Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as Hell!!!
Road Trip - Unseen & Explicit is the uncut version of the box office smash that promises to show us what we didn't see at the cinema.
This film is straight from the American Pie school of comedy. It is set in the University of Ithaca, New York where Josh (Meyer) succumbs to temptation and cheats on his long-term girlfriend Tiffany, who is at university in Texas...
Published on 10 Oct 2001 by Kyri (bl4de2000@hotmail.com)

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusingly stupid
Road Trip is a great film in many ways. It has elements of American Pie mixed in with is, and a good cast lineup.
It takes us on a trip across America in which the characters must hurry to stop the main character's girlfriend (Meyer) from receiving a sex tape he made with another girl.
The idea is superb, and the humour is fresh, witty, and grotesque at the same...
Published on 4 May 2001


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as Hell!!!, 10 Oct 2001
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Road Trip - Unseen & Explicit is the uncut version of the box office smash that promises to show us what we didn't see at the cinema.
This film is straight from the American Pie school of comedy. It is set in the University of Ithaca, New York where Josh (Meyer) succumbs to temptation and cheats on his long-term girlfriend Tiffany, who is at university in Texas. The girl who eventually tempted him is the adventurous Beth (Smart) who, using Josh's camcorder, films their night of passion. His luck changes however when his friend accidentally mails the videotape to Tiffany. This leads to a race against time, as Josh has just three days to drive 1,800 miles and retrieve the tape before Tiffany sees it. So he drags his friends Rubin (Costanzo), E.L (William Scott) and car owner Kyle (Qualls) along for the ride.
The antics that they get up to on the trip are hilarious, from exploding cars to talking dogs and there is a scene that will stop you from ever sending food back when you're in a restaurant. You also don't want to know how they get their mini bus. The film doesn't just focus on the trip though. Barry (Green) has been left in charge of Rubin's pet snake back in Ithaca and the results are hysterical.
I could only find one scene that was not shown in the cinema, probably about three minutes of extra footage. However it was all based in the women's locker room with a lot of nudity so I'm not complaining! The special features on the DVD are deleted scenes, a music video, the making of the film and 2 trailers.
This is an amazing film with plenty of laughs. I was entertained for the entire 94 minutes and I cannot remember one time when I felt bored. Even though it followed in the shadow of American Pie's success, I think it's a lot better. Its one of those films that you can watch over and over again and it will still be funny.
Conclusion: If you own a DVD player then go and buy this. If you don't, then get it on video. This is a must see movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusingly stupid, 4 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Road Trip is a great film in many ways. It has elements of American Pie mixed in with is, and a good cast lineup.
It takes us on a trip across America in which the characters must hurry to stop the main character's girlfriend (Meyer) from receiving a sex tape he made with another girl.
The idea is superb, and the humour is fresh, witty, and grotesque at the same time. Given that this is similar in genre to American Pie, the producers should be given credit for making it that much different.
However, at times, the events become so absurd that they are bordering on being so stupid that they aren't funny anymore. The film also dfoesn't really seem to have a proper conclusion, having a more linear plot which never really builds up tension or suspense, but rather just runs its course from start to finish.
This film is supremely funny, and despite its flaws, I would buy it - if you enjoyed American Pie you will enjoy this. But don't expect it to bowl you over - this film was meant to be a flat comedy and that's all it ever tries to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of its genre for a long, long time, 10 Feb 2004
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I walked out of "What lies beneath" after 15 minutes, went back into the cinema bought a ticket for "Road Trip" Laughed solidly for the duration and then went back in to the first screen sat down beside my fiance and endured the last bit of "What lies beneath". It caused a bit of friction that night but she married me anyway and I've no regrets.
The other reviews that suggest this is cashing in on the success of American Pie are missing the point. There has been a renaisance on the genre of dumb gross-out teen flick. The American Pie franchise has met with greater commercial acclaim and "chicks" are more likely to favour them but Road Trip stands head and shoulders above even the first "American Pie" flick.
It's right up there with Porkys and Revenge of the Nerds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Road Trip, 1 Mar 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
For two films released so closely together, both this film and American Pie were always going to be directly compared. Whereas American Pie at least attempted some form of subtlety and warmth in amongst the jokes, Road Trip is a full on, head first launch into the teen frat college genre and leaves no room for any sort of sentiment at all.
Personally I prefer the route that American Pie took, but I can quite see how this film will appeal to those who prefer their humour a little more "in your face."
The story line is really immaterial and is just an excuse to get as many jokes and gags in along the way, and certainly the film makers have tried their hardest to make each scene funny. There are some truly amusing scenes; the sperm bank for one is great fun.
The one area where I felt the film was simply rehashing the old college frat films like Porky's and Revenge of the Nerds were the plethora of topless young ladies added for decoration. Naked women are fine, but let's put it in some sort of context? Or am I just getting old?
Anyway, all in all, if you don't like this type of film then what are you doing watching it in the first place anyway? If you do like mindless comedy every once in a while then this is definitely worth a go, it might not be all you wished for, but it will raise a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I did not buy this on Amazon., 6 May 2014
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The only reason I'm typing up this review is to ask if there is a non-"unseen" and non-"explicit" (like a normal version) version of this film out on DVD?
I'm no prude, quite the opposite, but zooming in on the boobs in the shower scene (the only thing I actually noticed as different in this DVD version) is neither funny nor clever. It's pathetic and needless.
What is that? Some desperate attempt at satire?
No. It's pointless tinkering.
I used to have an ex-rental copy of this film on VHS and I'm pretty sure it was "unseen" or whatever. It never stooped to flat out zooming in on boobs.
Don't get me wrong, I love boobs, but this is just ridiculous. This film is slightly better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of laughs, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
like the american pie films..... there are so good laughs if you get that type of humor. I didnt get the whole tom greene thing but my bf thought his part was comical!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
this is a christmas present for my sister she will love it will recommend you to others so thank u
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a laugh, my sides hurt., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Took this into work to show the lads and I kid you not they nearly wet themselves..

Laughed or what
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars road trip, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
brilliant funny dvd with lots of adult humour &hilarious situations
in a similar vain to the american pie films but just as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I really like the game and would recommened it to anyone who liked simular films as myself and its interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Road Trip [DVD] [2000]
Road Trip [DVD] [2000] by Todd Phillips (DVD - 2006)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews