Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Play twice!
The Detroit Cobras have a healthy disregard for musical fashion and play almost exclusively brilliant, scorching covers of favourites from their vinyl collections from the fifties onwards, paying welcome particular attention to artists with a Detroit connection. There have been a number of line-up changes over the years but always with Rachel Nagy's vocals backed up with...
Published on 27 Jun 2007 by Lozarithm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a little let down!
i must confess to being dissappointed after 'mink'. the pure garage power seems lost in a more proffessional production job.
I think the song choices are rather too much soul and not enough rock'n'roll.
By no means a bad album but not the same feel as the first.
Published on 18 April 2010 by R. Byron


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Play twice!, 27 Jun 2007
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Life, Love And Leaving (Audio CD)
The Detroit Cobras have a healthy disregard for musical fashion and play almost exclusively brilliant, scorching covers of favourites from their vinyl collections from the fifties onwards, paying welcome particular attention to artists with a Detroit connection. There have been a number of line-up changes over the years but always with Rachel Nagy's vocals backed up with Maribel Restrepo on rhythm guitar and backing vocals, and on this record with Dante Aliano (guitar), Eddie Hawrsh (that's how it is spelled on this record)(bass and keyboards) and Damian Lang (drums).

Although fourteen songs are thoroughly dealt with, the whole album is over in half an hour because when a song is done, it's done, and sometimes this only takes a minute and a half. If only more bands would adopt this policy!

Hey Sailor is actually Mickey Lee Lane's Hey Sah-Lo-Ney, which he cut for Swan back in 1965. The Ronettes are an obvious source of inspiration and for He Did It the Cobras reach back to their pre-Spector days at Colpix, and a song co-written by Jackie DeShannon (now a Cobras' fan after hearing their versions of He Did it and Breakaway). Find Me A Home is more properly known as Home In Your Heart when first recorded by Solomon Burke, who also had the original of the much-covered Stupidity. Oh My Lover may be known to you if you ever turned over your copy of the Chiffons' He's So Fine and played the other side. Cry On is a cover of an early Irma Thomas hit written by Allen Toussaint (contrary to other reviews it has nothing to do with Ronnie Mack). Mary Wells wrote Bye Bye Baby for Jackie Wilson but when Berry Gordy heard it, he had Mary Wells record it herself at United Sound in Detroit for his new Motown label, her first single in 1960, making her sing it in a hoarse voiced style which makes it a natural for Rachel's naturally throaty vocals.

Boss Lady is the band's re-interpration of local band's Davis Jones and the Fenders' Boss With The Hot Sauce. Laughing At You takes us back to the Gardenias (not the Guardinias as printed in the booklet), who wrote and recorded it for Detroit's Fortune label in 1957 as I'm Laughing At You. Bob Dylan played it on his Theme Time Radio Hour special on laughter. Ike and Tina Turner had a regional R&B hit with You Can't Miss Nothing That You Never Had (disguised here as Can't Miss Nothing) in 1963. That leaves Right Around The Corner originally by the Five Royales in 1956, written by Charlie Singleton and Rose Marie McCoy; Won't You Dance With Me was by Mitch Ryder and the Detroit Wheels when they were still known as Billy Lee and the Rivieras; Let's Forget About The Past was on the flipside of Clyde Mcphatter's huge 1962 single Lover, Please; and finally Shout Bama Lama, possibly the definitive version of this song, was by Johnny Jenkins' Pinetoppers in 1961, featuring a novice singer called Otis Redding.

This is a great album, over too soon, but short enough to play all over again straight away, even louder, which I recommend you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't move to this....., 12 July 2002
By 
Gorebrook (Lytham St Annes, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Life & Leaving (Audio CD)
.....then I suspect you're six foot under. Bought this on the strength of hearing "Hey Sailor" and it hasn't left the car stereo since. If ever a band made you shake your ass and smile like a demented cheshire cat then the DC's are it. Garage Soul just about sums it up but there's so much richness, warmth and melody in amongst the fuzz and grit it's just a heavenly combination, and in many respects very, very hard to pigeonhole.
In a nutshell if you like good soul/dance music (in the 50's/60's sense), and stuff that'll make you smile, give the Cobras some earspace, I guarantee you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a little let down!, 18 April 2010
By 
R. Byron "robin195959" (scunthorpe UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life, Love And Leaving (Audio CD)
i must confess to being dissappointed after 'mink'. the pure garage power seems lost in a more proffessional production job.
I think the song choices are rather too much soul and not enough rock'n'roll.
By no means a bad album but not the same feel as the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indescribably brilliant, 22 July 2002
This review is from: Love Life & Leaving (Audio CD)
There's no way in hell I can possibly describe this without use of "strengthening" words, so....it's REALLY difficult to pin down just what it is that makes this album soooo ...brilliant. There's never been another album like this. I bought it on the strength of hearing one song on the radio (managed to find it fairly cheap by some miracle) and I've never been so chuffed in my life. If you like garage rock, soul, gospel, 50's pop.....nah, screw it, you'll like it whatever kind of thing you're into. Rachael Nagy's voice will make you stop and listen. 'Shout Bama Lama' (the last track, what a way to end an album) WILL make you repeat it over and over and over and over etc (31 times is my highest, it won't take long it's less than 2 minutes). I have no objection to short albums, in fact quite the opposite, I don't like long albums that outstay their welcome. This 14-track album is over in 29 minutes 49 seconds (according to my stereo) but don't let this put you off, it IS an astonishing album with not a single weak track, just PLEASE go and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My New Favourite Band, 10 May 2002
By 
Martin Whitehead (Egham, Surrey.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Life & Leaving (Audio CD)
Like your favourite garage punk band playing your favourite rock'n'roll and soul songs. Rachel Nagy has a belter of a voice and the rest of the band fuzz it up a treat. Go Cobras, go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Brillaint, 31 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Life & Leaving (Audio CD)
Just...just buy this. One of the finest and most fun albums I have ever bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Life & Leaving
Love Life & Leaving by Detroit Cobras (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews