Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paulie - A Real Tear Jerker, 15 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Paulie [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
A wonderful childrens adventure about Paulie the talking parrot.
I was laughing and crying at this sad tale with a happy ending.
My 10 year old loves it and so do I.
Paulie`s life is riddled with heart ache and let downs but like all good weepies he gets the girl in the end.
A beautifully made colourful, honest and homely tale for all the family to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paulie, this will make you feel better!, 8 Oct 2002
This review is from: Paulie [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
A super feel good movie, ideal for Sunday afternoons or when you're feeling a bit down and in need of a lift. Paulie, a wise cracking parrot is seperated from his young owner. His motor mouth gets him into bags of trouble and he ends up in the basement of a research establishment, forgotten. That is until a new janitor finds him and Paulie tells his tail (tale). Needless to say a happy ending ensues - one great little film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming tale, 10 Aug 2005
This review is from: Paulie [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Lovely DVD! One for the whole family to enjoy. I'm happy enough for my kids to watch the latest blockbuster action movie with its inevitable violence, but it's great to find gems like this that they can also enjoy - films which are just, well, nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Really Should Listen To What Paulie Has To Say, 3 Jun 2009
By 
H. Hall "H Hall" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paulie [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I know this is a children's film but, I love this heartfelt story about a parrot named Paulie.
Paulie tells the tale from the parrots point of view, telling the caretaker and you the viewer on why he is the way he is.
I loved every minute of this film. Jay Mohr is the voice of Paulie who plays his voice talents very well. Tony Shalhoub plays the caretaker who listens to Paulie's fantastic story.
The story really moved me and why shouldn't it? You get a talking parrot, a caretaker who listens to Paulie's story and fantastic supporting cast like Gena Rowlands, Jay Mohr and Tony Shalhoub.
I give this film 10/10 as you really should listen to what Paulie has to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb children's film - for everyone!, 27 Jun 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paulie [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Paulie takes as its starting point the loyalty of parrots which are apparently very affectionate towards their owners. This one remembers his for decades, it seems ... the film has some sad moments but a lot of sparky comedy too, and the different episodes turn it into a kind of rites of passage movie for the parrot who gets involved in some pretty illegal goings-on, escaping from this into further exploitation - it's a bit like a feathered version of an 18th century novel. Jay Mohr deserves special credit for voicing the parrot so brilliantly, while also taking a role as a most unsavoury criminal. The film doesn't make it clear that it is the same person, as he obviously does a different more parrot-like voice. The idea that parrots can speak for real is not entirely fictitious - I recently read an article about a bird in America that could do just that, and put verbs into the past tense - and it was a teaching book, so presumably quite reliable in its sources. Gena Rowlands also lends a special feeling to the film and the moment when Paulie brings her comb to her - her sight is failing at this point - is a moment of grace it is wonderful to see in a children's film, as I'm sure many would respond to it, and that it would tap into their own sense of kindness. It really is one of a kind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TREAT FOR EVERYONE, 8 Mar 2011
By 
I. A. Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paulie [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is a lovely film. Paulie is a little star. I enjoyed it so much when it was screened on TV that I purchased the dvd for my granddaughter who has since watched it over and over again. The whole family will enjoy this film, with some sad and some highly amusing moments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 22 Feb 2010
By 
ViT (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paulie [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I'm almost embarrassed to say this:

This is one of my all time favourite movies.

I don't even have the excuse of having a child to watch it with! You'll enjoy this as much as the daughter you bought it for but be aware that your eyes may start leaking at some stage through this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paulie, 28 Feb 2010
By 
Jumper (Edinburgh [city of] Scotland. UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paulie [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is best family dvd i have seen in a long time i bought this for my two granddaughter, Who love this film so much i had to buy a second copy for them to take home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paulie, this will make you feel better!, 8 Oct 2002
This review is from: Paulie [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
A super feel good movie, ideal for Sunday afternoons or when you're feeling a bit down and in need of a lift. Paulie, a wise cracking parrot is seperated from his young owner. His motor mouth gets him into bags of trouble and he ends up in the basement of a research establishment, forgotten. That is until a new janitor finds him and Paulie tells his tail (tale). Needlessto say ahappy ending ensues - one great little film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Parrot Lovers, 3 Nov 2009
By 
V. Hayes "Koko's Mom" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paulie [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I love this movie - I have it on DVD and Video. If you love parrots this is a must to your collection and perfect for the entire familu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paulie [DVD] [1998]
Paulie [DVD] [1998] by John Roberts (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £7.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews