Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best single-disc Paul Simon-collection available
The various Paul Simon-compilations that have been released over the years have been an unsatisfying bunch, leaving out some of his best and most succesful songs in favor of his own personal favorites, so none of those collections can be recommended unreservedly.
But "Greatest Hits: Shining Like A National Guitar" remedies that, and it is by far the best such...
Published on 7 Sep 2003 by Docendo Discimus

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How much money can you earn on the same songs
Those who are new to P.S. will find this cd very good, worth the money and a good introduction. Even though there is alot of songs missing like The Coast, Under African Skies, Duncan, Something So Right, I know what I know, just to name a few.
For those who have Anthology, Paul Simon 1964-93 and others will be very disappointed. Here the conclusion is: Don't buy it!
Published on 4 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best single-disc Paul Simon-collection available, 7 Sep 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The various Paul Simon-compilations that have been released over the years have been an unsatisfying bunch, leaving out some of his best and most succesful songs in favor of his own personal favorites, so none of those collections can be recommended unreservedly.
But "Greatest Hits: Shining Like A National Guitar" remedies that, and it is by far the best such collection ever released, selecting 19 songs from Paul Simon's studio recordings between 1972 and 1997, including all of his ten British chart singles.
Not quite as comprehensive as the double-disc "Paul Simon Anthology", "Shining Like A National Guitar" nevertheless gathers almost all of Simon's very best songs, including "Still Crazy After All These Years", "Graceland", "The Obvious Child", "Mother And Child Reunion", "Slip Slidin' Away", "50 Ways To Leave Your Lover", "Take Me To The Mardi Gras", "Me And Julio Down By The Schoolyard", and of course "You Can Call Me Al".
If you're looking for a place to start, this is it. And if you're looking for just one Paul Simon-collection, this might very well be it as well, especially if you already have the key Simon & Garfunkel-songs (which can be found on "The Paul Simon Anthology").
4 stars - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Compilation. Again!, 8 May 2000
By A Customer
This is an excellent compilation of Paul Simon's solo career spanning both his years with Columbia Records and Warner Brothers who now have the rights to all his back catalogue.From the early days we have Me And Julio... up to the more recent Bernadette.Most fans will have these tracks on several albums already so it is difficult to see who this album is aimed at.Paul Simon solo and with Simon & Garfunkel has so many compilation albums available that they vastly outnmber his albums of original material. Few could fault this collection though the inclusion of Rene And Georgette Magritte And Their Dog is strange.I know few people who like this track which finds Paul at his most pretentious and dull.However, the rest of the album is great and a fine inroduction to the music of Paul Simon.Magic moment- Steve Gadd's drumming on Fifty Ways To Leave Your Lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality collection from a quality singer/songwriter., 16 May 2000
This long overdue compilation of Paul Simon's solo career, containing over 77 minutes of his very best music, has much to commend it. An interesting feature is the imaginative rather than chronological ordering of tracks which provides a sense of unity seldom apparent in 'best of' albums and sadly lacking in the earlier 'Antholgy'. Good sleeve notes and the complete lyrics compliment an impressive package. The fact that no room has been found for the magnificent 'Something So Right' is a pity but no easy omissions could have been made from what is an outstanding collection. If you are already a fan this is still worth buying, especially if there are gaps in your Paul Simon CD collection. If you are new to Paul Simon's work this is a real must. A quality compilation of the work of an outstanding talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Misssisssipi Delta Still Gleaming After All These Years, 5 Dec 2004
By 
scoon2 "scoon2" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a very acceptable compilation of Paul Simon's solo career spanning both his years with Columbia Records and Warner Brothers who now have the rights to all his back catalogue.From the early days we have Me And Julio... up to the more recent Bernadette.Most fans will have these tracks on several albums already so it is difficult to see who this album is aimed at.Paul Simon solo and with Simon & Garfunkel has so many compilation albums available that they vastly outnmber his albums of original material.With the addition of digital remastering, few could fault this collection though the inclusion of Rene And Georgette Magritte And Their Dog is strange.I know few people who like this track which finds Paul at his most pretentious and dull.However, the rest of the album is great and a fine inroduction to the music of Paul Simon.Magic moment- Steve Gadd's drumming on Fifty Ways To Leave Your Lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellece and Emotion and Wit all in one brilliant album!!!, 11 May 2003
By A Customer
I only Heard of Paul Simon when i saw his 'you can call me al' video on VH1 Classic.
It was then i decided to look out for more of his great work.
When i brought this album i enjoyed every song on there especially these:
You can call me al
Mother and child reunion
cool cool river
50 way's to leave your lover
the obvious child
Boy in the bubble
take me to the mardi gras
Me and julio down by the schoolyard
Trust me you cannot go wrong with this album and it belongs in every paul simon fan's collection.
You will love the lyrics as much as the tunes to each song, Please read this and make the right choice by the best paul simon album since Graceland!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent quick fix for Paul Simon devotees, 7 Jun 2000
By A Customer
we have heard all the songs before but somehow this collection sounds fresh and new - the introduction to track one lifts the spirits for what is to come on the disc and sounds especially good on the car cd player. But is the addition of synthesised rhythm necessary on "Cool cool river" -the quiet bit in the middle where normally Paul sings almost unaccompanied is not improved by this addition - and what has happened to "American Tune" - it gets a mention in the excellent sleeve notes but is not on the disc. All in all a great disc for fans and newcomers and we await volume 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A PERFECT INTRO TO AN ARRAY OF TALENT, 29 April 2001
By A Customer
An excellent beginning for those buyers "just wondering" about adding Paul Simon to their c.d. collections. The age of the purchaser will determine as to whether they actually remember any of the "hits" on this collection, but this c.d.can serve as a perfect introduction, not only to the work of Mr. Simon but also to the fantastic musicians he has worked with over the years. Take note of the superb contributions by the African and Brazilian musicians involved, but do not overlook the brilliant contributions from Simon's homeland. Ralph MacDonald, Anthony Jackson, Tony Levin, Mchael Brecker, Dean Parks,the late and much missed Richard Tee and Eric Gale, and, of course the legendary drum work of Steve Gadd.Best Tracks: Late In The Evening, Hearts and Bones, Graceland, Trailways Bus.BUY THIS ALBUM, BUY MORE PAUL SIMON,PICK A MUSICAN AT RANDOM...BUY THEIR SOLO C'D's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 10 July 2000
By A Customer
Before buying this album, I had only bought 'Graceland' of all Paul Simon's solo work. This is a brilliant addition and an illustration of all I have missed! This compilation covers every possible musical style of the last 20-30 years and some of the songs are so familiar, I forgot they were by Paul Simon - the man is a genius and a poet. If you haven't listened to much Paul Simon, buy this album - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A TERRIFIC EXAMPLE OF 'PAUL SIMON'S' SOLO CAREER', 17 April 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'Paul Simon' is one of 'Music's' song-writer ''Greats''
He wrote pretty much all the material during the years alongside 'Art Garfunkel'
and of course for his own 'solo' years.
Although not achieving a 'solo' number '1' here in the U.K. he wrote and sang
some pretty memorable material, he actually had 10 top 40 hits and a couple
that peaked a little below that level, three of the '10' peaked in the U.K Top 10
those being.....'Mother and Child Reunion' (peaked at number 5)....'Take me to
The Mardi Gras' (peaked at number '7').....and...'You Can Call Me Al' (peaking
at number '4')........of course he had quite a bit of success with album sales here
in the 'U.K' perhaps the most memorable of all being 'Graceland' (which I also
own)
This album has 10 of his dozen U.K chart successes on board, only the last two
missing, those being 'Father and Daughter' (2006) and 'Something so Right'(1995)
with witch he featured alongside 'Annie Lennox'
Some of the other tracks many will remember on-board this classic-release (other
than the three earlier listed) 'Graceland' '50 Ways to Leave your Lover' 'The Boy
in the Bubble' 'Slip Sliding Away' 'Late in the Evening' 'The Obvious Child'
and 'Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard'
I have of course listed many of the nineteen tracks on-board, perhaps , for me the
most remembered.
This is a great album to own, reflecting his 'solo' career, certainly if you want just the
one album, this may well be the one to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for sitting in a big chair and just listening, 7 Jun 2000
By A Customer
Although I've never been a big Paul Simon ballads fan this has changed my whole opinion of his work. Every song comes from a different part of the world, and has a different sound. 'Take me to the Mardi Gras' has the kind of beat that makes you think of hot steamy summers, and 'still crazy after all these years' affects me with heart wrenching happiness about lost loves and memories. Listen through the drums, chants and melodies to the lyrics; Paul Simon is a poet, and his words will touch your soul and find inspiration where you never thought you had it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shining Like a National Guitar
Shining Like a National Guitar by Paul Simon (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews