Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly excellent, with a tremendously brilliant quality.
I bought this album having only heard Stupid Kid, which remains among my favourite tracks, and as always I was hoping that all of them would be of similar quality, but i never expected so many great songs as this album provides. The first, Private Eye, has become my distinct favourite, but its one of those albums you can just put on and listen to straight through, without...
Published on 30 Oct. 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I need oxygen!!!!
The opening track 'Private Eye' is a fantastic slice of power punk pop, catchy and engaging riffs, cool lyrics, the whole vibe grabs your attention, it outclasses Green Day for those 4 minutes, unfortunately, the rest of the platter cannot live up to the reputation of the first cut. 'Take Lots With Alcohol' and 'You're Dead' match 'Private Eye' well, but the rest just...
Published on 27 Jan. 2002 by swoon


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly excellent, with a tremendously brilliant quality., 30 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: From Here to Infirmary (Audio CD)
I bought this album having only heard Stupid Kid, which remains among my favourite tracks, and as always I was hoping that all of them would be of similar quality, but i never expected so many great songs as this album provides. The first, Private Eye, has become my distinct favourite, but its one of those albums you can just put on and listen to straight through, without having to constantly stop and select a better track. Its the kind of punk style music i like - a balance between the pop styles of blink 182 and the harder rock styles some bands adopt.
If you like decent punk music, you'll like Alkaline Trio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Not For Stupid Kids, 12 Jan. 2011
This review is from: From Here To Infirmary (Audio CD)
In the seven years that I've owned this album, I have never tired of it. Other albums I bought around the same time have been loved then forgotten about, sitting in my CD rack gathering dust. But not this one. Whilst some people might recommend the first two albums (Goddamnit and Maybe I'll Catch Fire) as being better than this, I really can't see why. Just because something was recorded on a little Indie label nobody had heard of doesn't mean it's a better product. Certainly, the integrity of the band can be discussed in this respect, but the quality of the music, both in terms of production and songwriting, peaked with this album. Whilst the preceding two albums have some blindingly good songs on them (Radio, My Little Needle, Clavicle, Maybe I'll Catch Fire, You've Got So Far To Go, She Took Him To The Lake), From Here To Infirmary barely falters from start to finish. For me, only Stupid Kid and Armageddon lack the same emotional, gritty edge to be found on the other tracks, but they make up for this with energy and exuberance. Plus the sound quality is much improved over the first two albums, which is always a bonus.

The album opener, Private Eye, was in fact the track that got me into the band after I heard it on Kerrang! 3 - it is quite literally a track that grabs hold of you and won't let go. As a statement of intent, the song is masterful, full of bitter yet intelligent lyrics, sung with passion without being whiney and the musicality of it dark and brooding, with a driving intensity. From this point, the album doesn't let up, the rest of the tracks following this template of dark lyricism coupled with poppy yet dark instrumentation. To pull out an individual song as the highlight of the album is, in fact impossible. Every song is a chunk of punky perfection, full of singalong moments and heartfelt lyrics. It really feels like the band are baring their souls on tracks such as Take Lots With Alcohol, Crawl or I'm Dying Tomorrow, resulting in impassioned lines such as "Never ran away for the sake of scars, tried not to move but she was armed, and shots were fired. Now a hole in the head of this wounded liar." Every song is written with a measured intensity that the band have been unable to replicate since this album, as good as some of their other efforts have been. This is the album that the band must forever attempt to measure up to, just as Dookie was for Green Day, or the black album for Metallica. All their output must be measured in relation to this album - "Well, it's good, but not as good as From Here To Infirmary" being my standard assessment of the albums following this one, and preceding it.

The band were hailed as being the future of punk on the release of this album, but for one reason or another it didn't work out - the band seemed to fall into the trap of getting fashionably dark on the following release, Good Mourning, the album artwork being full of coffins, tombstones and other macabre iconography - whilst it was still a decent album, it signified the band losing their way slightly. Crimson confirmed this, being a slightly meandering and lacklustre release, before Agony and Irony came out, sounding like they were taking their cues from bands who'd been in the business half as long as them. It wasn't so long ago that Gerard Way cited Matt Skiba as a huge influence, revering him as some kind of god, and now it seems to be the other way round. Such a shame, but it's alright, because we'll always have From Here To Infirmary to remind us what the band are capable of at the peak of their powers. If you don't already have this album, get it now - it's not only an excellent record, it's an essential piece of modern punk history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb punk rock with a darker side., 8 Oct. 2001
By 
This review is from: From Here to Infirmary (Audio CD)
After falling in love with 'Stupid Kid' and its upbeat catchy punk pop sound, I was surprised and impressed with the rest of 'From here to Infirmary'. But don't be fooled. The album is a dark, brooding lyrical journey accompanied by super catchy melodic punk rock. The topics covered include death, depression, Chicago street life,drink, drugs and hitting rock bottom, so don't expect happy, cheery pop songs about girls and sunshine.
'Private eye' is an amazing opening track, and 'Armageddon' is a really well written song, not to mention catchy, guarranteed to stick in your head for days!
The music is tight, and Skiba's vocals are strikingly different, and a contrast to the other punk pop leaders of the moment eg. New Found Glory and Sum41.
Definitely worth getting if you like the punk rock stuff thats around at the moment, it's refreshingly different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 12 years on. Still makes me smile., 14 April 2013
This review is from: From Here to Infirmary (Audio CD)
Is it wrong i listened to this album every day for months after hearing stupid kid? Is it wrong that after 12 years and approaching my 30th birthday i still adore this record? Is it wrong i play this in the car at an insane volume? Certainly not.

This was my first Trio album and i still think it's the best overall. It's well produced,well rounded and most importantly the songs are very very strong. No filler here.

So the album starts off with "private eye" with it's distinctive guitar riff and menacing lyrics "Maybe someday ill find me a suspect with no ali-by" Classic Matt Skibka.

Next is "Mr chainsaw" not only the best song on the album but possibly the best song the Trio have ever written. I love the pace,fury and passion on this one. It almost feels the song could never end,lyrics are genius too.

Obviously "stupid kid" most people have heard,it's short and sweet. The perfect single. Other highlights include the clever "You're dead" the Aggressive "armageddon" and the UK bonus track "Hell yes".

I like how if you Put "Greenday" and "A fire inside" into a blender this is the result. It's not pop-punk,but it's not too gothic either. The songs never seem forced either,everything sounds from the heart and i love them for this. It's dark but catchy at the same time,maybe that's what makes Alkaline trio special.

Buy this CD and play it to everyone you know. I bet Grannies/toddlers alike will smile,it's that good. 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i take back every word that i said, 6 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: From Here to Infirmary (Audio CD)
Armageddon, mr chainsaw, and stupid kid are worth the admission price alone. A refreshing change to all the th mtv friendly pop punk combos on the market these days. Combining dark and poignant lyrics with infectious and euphoric chord progressions, the alkaline trio are indeed the anethema to all the ascerbic, saccarine tat at the moment. pH scale 14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing., 18 Aug. 2002
This review is from: From Here to Infirmary (Audio CD)
I bought this album over a year ago on the strength of one listen to the single "stupid kid", a modern pop-punk classic. from this i assumed the album to be more of the same, what i got was something entirely different, the music was the same, yet so much darker and more meaningful. it is a voyage of self destruction, drinking and quite often death which i found irresistable.
when i first played the cd i got to hear "private eye" for the first time, it blew me away, and i HAD to play it again once it finished, the sound was imense, and the lyrics completely f**ked. from here i heard my fave alk3 song ever, the unstoppable "mr.chainsaw", words cannot describe this song, but the graphic lyrics and upbeat tempo are two things i love sbout it. next up was hte somewhat different "take lots with alcohol", it was the first song i heard sung by bassist and sometimes singer Dan Andriano, it was much more meloncholic, and sung with great emotion, listen out for the cool break down at the end. then "stupid kid", blinding! "another innocent girl", dan again, emotional again, and slightly slower in tempo, this one is a real grower, and i love it. "steamer trunk" has an awesome, very intense intro, with some really cool bass lines tying it all together, matt sings, not surprisingly about drink in this song, but more so leaving a girl, and coping with this years later. "you're dead" is actually a really nice song, not that you would suspect this from the title, the lyrics however do fit in with the title obviously, matt sings incredibly well, its about losing someone close to you. the album receives a real injection of adrenaline next with "armageddon", i cant really say what its about, but it is as intense as its title suggests. "im dying tomorrow" is just great! its about looking at your life and thinking whether or not you have done things the way you wanted to, and whether or not you have a good time doing so, incredibly uplifting! "bloodied up" is another great tune, moderately paced, with great lyrics, and really catchy guitar work, a real builder aswell, fantastic ending. "trucks and trains" cool double picking intro, with contrasting verses and choruses involving both dan and matt, which works really well. "crawl" is a great closer, its emotional, its dan again, and it rocks!
now heres the thing, this is THE greatest album i have ever bought, i have since bought all of the alkaline trios previous releases, which are all of the same incredibly high standard. no where else will you find such intense lyrics, vocals and music. everything right down to presentation is just spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk With An Evil Snarl, 2 July 2004
This review is from: From Here To Infirmary (Audio CD)
That is precisely what the Alkaline Trio are about, three Chicago natives have made their popularity through tales of lost love, excessive beer drinking and persistant suicide notes.
From Here To Infirmary may not have the immediate glory factor of "Nose Over Tail" or "Radio" but these songs have now put them in the leagues of Green Day and Blink 182.
Starting with a new years binge gone horribly wrong (Private Eye) to a climaxation of turning your back on the higher power (Hell Yes) From Here To Infirmary is not for the queasy or weak hearted.
If your a fan of every punk pop or want something a little more sinister in that genre than give this try along with Good Mourning. :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is great!, 24 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: From Here To Infirmary (Audio CD)
I love Alkaline Trio, but this is the only album I have bought and its fantastic, the tracks are all really catchy and great to listen to, especially Stupid Kid, Private Eye, Another innocent girl, and well pretty much all the others as well! This album is a great album to listen to whenever you feel like it- buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album ever?, 27 Jun. 2002
By 
Oliver James Hill (Winchester, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Here to Infirmary (Audio CD)
The first time i heard the opening track "Private Eye" i was totally blown away, its as close to prefection as a song gets. initally the rest of the album seem a little weak in comparison but after about two or so more listens they all become stuck firmly in your head and leave you walking around, singing and grinning like a goon. the tried and tested love, loss and alcohol formula has been honed to prefection by ALK3 and is a theme for the album.its one of the best albums i've ever heard and if your after dark, meaningful singalong punk then dont pass this by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Damn good, but not as impressive the earlier stuff, 30 Jan. 2004
This review is from: From Here to Infirmary (Audio CD)
I was already an Alkaline Trio fan by the time i heard From Here To Infirmary, and I have to say that while this album was bloody good, it lacked a certain kick-arseness of the EP and Maybe I'll Catch Fire. Don't get me wrong, FHTI is a damn good album, and tracks like Armageddon and Bloodied Up are some of my favourite Trio songs, but as a whole, FHTI lacks the sense of purpose and direction that makes their self-titled EP such a great album to listen to, and also dispenses with some of the qualities that make the other Trio albums so unique. Even so, it's still one of my favourites, and I would have given it more than four stars, but with the other stuff that the Trio have produced, it just can't quite rise up to it.
When it comes down to it, if you like your punk rock one part Blink, one part AFI and one part something else, you should definitely buy this, but while you're at it, pick up some of their earlier stuff. It won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Here To Infirmary
From Here To Infirmary by Alkaline Trio (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews