Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious ... but what's everyone moaning about?
Reviewers should probably start by admitting their bias, and mine is that I loved Kid A. Having I enjoyed Radiohead since Creep and The Bends, I realised with OK Computer that this was not a band content to musically stand still. All of the major artists like The Beatles,Dylan,Bowie etc.have been driven by the urge to explore and, despite the inevitable clunker, emerged...
Published on 30 Sept. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 ) Complex perceptions undermine Amnesiac as an album, May 10, 2004
Critics and fans alike haunt AMNESIAC, Radiohead's 2001 album, with accusations this record is little more than a KID B. Indeed, much of the controversy surrounding this album has to do with complex issues of album vs. single, and Radiohead's self-important reputation. It is rather funny how the actual music can get lost in all the shuffle.

In the early 1960s,...
Published on 11 Sept. 2012 by Mike London


‹ Previous | 116 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I would like to complain about the absence of a zero., 5 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
This record is incomprehensibly awful. Whoever told Radiohead that they needed to pursue a new direction clearly have no f***ing clue. "Pyramid Song" is brilliant, but that is a seperate issue, when you consider that the rest of the album is utter w***. "Like Spinning Plates" is tuneless noise, "I might be wrong" is a convenient mix of all the dodgy "old" Radiohead tracks, and "Knives out" (the supposed best song on the album) is really not much cop. My advice to all of you who think Radiohead's flair went after "OK Computer" is to buy the "Pyramid Song" single (CD1 not CD2) and completely ignore this rubbish. Come on Radiohead - YOU CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars blabla, 26 Sept. 2001
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
I've followed RH since Pablo Honey, revelled in the mighty tours-de-force that have been named The Bends and OK Computer, but since then I've seen it. Kid A, according to me, was one of the best practical jokes to be released up to date, and the new one does not promise to be any better.
For a band who has produced many nineties classics, this does simply not stand the test. Ignore it, and hope of something better coming from this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting album, 27 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
I currently have 'OK computer', 'Hail to the Thief' and now amnesiac. I'm the sort of person who tends to linger through the more under estimated albums. Amnesiac has an interesting sound within it. The opening track is impressive, and then kept me hooked! Here is a short rating of ech song:

Packt like Sardines in a crushd rin box - 9/10 It has an infectious rhythm!

Pyramid Song - 8/10 very atmospheric, and a decent enough single.

Pulk/Pull Revolving Doors - 6.5/10 I am into all sorts of heavy electronica, but this kinda gave me a headache...

You and Whose Army? - 9/10 What a creepy, yet elegant song. It makes me shiver!

I Might be Wrong - 9/10 Typical Radiohead. Amazing.

Knives Out - 7/10 A little bit boring, but still quite a cool track.

Morning Bell/Amnesiac - 9/10 I have heard the original on 'Kid A', but I still think of this song to be a stand out one in the album. I'm obsessed with it!

Dollars and Cents - 8/10 It has a great build up. Another fav.

Hunting Bears - 8.5/10 A strange one, it doesnt have any lyrics, but its great as a chill out track.

Like Spinning Plates - 9/10 This has alot of texture and layers, it's very beautiful.

Life in a Glasshouse - 9/10 A very emotional jazz finale. It sounds very lonely, and it's also pretty miserable. That doesnt mean it can't be good though, can it?

I'll be keeping my eyes peeled for 'the bends' and 'Kid A', but this is one album that you'll continue to listen to. It sounds quite packed for eleven tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Scott!, 12 Nov. 2003
By 
S Buchanan "WattsvilleBlues" (Northern Ireland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
The Bends, OK Computer and Kid A were three excellent strikes in a row for Radiohead, each different but each good albums. Against a background of arty-farty navel-gazing self-indulgence (and lots of other hyphenated words I could come up with), the boys from Oxford seem to have neglected putting any good songs on this album. Yes it's all very progressive and daring etc, but are the songs any good? No. Put a monkey in a studio for a few months and it would come up with Amnesiac. Not clever, not beautiful, and not affecting at all. If any other band had put out this record, it would have been trounced. Radiohead are just a brand name now. They can record what they like and still make millions. How sad that a band that once brought us Street Spirit, Let Down, and Motion Picture Soundtrack now release utter aural boredom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More bleepy-bloop nonsense, 4 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
Oh dear. Far from the triumphant return to the Radiohead of old, this album presents more of the bleepy-bloop nonsense of Kid-A. If this had been released in the 1970`s, the band would have been in the same mould as Yes or ELP; so called "progressive" rock. What happened to the glorious angst of "Creep", or the soaring guitar of "The Bends"? Well, they`ve been replaced with programmed drums, synths and incoherent mumblings. If you`re a big fan of RH, you`re gonna buy this and like it, if you`re a fan of good old fashioned power-pop, you probably won`t
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dull, 8 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
and pretentious. i'll never buy this sadness from this singer. it's just boredome, not serious. it was the best place i've been and this cd arrived and i listened to vega and kind. but this disc was not worth of the money. well, i never bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars album 5, 4 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Amnesiac (Audio CD)
I bought this CD based on everything I heard about Radiohead- all the sixth formers banging on about 'radioheadradiohead.' Nine quid from Music Zone... the album is boring, and of a very depressing coin. When I put a record on I like to feel good, not depressed. When I put on track nine, the track where the first words spoken sound like 'come' or 'calm,' I just visioned an ego the size of a blimp and all the indie kids who would listen to something like this thinking 'yeah man it's sooo cool.' After listening to it, I think I walked away feeling uneasy.[...]

Unlike the Bends, this is not a guitar based record, though guitars do feature in a couple of tracks, it is primarily an inide eletronica record. As most important ego inflated bands will do, they will try to downplay their success or try to do something that is completely different. Definately not something to add to your collection unless you feel as important as the record itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amnesiac
Amnesiac by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews