Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as Hell!!!
Road Trip - Unseen & Explicit is the uncut version of the box office smash that promises to show us what we didn't see at the cinema.
This film is straight from the American Pie school of comedy. It is set in the University of Ithaca, New York where Josh (Meyer) succumbs to temptation and cheats on his long-term girlfriend Tiffany, who is at university in Texas...
Published on 10 Oct. 2001 by Kyri (bl4de2000@hotmail.com)

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusingly stupid
Road Trip is a great film in many ways. It has elements of American Pie mixed in with is, and a good cast lineup.
It takes us on a trip across America in which the characters must hurry to stop the main character's girlfriend (Meyer) from receiving a sex tape he made with another girl.
The idea is superb, and the humour is fresh, witty, and grotesque at the same...
Published on 4 May 2001


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as Hell!!!, 10 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Road Trip - Unseen & Explicit is the uncut version of the box office smash that promises to show us what we didn't see at the cinema.
This film is straight from the American Pie school of comedy. It is set in the University of Ithaca, New York where Josh (Meyer) succumbs to temptation and cheats on his long-term girlfriend Tiffany, who is at university in Texas. The girl who eventually tempted him is the adventurous Beth (Smart) who, using Josh's camcorder, films their night of passion. His luck changes however when his friend accidentally mails the videotape to Tiffany. This leads to a race against time, as Josh has just three days to drive 1,800 miles and retrieve the tape before Tiffany sees it. So he drags his friends Rubin (Costanzo), E.L (William Scott) and car owner Kyle (Qualls) along for the ride.
The antics that they get up to on the trip are hilarious, from exploding cars to talking dogs and there is a scene that will stop you from ever sending food back when you're in a restaurant. You also don't want to know how they get their mini bus. The film doesn't just focus on the trip though. Barry (Green) has been left in charge of Rubin's pet snake back in Ithaca and the results are hysterical.
I could only find one scene that was not shown in the cinema, probably about three minutes of extra footage. However it was all based in the women's locker room with a lot of nudity so I'm not complaining! The special features on the DVD are deleted scenes, a music video, the making of the film and 2 trailers.
This is an amazing film with plenty of laughs. I was entertained for the entire 94 minutes and I cannot remember one time when I felt bored. Even though it followed in the shadow of American Pie's success, I think it's a lot better. Its one of those films that you can watch over and over again and it will still be funny.
Conclusion: If you own a DVD player then go and buy this. If you don't, then get it on video. This is a must see movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusingly stupid, 4 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Road Trip is a great film in many ways. It has elements of American Pie mixed in with is, and a good cast lineup.
It takes us on a trip across America in which the characters must hurry to stop the main character's girlfriend (Meyer) from receiving a sex tape he made with another girl.
The idea is superb, and the humour is fresh, witty, and grotesque at the same time. Given that this is similar in genre to American Pie, the producers should be given credit for making it that much different.
However, at times, the events become so absurd that they are bordering on being so stupid that they aren't funny anymore. The film also dfoesn't really seem to have a proper conclusion, having a more linear plot which never really builds up tension or suspense, but rather just runs its course from start to finish.
This film is supremely funny, and despite its flaws, I would buy it - if you enjoyed American Pie you will enjoy this. But don't expect it to bowl you over - this film was meant to be a flat comedy and that's all it ever tries to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gross-out on wheels, 28 Mar. 2008
By 
Bianca White "bianc93" (Gosport, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Typical gross-out fare, but very funny. Those long odyssies across the U.S are always a fertile ground for comic or dramatic scenarios. Plumping for the former, the makers of Road Trip have crafted a highly amusing tale that could easily have been termed Road To Damascus, as each character emerges from their experience/ordeal a different person.

But let's not get too serious. 3 college dudes decide to make the long journey from New York state to Texas in order to intercept a dirty video made by the understated hero, Josh (Breckin Meyer). He is joined by friends Rubin and E.L but they need a car so select sheltered, nerdy but likable Kyle to accompany them, with his vehicle. Despite his wimp-like protests all along the journey, it's Kyle who grows in so many ways.
The dynamics between the 4 youths work well, Josh being the most sensible to the highly irresponsible E.L, played by the mischievous-featured Seann William Scott of American Pie fame.

The trek is a race against the clock on two fronts for Josh but they still take time to visit Rubin's grandparents on the way, as well recieving a dubious form of treatment at a clinic, cue the settings for the most shocking and comic scenes of the film.

For me, the only downside of Road Trip is the inclusion of Tom Green's character. Whilst the trip is progressing, we're taken back at intervals to the boys' college, where Green is edging closer to giving a pet snake his feed. Too much time is spent on this non-allegory, the reason the film gets only 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Road Trip, 1 Mar. 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
For two films released so closely together, both this film and American Pie were always going to be directly compared. Whereas American Pie at least attempted some form of subtlety and warmth in amongst the jokes, Road Trip is a full on, head first launch into the teen frat college genre and leaves no room for any sort of sentiment at all.
Personally I prefer the route that American Pie took, but I can quite see how this film will appeal to those who prefer their humour a little more "in your face."
The story line is really immaterial and is just an excuse to get as many jokes and gags in along the way, and certainly the film makers have tried their hardest to make each scene funny. There are some truly amusing scenes; the sperm bank for one is great fun.
The one area where I felt the film was simply rehashing the old college frat films like Porky's and Revenge of the Nerds were the plethora of topless young ladies added for decoration. Naked women are fine, but let's put it in some sort of context? Or am I just getting old?
Anyway, all in all, if you don't like this type of film then what are you doing watching it in the first place anyway? If you do like mindless comedy every once in a while then this is definitely worth a go, it might not be all you wished for, but it will raise a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Road Trip, 3 July 2010
By 
underthethumb (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I watched this film again after not having seen it since the DVD first came out and it is still genuinely funny, if somewhat gross in places. This is especially true for Tom Green who plays the perpetual student who never graduated and Seann William Scott who plays his type-cast since American Pie sex crazed loud mouth.

The story centres around the four college friends taking a road trip across America to retrieve a mistakenly posed sex-tape before the girl friend sees it. The adventures and mishaps along the way are all hilarious and take the film along at a fast pace. The only downside to the film is that it is a little contrived in places mainly told in flashback to allow Tom Green to have a bigger part.

The extras are all interesting to watch with the highlights being the deleted scenes and the Eels music video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of its genre for a long, long time, 10 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I walked out of "What lies beneath" after 15 minutes, went back into the cinema bought a ticket for "Road Trip" Laughed solidly for the duration and then went back in to the first screen sat down beside my fiance and endured the last bit of "What lies beneath". It caused a bit of friction that night but she married me anyway and I've no regrets.
The other reviews that suggest this is cashing in on the success of American Pie are missing the point. There has been a renaisance on the genre of dumb gross-out teen flick. The American Pie franchise has met with greater commercial acclaim and "chicks" are more likely to favour them but Road Trip stands head and shoulders above even the first "American Pie" flick.
It's right up there with Porkys and Revenge of the Nerds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unleash the fury!, 17 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Todd Phillips directed three brilliant and funny films in a row. First there was Road Trip, a hilarious and well cast movie. Tom Green is superb in this film. It's great watching these characters have an adventure in a world that just pre-dates the mobile phone and internet boom. Alot of this film could not be done now. With the existence of E-Mail and texting the plot would not have worked. I've seen Road Trip many times and I always laugh out loud.
The next two films are Old School and Starsky and Hutch. Old School is one of the best comedies ever and Starsky and Hutch is incredibaly funny and one of the few remake/TV to Movie adaptions that works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loads of laughs, 29 May 2012
By 
T. A. J. Leahy "tommygun" (croydon.surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
roadtrip is a brilliant funny film with sick/vulgar humour but all in good taste.for me sean william scott is like jim carey with all the faces and sounds he makes especially at the sperm bank scene just cracked me up and the scene of the old man and dog is just unforgettable.all the cast give great performances.the screenplay is funny and slick and overall the film is fun filled with loads of laighs but definately for the over 15s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still funny after all these years, 29 May 2011
This review is from: Road Trip [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film holds fond memories for me, as I saw it on the day I left college.

The film is still hilarious and has lost none of its edge, and I still think its a lot funnier than the american pie movies, which still leaves me wondering why they never made a sequel to road trip.

Make sure you watch the out takes during the end credits - they contain some moments that are funnier than those in the completed film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 amazing films, 17 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Id you like american pie you will love these two films.

i have watched them many time and trust me you will not get bored if i was to pick which i the better film i would say road trip one but theres no doubt if u havnt seen these films you will laugh your face off.

i have never had a problem with my products they both work very well indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Road Trip [DVD] [2000]
Road Trip [DVD] [2000] by Todd Phillips (DVD - 2006)
£3.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews