Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine Piece Of Power Metal
Before Dragonforce engulfed the power metal scene these guys had been kicking around for somewhile,and released some very good albums,but if you are interested in Kamelot this is a very good place to start,their album before this 4th Legacy was a very nice piece of work but lacking in production,this album is very well produced indeed.

The production is very...
Published on 25 April 2007 by Mr. A. Clement

versus
3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not like the old-stuff, too much like Dream Theater.
I bought this album on the strenght of some of the older stuff i'd heard. Expecting a band in the Iron Maiden mould, I instead got a Dream Theater exact-soundalike.
This is a record of DIO-style medievil tendencies (not meaning that its brutal) - it is all Ukelele, Mandolin and Goblin/Fair Maiden embued.
Tight musically. The drums are good, the guitar work OK...
Published on 5 Sept. 2001 by marsh_p@yahoo.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine Piece Of Power Metal, 25 April 2007
By 
Mr. A. Clement "alzmail" (Milton Keynes/UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Karma (Audio CD)
Before Dragonforce engulfed the power metal scene these guys had been kicking around for somewhile,and released some very good albums,but if you are interested in Kamelot this is a very good place to start,their album before this 4th Legacy was a very nice piece of work but lacking in production,this album is very well produced indeed.

The production is very fine and crisp and compliments the songs greatly,it sounds very like a Flemming Rasmussin product but its not.

What we have here is a very powerfull and very melodic album,not as complex as Dream Theatre but these are talented musicians.

There's alot of very up tempo tunes which really get you going and they are melodic enough to keep stuck in your head for a long time. The vocalist Kahn is on top form with a sometimes haunting vocal style which is very clear and very distinctive.

The guitarwork of Thomas Youngblood is very very good indeed,a real tight rythm,quite heavy at times,great structured solo's and some beautifull acoustic work on the beautifull 'Don't You Cry'(a real favoutite of mine).

After a stoncking first 9 tracks there is a nice 3 track story covering Elizabeth Bathory(The Female Count Dracula To Some),they top off this album fantastically.The last song just sticks in your head for a very long time.

Some friends of mine feel this album is a little soft but i think it's a power metal classic and definately worth being in your collection,it'a moderately heavy up tempo and has great songs on it and fantastic production on it,if you want to try out Kamelot I'd say this is definately the best to start off with...It's awesome and will stand the test of time for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasure To Discover, 2 May 2007
By 
ESP (Dudley, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Karma (Audio CD)
With my limited knowledge of the rock genre, I'll keep it simple. If you enjoy Rainbow whilst still under the influence of Ronnie James Dio and Ritchie Blackmore, the music of vintage Magnum and like the sound of Stratovarius (Elements I & II and Infinite) but prefer the smooth lyrical voice of ZP Theart of Dragonforce (without the frantic speed characteristic of their songs), then I recommend you give this American outfit a listen.

I can imagine that there are those who will class them as `middle of the road' rock, playing `safe' and not pushing the envelope. However, I find them well worth listening to and am glad I came across them whilst browsing that wonderful source of all things you never knew existed: the Web.

"Karma" is the second album of theirs I have purchased - I began with their live double CD, "One Cold Winter's Night", which is a great showcase of their material. This is particularly so as the lead singer, Khan, sounds great live, rather than disappointing the listener due to lack of studio assistance.

I wouldn't say that "Karma" is a great album, but it certainly proves to be an enjoyable listen if you don't like your rock too raw and thunderous. Very tuneful, melodic music augmented by orchestral arrangements to provide an effective counterpoint to the driving drums and guitars. A well-balanced combination that works well for me.

Both albums have been such that I carry riffs and melodies around in my head long after the CD has stopped spinning. I will certainly be purchasing more - and catching their gig locally in October 2007.

So, yes, I largely second the review by Mr. A Clement. Check out the further reviews of the 2001 pressing for more opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid power metal., 20 Oct. 2002
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Karma (Audio CD)
Kamelot are led by Khan, who has the best set of pipes this side of Geoff Tate, and Thomas Youngblood, a competent guitarist, especially as a rhythm player.
This album uses a combination of fast, double-bass led songs, a few mid-paced numbers and a couple of ballads, all well executed, expertly produced, and superbly sung. There's no screaming, the vocals are the calm within the onslaught of speed riffs. In fact, sometimes I wish they'd use a regular beat instead of the double bass + muted tremolo-picked bass string speed approach.
Interestingly they also use a string section and a flautist very effectively, and some of the simple piano lines make a nice addition to the arrangements, especially the title track.
The lead guitar (always important) is quite brief, not virtuoso standard (John Petruci has nothing to worry about) but good enough.
Overall a good buy for fans of fast metal with good vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Power Music, 27 July 2007
This review is from: Karma (Audio CD)
I choose the title carefully as, once again, the phrase power *metal* does not really do this type of music justice. This has got to be one of the most anthemic awesome rock CD's that I have ever purchased. There is a great variety of different music styles on offer. Yes there is some metal with the the final track "Elizabeth" actually quite heavey, but even that fades out into an almost techno-esque outro.

The title track "Karma" is the best on the album, an awesome power anthem with a chorus that gets inside your head (and soul) and won't leave. In places there are overtones of Marillion in their latter days, but Khan is a better vocalist than Hoagy. Quite a few ballads and softer songs on the album and I swear I heard a hint of Clannad.

Whatever your music tastes (and mine range from classical to trance) this album is a superb treat and should have a place in any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Timer, 1 Feb. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karma (Audio CD)
This was my first Kamelot CD, and I'd say that it did take a few plays before it grew on me. Now the album has 5 tracks that I definatly like. Forever, Wings of Despair, The Spell, stand out as good Melodic Rock.
Across the Highlands, and Karma very atmospheric with Celtic and Arabic tones repectively.
The Vocals are clear, the guitars and keyboards combine well as does the drum and bass so as not to overpower the tracks.
The album has made me want to buy other Kamelot Albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best metal albums of all time., 24 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Karma (Audio CD)
This album is by far the bands best recording and one of my personal favourites. It's just got everything; emotion, melody, aggression, sentiment and amazing songwriting and performance (i could go on for days). There's nothing bad about it. This is a must have for power metal fans and even regular metal fans. It's superb in every way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent metallic meditations on mortality!, 4 July 2012
This review is from: Karma (Audio CD)
A very fine power metal album, "Karma" is a series of songs on the theme of death.

All manner of mortality is covered - from the young lovers untimely parted by death ("Forever"), to guitarist Tom Youngblood's personal tribute to his late father ("Don't You Cry"); from an evil tyrant willing to trade his entire kingdom for a deathbed forgiveness of his crimes ("Karma") to a musical interpretation of the film "Highlander" with its cast of doomed immortals ("Across The Highlands"); and ultimately to a trilogy of songs about the legendary Hungarian Countess Elizabeth Báthory de Ecsed, who allegedly bathed in the blood of virgins to retain her youth ("Mirror Mirror", "Requiem for the Innocent" and "Fall From Grace".)

The music is excellent, with strong melodies allied to Maiden-style galloping riffs. Roy Khan's voice is in splendid form, Youngblood's solos are impressive, and the rhythm section is rock solid.

But it's the little touches that make this album a bit special. The operatic backing vocals are used sparingly but are very effective; clever instrumental fills add to the atmosphere (e.g. the brief snatches of a Scottish reel in "Across The Highlands"), and a "classical" feeling is produced by orchestral backing on some songs - and by a string quartet playing to particularly lovely and moving effect on "Don't You Cry". (As someone who also lost his father at a very young age, I empathise with Kamelot's guitarist and find this song especially touching.)

All in all, a melodic metal gem; even people who claim not to like heavy metal would probably like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soaring, emotive Power Metal at it's pinacle, 19 April 2002
This review is from: Karma (Audio CD)
That this isn't like their old stuff. But, this shouldn't be slated! This is absolutely awesome! If you like the new wave of Euro/Power Metal, check it out! Some amazing, uplifting, but oh-so-catchy couruses. No, it's not full on, or particularly aggressive, but Power Metal never was!
Get this!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely loved this album!, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karma (Audio CD)
The music on this album is fantastic, I would definitely recommend it to any Kamelot fans, and to anyone who likes symphonic metal or power metal :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not like the old-stuff, too much like Dream Theater., 5 Sept. 2001
This review is from: Karma (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strenght of some of the older stuff i'd heard. Expecting a band in the Iron Maiden mould, I instead got a Dream Theater exact-soundalike.
This is a record of DIO-style medievil tendencies (not meaning that its brutal) - it is all Ukelele, Mandolin and Goblin/Fair Maiden embued.
Tight musically. The drums are good, the guitar work OK. Khans vocals let this down.
All in all, mediocre at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Karma
Karma by Kamelot (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews