Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars46
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2004
Plenty of media forms and their artists cite the 'third' installment of their journey's to be the most challenging. The third album/series/film tends to be the make or break. And as you can probably guess from the five stars, it made the Trotters.
Series three is, in this humble narrators opinion, the very best of Only Fools. For sure there are better episodes; the nuclear fall-out shelter, the seance, the holiday to Benidorm and of course, the chandilier and wine bar episodes. But what makes series three stand out is that it has by far and away the greatest concentration of episodes. Whereas other 'Fools series will dip or fall flat, this series is the real gem with consistant episodes all guarenteed to make you howl with laughter.
Much of this is down to the cast, now perfectly gelled and bouncing off each other. The plots are marvellous and ambitious as well; observe Del challenging a psychopath to an imaginary game of snooker "shall we say...a fiver a frame?" and the brilliant but haunting storyline of Rodney falsely accused of rape by a demented middle aged woman called 'Blossom'. It is when you really think about these storylines that you realise how close to the line Sullivan occasionally pushed what was (in effect) a harmless comedy.
Jason and Lyndhurst are predictably flawless throughout the series, but the real star for me (mainly because he isn't with us anymore) is Lennard Pearce. As lovable, dopey Grandad he comes into his own in the plots instead of being merely background laughter such as in 'Homesick', where he feigns exhaustion to try and get the Trotters into better accomodation, but he can still deliver killer lines out of nowhere. "What you got, a Wendy house?" he asks Rodney, after Rod lies about his new self catering business venture on £200, and after Del and Rodney exchange views on the ethics of fishing for money he informs Rodney curtly that it isn't stealing at all..."it's poachin'". As good as Merryfield (Uncle Albert) was, he was always the butt of the Trotters dialogue and could not have delivered such killer lines in the same way as Pearce.
Only Fools series three rates in my mind as the top of the pile, and anyone who wishes to pursue their intake of the sitcom on the back of a couple of scattered episodes could do much worse than buy this DVD.
11 comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2007
Series Three for me was the first series of 'Only Fools and Horses' in which I put my cards on the table and said 'I love this show.' As much as I admired the first two series, I felt there were more superior shows. However after seeing this series I quickly thought (and still think) that Only Fools and Horses is the best television show ever. (Forget the overated 'Fawlty Towers'). This series also contains my all time favourite episode: 'Friday the 14th.'

The moments in this series include: Grandad feigning illness to move houses (which nearly reduced me to emotional tears the first time I watched it without knowing their scam) (Homesick); the 'wendy house' gag (Healthy Competition); the Trotters meeting an insane axe murderer in Cornwall (Friday the 14th); Del falling for an art dealer (Yesterday Never Comes); Roy Slater making his first apperance (May the Force Be With You); Del playing another trick on Rodney (Wanted); the 'canary' episode (Who's a Pretty Boy?) and Reginald Trotter (Thicker Than Water).

Overall, if you only watch one series of 'Fools' watch Series Three as this consists of the funniest episodes. Unfortunately this was the final series with Grandad and 'Fools' would never be the same again.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 May 2008
After two highly enjoyable series of 'Only Fools and Horses', in which the show showed great potential, the third season saw the show go onto the next level, with a variety of interesting and different situations for the dodgy Trotter clan to enjoy, including that of comedy horror. This was the most adventurous series yet, and the cast by now had everything together.

John Sullivan was really upping the game in 1983 and, in my opinion, penned the best episode so far at the time: 'Friday the 14th', which remains one of my all time favourites. How can you not resist the idea of having Del, Rodney and Granddad visiting Cornwall to do a spot of fishing, only to encounter a crazed axe-murderer on the loose? Other great episodes include 'Yesterday Never Comes', where Del thinks he is going to find romance with an antiques dealer, or, in has words: "a posh tart", and 'May the Force Be with You', which introduces Jim Broadbent into the show as Del's old school 'chum' Slater. Each episode is first class, and you won't find one dud on here.

Buy this DVD, and experience the best in British comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
This series features two of my all time favourite episodes of this show, "A Tocuh of Class" otherwise known as the chandelier episode, and "Friday the 14th" an underatted classic episode. This series as a whole is a massive improvement and continues to introduce characters as well as further the development of others. This is the last series to feature Lennard Pearce's character of Grandad and he is missed but his replacement of Albert does speak of him and he is not forgotten. Definately one to pickup if your getting a couple as opposed to the full set. I for example chose to buy Series 1, 3, 5 and 6 as they are my favourites.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2007
Series three of the sublime series could indeed have rested on its laurels and tripped down the same avenues and kept things going down the same line but what series three gave us was the team on top of their game,the actors had become their characters in some ways here and it looks like everyone is having genuine fun,and while this series isnt quite a five star affair,it is very happy in the company of 4.5 out of 5.

The series starts off with 'homesick' where rodney joins the housing commission and as it happens grandad gets ill and the need to move out of nelson mandela house,but is all as it seems,knowing the trotters,proably not.Other classic moments include slater arresting the family in connection with stealing a microwave and and the classic episode where the family paint denzels home while a budgie gets involved as well.There is a lull in some ways with del and rodneys father when he returns but the trotters soon find a way to get rid of a man who left them when they were young to fend for themselves.Series three is the series that really launched the series into classic status and from here on in there was no complaints left to point the shows way.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
This episode of old fools and horses is a funny episodes with great joke and humour.

I think it's one of the greatest episode of old fools and horses
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Series 3 is easily the best OFAH, with every episode a classic, i think it has all the best stories and memorable scenes and quotes,with a wide variety of situations including comedy horror.
I put it above series 1 & 2 as 3 has no poor episodes, think Russians are coming and slow bus to chingford in 1 and ashes to ashes series 2, just to pad out series with only one or two stand out episodes.
The actors and their characters had grown into the roles and were still the characters that viewers bonded with, ie, Del Boy being the street smart wheeler dealer/trader instead of the wannabe executive yuppie he eventually became, the in joke i think being that yuppie is actually a derogatory term for the person he was trying to be.
And Rodney was still the loveable dimwit plonker and not the staight thinking almost student type he later became.
There is a great cameo from the late Peter Woodthorpe as the returning lost father with a devoius reason for returning, this episdoe being the best of the unnoficial xmas specials, as the xmas episodes then were were always the last of the series episoes and not the later extended stand alone ones that we became more familiar with.Pity he didn't show up a few more times, like Jim Broadbent did as crooked cop Slater, and in a different series JIm Norton did as Bishop Brennan in Father Ted, only three episodes but amongst the best.
Series 3 also introduced us to new long term characters Mike the landlord and Denzil,whose first episdoe "Who's a pretty boy" is a real classic with a punchline to die for, but as i've already stated ,there are no bad episodes in this series.
If You're a Fawlty Towers fan, look out for Miss Tibbs(character name),in a bit part in the market in the episode "Homesick".
Watch this series and enjoy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2008
I've just spent an hour this morning looking all over my house trying to find this dvd. Hence me coming here to buy it again. I've got the lot on dvd, with two bottles of 'Peckham Spring Water' acting as bookends. I think this series (along with Series 2 and 6) are as good as comedy gets. The writing here is of a different level and is in a different league to such dross as 'My Family'. 'Fools n' Horses' is what The Beatles are to music. You never get bored of it.

The last ten mins of 'Home Sick' is pure genius, as is Grandad mistaking the microwave for a telly in 'May The Force Be With You' and the great twist in 'Who's A Pretty Boy?'.Top writing, top acting. If the woman you love has left you, get some beers in and put this on. You'll feel loads better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Predictable because of date. But acting is good, and directing is fine enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
brilliant, it's a shame they don't make them like this now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)