Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic stuff
Exciter is very different from previous albums which is probably why some fans don't like it, but life would be boring if DM just stayed writing the same songs in the same style of SOFAD and Ultra (even though they are great). DM don't ever really come under a music category anyway so it's impossible they can stick to one style like the pop of Violator or rock of...
Published on 21 May 2001

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Give Exciter A Chance
I think some of the comments here are a little harsh. OK, so "Exicter" will never live up to it's title and be the best album in the Depeche Mode stable, but it does include some quality material, "Dream On", "I Feel Loved", "Goodnight Lovers", even "Easy Tiger" has it's moments.
I think the main problem here was the anticipation of us DM fans around the world...
Published on 6 Oct 2005 by Coincidence Vs Fate


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars exciter, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exciter (Audio CD)
Obviously if you like Dep. mode then this is a must. the cd is class however the live concert of this album is much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars flawed but sophisticated, 31 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Exciter (Audio CD)
I got into the mode with the release of 'ultra'. From what I recall it was released around the time of 'adore'. Of all their music, I really like that one. I like strong song writing coupled with a dark synth. With the release of 'Delta Machine' I'd listened to pretty much everything DM had released except for 'sounds', gone off them and disposed of all their music, until the release of their latest rekindled my love for them and I saw them live where they rocked. Maybe it's just because of it's fresh production and the foregroudning of Martin's fabulous guitar playing, but i like seven of the tracks off Delta Machine. It is by far their most well rounded album. It's almost perfectly realised and they are clearly very proud of it.

DM is one of those bands that needs editing. When he's on form Martin Gore is an exceptionally talented songwriter, as well as singer and guitarist, but he can write a stinker. If you delete the turkeys you are left with several very solid tracks. I recently picked up 'Sounds' for a couple of quid. Of those maybe 'wrong' and 'in sympathy' are the only ones that will stand the test of time. I picture a sophisticated older lady at a large gathering every time i listen to the latter. Having missed their sexy warm synth sound, favouring a more organic acoustic guitar flavour of late, i went back through their back catalogue. After 'Delta' my favourite is still 'ultra' with six tracks i like from that one (barrel of a gun, the love thieves, it's no good, uselink, useless, insight). I think I was too young to appreciate 'the love thieves' and 'insight' at time of release. It also has my favourite videos. I think it's their closest to an Essex sound. After editing 'exciter' there are only five tracks i like, but those five are the most chilled out and sophisticated they have ever sounded (free love, i feel loved, goodnight lovers, dream on, when the body speaks). It's definitely their lovers album. I think people misconstrue the album cover. It's not extreme sports excitement, it's sexual excitement. Very seductive. Mark Bell's production remains the freshest today of all the albums aside from the latest. (I've recently returned to bjork and his work with lfo leaves most modern electronic music in the dust). I can't listen to anything pre violator, although 'music for the masses' is their most classic from that period. the production just doesn't stand up to everything else i listen to. I've grown tired of 'violator' and only really like 'the policy of truth' and 'waiting for the night' now, and maybe 'the sweetest perfection' for its weird phasing, although that has embarrassing personal connotations for me, which have nothing to do with the band. Although it's a well produced album, 'nothing's impossible' is the only track i like from 'playing the angel'. I don't like them to be too overtly Christian, which might ultimately put me off their latest release. As I have matured, I care less for clever electronics and more about good songwriting and the quality of dave's voice (plus martin's bluesy guitar). It's their downtempo tracks that have stood the test of time and are most suited to the band as they age gracefully. They should definitely do some small venue downtempo gigs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of "Bjorkish" DM :-), 21 Jun 2013
By 
Jan Friedman "Marty" (Brno, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exciter (Audio CD)
Yes the influence of Mark Bell can be heard on this album veeeery well. And that means to me as a result the "least DMish" DM album. To the goodness of it. If I ever got tired of typical DM albums (very unlikely indeed) I would definitely grab this one for a refreshment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of their very best, 16 Dec 2012
This review is from: Exciter (Audio CD)
I don't understand some of the griping about this album.Martins writing is really strong and Dave's vocals are truly haunting and mesmerizing . Its worth buying for "When the body speaks" alone period. Top band at the top of their game, a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Loved it at first.....but?, 23 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. D. P. Tones "darrentones" (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exciter (Audio CD)
Like every Depeche Mode album, I was looking forward to this release. Dream On was definitely a grower after a couple of listens and the album seems much more positive than previous releases. Apparently Martin Gore had difficulties churning out material for this album, and it shows in tracks such as 'Comatose' and 'Shine'. Dave Gahan's vocals however are the highlight of this album. Tracks such as 'Freelove', 'When The Body Speaks', 'Goodnight Lovers' are excellent examples. Years later (after hearing PTA and SOTU) this album severely lacks the punch of powerful drums and bass, therefore it will always be the chillout DM album for me. The production is fantastic in parts (i.e.'Freelove'), but overall (with the exception of 'The Dead Of Night' and 'I Feel Loved') this album delves a lot on the slower paced tempos. A good album, but not their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Depeche Mode - Not So Exciting, 9 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. David Stanton (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exciter (Audio CD)
With Alan Wilder long gone, the edge
has vanished from Depeche Mode.
Alot of the songs appear over done
in production where obvious slow lyric
songs get airbrushed with heavy handed
synth sound effects that sit awkardly
with the mix.
They try to apply ULTRA's after glow
into this album and it doesn't work.
Like watching a TURNER painting melt
into a DALI.
'Dream On' is a good start but then
I didn't enjoy the songs in between
until 'Freelove' rescues the pace of
the whole project.
The other highlights of the album
are 'I Feel Loved' which is a great
dance beat number which is one of a
few Depeche Mode get right.
Final song 'Goodnight Lovers' is a
very lovely ballad with a soft gospel
vocal harmony complimenting Dave
Gahan's musing about the pain of love.
(Most of the time I felt the group
weren't sure how to present these
songs, it looked like they were
turning the dial of a radio trying
to pick any reception they could find
and unfortunately picking out some
stations with too much static).
Thankfully by the time they made their
next album (Playing The Angel) they've
ironed out their faults.
It did surprise me that all the time
they've been recording their music that
they could drop in standard as low as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting?, 12 July 2009
By 
Domenico (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exciter (Audio CD)
This isn't certainly DM's best album, and we miss Alan Wilder a lot in this production; however for a hard-core fan, Exciter must be part of the collection. The DVD shows how the album was conceived and worked on.
The best tracks are 'I am you', 'Shine' and 'Dream On'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Woefully Underrated, 27 Sep 2007
This review is from: Exciter (Audio CD)
When I first got this album it got a few cursory listens and went back into my CD collection without resurfacing much - whereas previous Depeche Mode offerings such as Violator and Songs Of Faith And Devotion got much more frequent airings.

More recently though I've been coming backing to this album more and more, to the extent that I've completely re-evaluated my original feelings for the album. It's the real definition of a 'grower'; there's nothing here that grabs the first time listener by the throat in the same way tracks like Halo did on Violator for example.

Where this album shines is in the languid, laid-back tracks such as "I Am You" ,"Goodnight Lovers", "Dream On" and "Shine". Mark Bell's influence can be felt throughout the album with the LFO-style skittering, almost non-existant percussion, which suits the material here perfectly.

This is a classic Depeche Mode album; it's the flipside of the immediately accessible Violator, but deserves to be regarded alongside that previous high point of Depeche Mode's career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DM doing what they do best - Electronic Music, 1 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Exciter (Audio CD)
Where do I begin. This album has to be the finest album that Depeche Mode have released since 'Violator'. 'Songs of faith and Devotion' was a good album but I have always seen that album as being Dave Gahans, so that he could be his self destructing Rock Star to a point of embarassing cliche.
'Ultra' was by far the worst album they had put out simply because they weren't sure, still it did have 'It's no Good' on it.
'Exciter' is simply a journey of rediscovery. Martin has discovered what makes music and especially his music good and fun. He has begun to almalgamate his own influences of music to create an absolute gem of an album. 'Freelove' has to be the most beautiful song he's written since 'Somebody', but he doesn't stop there, he includes another one 'Goodnight Lovers' equally beautiful and somehow painful as well, it sounds like what you would get if you put 'Brian Wilson' of 'The Beach Boys' and 'Leonard Cohen' in a locked room together and told not to come out until they had written something, to put it bluntly excellent. Then there's the signature tune 'Dream On' which has the poppy likeness of 'Personal Jesus' but with more class. 'I Feel Loved' will get you digging out all the classic Mode albums and listening to them again back to back, a great choice for a second single and the remixes I've heard are fantastic, they even do 'Marilyn Manson' better than himself, 'The Dead of Night' and finally I round off the list summary with 'When the Body Speaks' a track which explains everything about what it is to be alive.
For some reviewers who have reviewed this album as the worst album they've done you are completely missing the point about who Depeche Mode are. Depeche Mode write songs, but most importantly they create music, something that for the last two albums has not happened. 'Songs of Faith' was a Blues/Gospel contemporary piece of Americanism that totally backfired because Americans liked the European sound they were producing, OK it went to No.1 but was quickly forgotten and now the only songs worth hearing are 'One Caress' and 'Insight'. 'Ultra' unfortunately was demo and tracks did not flow well 'Uselink' for example. 'Exciter' proves that this band are still here for a while longer and the journey that they create on this record is one of maturity and most importantly rediscovery.
Hats off to the Essex lads, they've created an album that has the texture and mood of 'Black Celebration' and the enjoyment of 'Violator' with the help of the genius that is Mark Bell. They have grown up and grown into a band that can still create new and fresh sounding music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow burning classic, 13 Nov 2001
By 
sensoria@tiscali.co.uk (The Peoples Republic of Modesville) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exciter (Audio CD)
'Exciter' is as much a classic Depeche Mode album as 'Violator' and 'Black Celebration' were. In many ways, the 13 tracks here could have come from various DM albums of the last 15 years. It's eclectic and individual with no one track sounding the same. Whilst it may not be immediate on the ear with time and repeated playing it soon rewards the listener.
"Dream On" is mellow and bluesey like a more refrained 'Personal Jesus'. "Shine" is traditional DM with throbbing synths and shuffling beats. "The Sweetest Condition" is as close to the sound of "Violator" period DM as it's likely to imagine.
The gorgeous ballad "When The Body Speaks" mixes Gahan's croon with lush strings for after dark intimacy. Next up is "The Dead Of Night" which is maybe the weakest track on the album but is evidence to the fact that the likes of Marilyn Manson and NIN grew up being influenced by DM.
"Freelove" is the stand out track and DM's most melodic moment in years. If this doesn't move you then you have no hear or soul! "Comatose" is a Gore ballad and wouldn't have sounded out of place on 1986's "Black Celebration".
"I Feel Loved" is the albums most upbeat electronic moment and is the sound most people associate with being classic DM. This is followed by another gorgeous ballad, the Gore sung "Breathe"; which is very much a 50's influenced torch song and sounds like it belongs on a Twin Peaks soundtrack!
"I Am You" is pretty much Depeche Mode as usual with some subtle beats and refined electronics. The closing "Goodnight Lovers" is gospel tinted and an anthemic closer on which Gahan's vocal has never sound better.
Don't believe the bad reviews about this album. "Exciter" is a classic DM album if more refined and less immediate than previous efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa476fdc8)

This product

Exciter
Exciter by Depeche Mode (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews