Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Live Albums Ever, 12 July 2006
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (Audio CD)
What a terrific album: expanded from the original issue with a full CD of extra material and new liner notes, this set features almost all The Band's best songs, recorded live with a great horn section on many tracks.

The set also features four songs from surprise guest Bob Dylan, including When I Paint My Masterpiece and two Basement Tapes songs, Don't Ya Tell Henry and Down in the Flood.

The unreleased songs are great, particularly I Shall be Released, Rockin Chair and Loving You is Sweeter than Ever. The latter is a good complement to Don't Yo Do It, the concert opener. Have a listen to Rick's bass in these two songs, very funky indeed.

The sound is crisp and clear, but also has warmth, with bass, drums and piano beautifully recorded and mixed. All the musicians and singers are in great form and I can't think of a dud track, even the Dylan numbers have a groovy sloppiness about them.

Note that the original CD issue was also a double set, but just had the original vinyl tracks spread over the CDs. This set has all the original album on the first CD, so be sure to order the new one!

RIP Rick Danko and Richard Manuel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Of Ages - Perfect Title for this masterpiece, 24 Jun 2006
By 
Dennis Angeloni (Norwalk CT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (Audio CD)
This is not only one of the best, if not the best, live album of all time, but also one of the BEST albums of all time, which would then also make it one of the best concerts ever. Fantastic! The Band is so tight that despite the cheers from the crowd, you would think that this is a studio album. The Band is an unusual combination of raw, mountainish, almost garage-like band music with extreme versatility and tightness. The version of The Weight on this album is arguably the best that they ever performed this song (not that crazy about the studio version) and they do an outstanding version of Marvin Gaye's Don't Do It with all of the NY horns. Every single song on this album is done at a high level - I would have loved attending this concert. This is a must for any music collection. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album live ever, 4 May 2001
This review is from: Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (Audio CD)
"The Last waltz" had an array of popular stars that attracted a lot of attention to the music of The Band. However "Rock Of Ages" was the live album that set the standard for all live albums to follow. Immaculate production \ recording by Phil Ramone and Alan Touisaint's horn arrangements agument a fine group performance. All the best loved Band tunes are here. This C.D completes the picture by including the "Dylan" encore performance.
What more could you ask?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 24 Jun 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (Audio CD)
This is one of THE great Rock N Roll bands captured live on New Years Eve 1971/72. With tracks from "Music from the Big pink" and "The Band" as well as "Stage Fright" this has most of The Bands best material on it. To add a bit of spice the The Band are supported by a top notch horn section (all Jazz and session men) who are arranged by Allen Toussaint the noted New Orleans producer/singer/pianist.

Its all superb, but my favourite non-Band track is "(I Don't Want To) Hang Up My Rock and Roll Shoes". This is superb super-charged straight ahead Rock N Roll. Of their original material Rick Danko's tremendous reading of "Unfaithful Servant" with that subtle but devastating guitar solo by Robbie Robertson takes some beating. The extra tracks, which were never on the original CD release are just as good if not better. These include four tracks with Bob Dylan, including "Like a Rolling Stone". This is without doubt up there with the best live albums ever recorded and should be in everybodies collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock of ages - the Band., 20 Oct 2013
By 
J. E. Jenkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it first came out in 1972 and loved it, so when I saw it on cd i decided to buy it thinking it would be an exact copy of the LP version but was delighted to find there were extra tracks included- in particular the wonderful -'Rag mama rag'-.The quality of the sound is excellent and as usual with Amazon the delivery and packaging was also faultless. Everyone who loved this period should not be without this and I do not hesitate in recommending it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The oldtime rock never dies., 11 Oct 2009
By 
H. Biesheuvel (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (Audio CD)
The Band at its most creative period. Beautiful live performance with a hornsection!
Goose pimples. Bring back a lot of good memories. Certainly an "aanradertje".
As we say in Netherlands. It means I advise you to buy this CD! Kind regards Henk B Netherlands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live Albums 101 - This is how to do it., 11 Nov 2007
By 
Ms. Felicia Davis-burden (Staines, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (Audio CD)
Right folks, if you're starting a band this is how to play a concert. Before you assemble in the hall, get a CD player and put this album on. Listen and listen good. Right, now see if you are up to the task... The Band always were; this album displays them in their finest form.

Great singing, great playing and - most importantly, and unforgettably - great songs.

Pure quality. The greatest live album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!!!!!!!, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (Audio CD)
Cannot really express how good this cd is. The Band with a horn section which fits in very well to their music. A new remixed version of this concert recently released but with the horn section nearly taken off and is nowhere as good as this one. All the classic songs of The Band and some Bob Dylan as well. Good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb live album., 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (Audio CD)
Great to hear these tracks again on this expanded album.
The fact that it is live takes nothing away from the album , which is up there with the great live albums ,also gives areat overview of the Bands career , you should buy this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars timeless music beautifuly performed!, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. C. Lloyd (treherbert/rhondda valley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Of Ages (MP3 Download)
this album deserves 5 stars if only for the wonderful performances of these brilliant songs. the band raised the bar ensemble playing, nothing flash, just brilliant music!
If you like the felice brothers, ryan adams etc. then this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert
Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert by The Band (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews