive. Along the way, much hilarity ensues.
Anyone wanting to discover how good adventure gaming can be should play this game. It is first-rate in story, graphics, characters, etc. The designers delight in making fun of themselves and the genre, going all out to produce a witty, funny, thoroughly enjoyable experience. You could choose the most direct lines of inquiry and questions and not bother to look at and play with every single object in the game, and you could still enjoy a wonderful game. The real fun, though, comes in experiencing everything in the environment. There is virtually nothing that you can't do that the designers didn't already think of and add a bit of wit and humor to; the game is a virtual time capsule of corny jokes. There are even two ways to play the game; if you are better at puzzles than I am, you can choose to play mega-puzzle level and add even more richness to the experience. At either level, this game offers intellectual challenges, laugh-out-loud humor, and a rich game experience that is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest of the four so far, 28 Oct. 2002
This review is from: The Curse of Monkey Island - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (Video Game)
Fans of the original 'classic' Monkey Island games will not so much be pleased with this game as over the moon. I hadn't played a Monkey Island game for six years when I bought this but it brought a heap of great memories flooding back.
Certainly, Guybrush and co look better than ever, but the playability and humour are just as good, something which cannot be said for the ambitious follow up 'Escape from Monkey Island,' which tries just a little too hard.
Some of the quips in this game are laugh out loud funny, and I'm certainly no square who sits playing games day-in day-out.
The two main islands for exploration will keep you guessing for ages and even if the final two segments are a little disappointing the overall game is simply brilliant. For those who find it a breeze, there is even a super-hard version to try and even though I know what needs doing I still can't complete it a second time.
Monkey Island will surely never be better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monkey Mad, 29 Mar. 2001
This review is from: The Curse of Monkey Island - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (Video Game)
At last you can get Guybrush threepwood to pick up objects,fight,joke all on a dvd packaging set of Curse of monkey island! If you have played monkey island one you will know that Guybrush Threepwood falls in love with Elaine! But lechuck(Ghost pirate)Takes her to monkey island on his ghost ship.Guybrush has to get past over30 diffrent people over 100 objects and bad jokes(Haha) Well now its all going to be starting again with this dvd Curse of monkey island! Can you save Elaine from Lechucks curse will Lechuck ever get more grog to put on that burger Your just have to wait and find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mwah-ha-ha......., 1 Sept. 2003
This review is from: The Curse of Monkey Island - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (Video Game)
A great game - possibly not as good as the first two Monkey Islands, but it's unfair to compare when you haven't played either of them in nearly a decade and still consider them to be part of the "Golden Age" of PC computer games, when gameplay meant more as the graphics couldn't compensate for it.
For me there's no better character in this game than Murray, the invincible-demonic skull, and it's worth buying just to hear him cackle in a really eeee-vil way. The quirks and oddities of the characters really add to the humour of it all, and gamers will appreciate the thought that has gone into making this game. I feel that this is better than "Escape From Monkey Island" (Monkey IV), which I found ended really abruptly and not really flow very well (also Stan sounded completely different in it, which was annoying), and for those who haven't played the first two it's worth hunting around and seeing if you can get them - it'll really enhance your gaming experience, giving you an idea of how fantastic this series really is.
LucasArts really do lead the way in "point-&-click" adventures (along with the Sierra of old), and this is another game that bodes well for their reputation. The importance of "The Secret of Monkey Island" to PC gaming is noted in the annals of PC history, "Monkey Island 2" took it to another level with greater depth and playability - "The Curse of Monkey Island" is a worthy addition to this highly-acclaimed family of games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Superb, 5 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Curse of Monkey Island - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game is clinically superb! It is the perfect sequel to its two predecessors, with the same witty humour and excellent, whacky puzzles which make the game a superb combination of humour, puzzles and great fun. An excellent addition to this monkey island game is the voices which make the game far more rewarding. Well done lucas arts!! (again)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Curse of Monkey Island - Lucas Arts Classic (PC CD)
Used & New from: £3.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews