Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious ... but what's everyone moaning about?
Reviewers should probably start by admitting their bias, and mine is that I loved Kid A. Having I enjoyed Radiohead since Creep and The Bends, I realised with OK Computer that this was not a band content to musically stand still. All of the major artists like The Beatles,Dylan,Bowie etc.have been driven by the urge to explore and, despite the inevitable clunker, emerged...
Published on 30 Sep 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 ) Complex perceptions undermine Amnesiac as an album, May 10, 2004
Critics and fans alike haunt AMNESIAC, Radiohead's 2001 album, with accusations this record is little more than a KID B. Indeed, much of the controversy surrounding this album has to do with complex issues of album vs. single, and Radiohead's self-important reputation. It is rather funny how the actual music can get lost in all the shuffle.

In the early 1960s,...
Published 22 months ago by Mike London


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the boxes, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Conrad W. Zimmer "Conrad" (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This must be the best of the 2xCD+DVD box sets. A good representation of the original packaging in box form with all the inserts you might require (2 postcards of the 2 single sleeves, Pyramid Song & Knives Out, library card and booklet as per original CD release). The second CD is an amazing blend of b-sides and live tracks, Kinetic being my personal favourite. The DVD includes 3 promo videos, 2 Top Of The Pops recordings and 4 tracks from the Later With Jools Holland special, featuring the late lamented Humphrey Lyttleton and his trio on Life In A Glasshouse. A truly great re-release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kid B? No Amnesiac, 30 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
This record was made alongside Kid A, so the comparisoms are inevitable. However there is a reason Kid A isn't just one, longer album, and that is the only track here that would have fit on Kid A, and that is Pulk/Push Revolving doors.
So anyway, as with its predeccessor, don't jump to conclusions. Amnesiac is deep and many dimensional, and these things take time to explore but well worth exploring. Begining very strongly with a creep-o-matic's nightmare, Packt like Sardines in a Crushd Tin Box combines dodgy beats with a beautiful electric piano and Thom's tuneful mutterings. Pyramid song needs no introduction as the most beautiful single this year, nor does the haunting guitar line and melody of Knives Out, a reminder of the Radiohead of OK Computer days.
Other highlights are the wonderful I might be wrong, You and Whose Army? and best of all Life in a Glasshouse, Jazz with a difference. The one dissapointment for me is Morning Bell, you just think why? The Kid A arrangment is much better, and I want to hear new Radiohead songs.
Anyway, Radiohead fans will have already bought it, so to everyone else who likes their rock acts to be different, Go buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and emotional, 2 Aug 2001
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
Hi i am 14 years of age and to me radiohead have been a great sucsess now you all like it as an adult but kids listen to it to the music is relaxing at times and rowdy at others depending at what way you look at it. they are so different that their style of music should have its own category
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thing of great beauty, 4 Aug 2006
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
Aren't Radiohead supposed to be gloomy and dull? Then why do I find all their music so uplifting? Is it the anger that lifts me? Or is it their defiance? In the case of this and Kid A their defiance even extends to the supposed boundaries of a rock group. Radiohead have dared to evolve rather than become dinosaurs. You must see Radiohead live if you really want to get these songs - they suddenly make complete sense and any doubts you have about them are immediately dispelled. BTW, I'm also enjoying the book Slowly Downward by Stanley Donwood. Stanley is the artist who won a grammy for his work with Thom Yorke on the cover and packaging of Amnesiac and his book is brilliant and disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memory Loss, 13 Feb 2002
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
Initially, it did take a few listens. And I was excited by some of the direction changes (even from Kid A), but it waned a little after the first 40 or 50 listens.
Then I heard "Pyramid Song" again, out of the blue, and this prompted another few listens. I saw them live in Belfast last year, also in Dublin the year before, and was blown away of course.
The problem is that a lot of "Amnesiac" benefits from a rethink, a live airing; the urbane digitized production techniques rendering some tracks flat as a pancake. "Like Spinning Plates" and "You And Whose Army" are shining lights played live, as is "Dollars & Cents". The intention of "Hunting Bears" I think, is edge and menace; only half of this intent comes across on record.
Although I get the theme of the album - a framented sense of the past desparately being pieced together in the present - and this is executed excellently, through an unsettling and disjointed listen, that feels incomplete when it ends, a little more space would benefit it's lasting appeal; a little more length, too.
It sounds unfinished, but I guess that's the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to listen alot, but it becomes fanntastic!, 13 Jun 2001
By 
sevensmallorphans@yahoo.com (Baldock, Herts, England, Uk, Europe, Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
If you read many of the scathing reviews of this album beware, this is radiohead we are talikng about. Having set themselves very high targets with Ok Computer and Kid A its very hard to judge in context how good this album is. But, i can safely say its better than what any other band could produce and is really very very good, any fan of innovative rock music must have this album.
Packt like sardines, the opening track combines warm synths and a funky electroica feel. Another outstanding opener and is reminiscent of Everthing in its right place and idioteque.
Track two as with most radiohead albums is the best (pyramid song). It is a contender for the best radiohead song since Ok Computer. It has an incredibly difficult time signiture but the moody pianos and strings make it unforgettable. But most importantly, it has the most inspiring thing in music, a radiohead climax. Absolutely amazingly fantastic.
Track three (Pulk/pull revolving doors) is in a word - weird. Don't just leave it out but know that this is very hard to listen to all the way through simply because the sounds are so coarse.
Number 4, You and whose army? best demonstrates the diversity of the album. It is very old fashioned. At the start its just acoustic guitar and thom which sounds as good as ever. It builds into a nice climax with the whole band joining in. It's quite a nice short and simple piece.
Track five "I might be wrong" is very funky with a very cool riff and good tempo. Just as you think its gone on for a bit too long it stops and out of nowhere comes thoms bird like voice and a beautifully harmonic ending. One of the most beautiful moments on the album.
Track 6 is "Knives out" and it is simply an outstanding song. It is the basic three guitars, bass and drums and is reminiscent of Street spirit. It is very easily to listen to and probably the second best song after Pyramid song.
Next is a remake of Morning bell, one of the best from Kid A. This version doesent quite live up to its sister-song due to a lack of the climactical ending but is just as eerie and frightening.
The next song is "Dollars and cents" and is another brilliant song. It has a nice build up to the point of multiple thom's voices working incredibly together. It has a very cool bass riff which isn't too repetitive and still keeps the electroic and experimental feel.
Track 9 is the short instrumental "Hunting bears" Like Treefingers from Kid A this is hard to listen to all the way through. It is very slow and repetitive at the start but then gets really good towards the end when the harmonies kick in.
Next is like spinning plates and is absolutely fantastic. Again it has a diffucult beginning with sounds reminiscent of Pulk/pull, because of this people don't really listen and it is the most underated song on the album. Towards the end beautifully soft keyboards with amazing harmonies work prefectly with thom's amazing voice. Truely fantastic, dont let the beginning put you off.
The last but by no means least is "Life in a glass house" a absolutely cracking new orleons funeral march style song but with a bit of radiohead angst thrown in. This is the third best song on the album, a more traditional style and very emotional. A fitting ending to an amazing album.
Every Radiohead album i've heard, ive not liked straight away. It always takes a while for you to realise just how good it is. I used to think Kid A was too weird and disjointed when i first heard it, now i think it is the most amazingly flowing masterpiece of music since Ok Computer.
Some of the songs don't seem as good as others on the first listen but perceviere and they will all join together and flow effortlessly to form one beautiful album.
Just for Pyramid song it should get five stars, just for the fact it has many outstanding songs it should get five stars, but im giving five stars cos i know as i listen, it will get better and better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Kid A, 4 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
If "OK Computer" was hard to follow up, "Kid A" was perhaps even harder - in the move from the former album to the latter they'd created a cultural short-hand for mainstream-to-avant-garde artiness, moving away from the sheer utter genius of "OK Computer" to the agonising introspection of "Kid A". Listening to "Amnesiac" you realise Radiohead have created an album better than "Kid A", full of better songs and slightly toned-down electronica.
"Packt Liked Sardines", "Pyramid Song", "You and Whose Army", "I Might Be Wrong", "Knives Out", "Life in a Glasshouse" - these are all stone-cold classics, rivalling anything they've done. "You and Whose Army" in particular seems brilliant to me - the funniest and most beautiful anti-Blair song likely ever to be written, with a simply stunning climax that had be out in goosepimples on a first listen. (There remain a few songs I haven't taken a fancy to - "Pull/Pulk" especially - but that's only to be expected in any album.)
Great bands - and there have only been a few (the Beatles and Pink Floyd spring to mind) - manage, successfully, to alter and develop their range over the course of their albums. Radiohead are beginning to join that select group. Their body of work is now more impressive than more or less any other band around (perhaps only U2 and REM challenge them). You can put any of their CDs on and hear a development in style, but the same beautiful content. Listening to "Kid A" now, an album which caused remarkable upheaval amongst critics and fans, it begins to sound just part of an evolution, it begins to sound normal. "Amnesiac" gives us the other (perhaps more palatable) half of the "Kid A" sessions, but looks forward to a further movement into new territory. (If there are some Radiohead theorisers out there, they can discuss how "Amnesiac" reworks "Kid A", with its own "Morning Bell", its own (better) instrumental, even references to some of the sound effects (eg the heaven-like ending of "Kid A").) Let's hope and pray that Radiohead's new direction is as fruitful and replayable as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radiohead on top form, 8 May 2001
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
This album has not been out of my cd player for about 2 weeks now, and it keeps getting better. If The Bends was Radiohead's 'Revolver', and OK Computer was 'Sgt Pepper', then this album could be rightly called their version of 'The White Album'. Sprawling in variation and compelling to listen to, this fifth album from Radiohead will honestly appeal to any fan of any era in their history.
The variations work astonishingly well; from the frazzled dance of 'Pulk/Pull Revolving Doors' to the classic guitar song 'Knives Out', where Thom has actually written perhaps his first number 1, no more experimental (or should i just say mental) than The Smiths.
The Highlights of the album really do stand up with ANY guitar band's best work, and at the very least surpass their own output with style. 'Dollars and Cents' perhaps supplies the peak of the album at around the two-and-a-half minute mark with it's abandoned chaos in the middle of the song, but 'Pyramid Song' must take the credit as the best Radiohead moment yet. It builds and builds into the most beautiful song, a true classic and a worthy first single off an excellent album.
There are another 2 songs which deserve extra-special mention, namely the last two: 'Like Spinning Plates' starts off the chaos with what first appears to be a backwards mess. But it flourishes into a wonderful throbbing maelstrom with a coda that will lodge into your brain for weeks to come. This is then surpassed by the excellent 'Life In A Glass House' where subtle jazz pulses turn into a fitting finale. You actually feel that Thom is talking indirectly to you when he sings "Of course i'd like to sit around and chat/Of course i'd like to stay and chew the fat/", and then after a belated chorus says: "...But someone's listening in....". It is a perfect end to the album.
In conclusion then, this disc shows that Radiohead are not afraid to confront their past and pillage their own trademarks, -even- if it means picking up guitars again. The other tracks set the mood perfectly, actually complementing the standouts, based around a core of tracks 4-8 which are normal, but outstanding songs. A true Classic, and their best album yet.
And yes, if you are wondering, The White Album was my favourite Beatles album, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best by Radiohead, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: Amnesiac (MP3 Download)
Radiohead are possibly the best band around, and this is one of their best albums... its just got so much depth and you notice something different about each song every time you listen to them. Its truly wonderful music made by real musicians for real music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars radiohead at their experimental best, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Amnesiac [2CD & DVD] (Audio CD)
With a change of direction signaled by Kid A, Radiohead continue their experimental side with a haunting and atmospheric album that needs to be played in its entirety to fully appreciate.Each track blends seamlessly into the next.
In my opinion probably their most interesting piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amnesiac
Amnesiac by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews