Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A prescription beyond description, 19 Oct 2002
This review is from: Best Dressed Chicken In Town (Audio CD)
A huge hit with punk rockers in the '70s following Johnny Rotten name-checking the album in an interview.
"The Best Dressed Chicken in Town" is one of the finest leftfield reggae albums I've ever experienced. There's a depth to the production which will draw you in helplessly. The sound is sweet and low. Dr Alimantado's toasts are considered and weave beautifully between snippets of vocal mixed in from the original riddims Dr Winston is riding. Throw in some humour - "Johnny was a Baker" - and well you've cracked it.
On this evidence the man was a genius and in the company of Lee Scratch Perry and King Tubby he has produced a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ABSOLUTE classic for Reggae fans., 23 Sep 2001
By 
Colm McGrath "Colm11" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best Dressed Chicken In Town (Audio CD)
Sounds better now than it did in 1977 when I got my first copy on vinyl.This is the album that introduced me to the vocal talents of Gregory Isaacs, Horace Andy and Jackie Edwards to name a few. The pumping bass in Poison Flour, the "sing jay" stylee in Can't Conquer Natty Dreadlocks, the pure brillance of Gimme Mi Gun supported by some sweet vocals from Gregory. Everybody will have the own favourites (me I like them all). A must have for any music lover. If you only have one Reggae in your possession make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lilting roots reggae, 1 Jan 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Best Dressed Chicken In Town (Audio CD)
This reggae classic consists of tracks recorded from 1974 to 1976 at different Jamaican studios. Dr Winston Alimantado is assisted on vocals by legends like Gregory Isaacs and Horace Andy among others. The music is mostly laid-back with a dub feel, a gently lilting and swaying beat with superb vocals. My favourites include the title track with its hilarious chicken sounds, I Killed The Barber with its interesting arrangement and Can't Conquer Natty Dread with its chugging rhythm and hypnotic melody. Part of this album's charm derives from the different production styles that offer plenty of variation and ensure a delightful listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genie. Us, 8 Dec 2008
By 
dexocube (el oh en dee oh en) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Dressed Chicken In Town (Audio CD)
This is without a doubt one of the best deejay records out there and will be adored by anybody who likes reggae, dub or just good music. I really hope this record hasn't been deleted, it's a masterpiece of crazy but sublime lyricism and excellent riddims. Just about every tune on here was sampled at least once during the whole jungle music craze of the 90's, because it is so quotable. How often can you say that about a record? Heavyweight album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic., 13 Jan 2001
By A Customer
A reggae masterpiece, Dr Alimantado is not exactly a household name but it never ceases to amaze me how many people who ask about "that music" if they hear me play it. The album is a true gem...with tracks like Poison flour,I killed the barber, gimme my gun, c'arnt conquer natty dreadlocks EVERY track just flows into the next.Recorded at various studio's including Tubbys,Channel One,Randys and Lee Perrys Black ark.Features guest vocals on some tracks by various reggae legends. If you are a fan of reggae and you have never heard "chicken" then you have not heard AN ABSOLUTE CLASSIC,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Best Dressed Chicken In Town (Audio CD)
It was so good to get this album. I regretted not getting it on vinyl first time round. This album is head and shoulders above most reggae albums. Its up there with Tapper Zukie MPLA and Culture Two Sevens Clash.

Wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Reggae album. Ever!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Dressed Chicken In Town (Audio CD)
I absolutely LOVE this album. I bought it after hearing a mate play 'I killed the barber' and decided that I needed a bit more reggae in my life being a Brixton boy. It's one of the few albums that I can listen to from start to finish with no tracks I'd consider as fillers. It's also really refreshing to hear some proper old skool reggae that, while in parts, mildly glorifies violence, isn't actually offensive.

This album is a real gem and a must for any fans of old skool reggae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Dressed Chicken In Town (Audio CD)
All serious 60's to 80's reggae followers will have a copy of this. Well produced and lyrically artistic. Time to get it on CD I thought and I was not dissapointed. Make sure you have " Born for a purpose " too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars " JUST LIKE THAT ", 1 July 2012
This review is from: Best Dressed Chicken In Town (Audio CD)
WHAT can one say about is record that has not already been said . Philip smart, A Clarke , Pat kelly , Maxie , KING TUBBY are sterling in fact the diversity of the mixing is a large plus . BUT the tittle track !!! the Upsetter and the Doctor . WELL is sounds like Tommy Cooper meets a Catatonic Rasta , "SHEAR BLOODY GENIUS" . The good doctor is the MuhmMAD Ali of toasting , floats like a butterfly stings like a WASP .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Dressed Chicken In Town
Best Dressed Chicken In Town by Dr Aliman (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews