Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SYNTHPOP AND ELECTRODISCO
This fascinating collection starts with Giorgio’s synthpop hits from the late 1960s and early 1970s, of which Looky Looky and Son Of My Father reached the highest chart positions in Europe and the UK. I Wanna Funk With You Tonight dates from 1977 and was released under the name The Munich Machine; Knights In White Satin comes from the same album. From Here To...
Published on 19 May 2003 by Pieter Uys

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WASTE OF MY MONEY
only purchased for from here to eternity,anything else on album would be a bonus,fron here to eterity on this album is not the original single release,it sounds crap.I still have the vinyl and theres a lot of differance,and there is nothing else I liked.so another waste of money for landfill.LEN.
Published 16 months ago by LEN.P


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SYNTHPOP AND ELECTRODISCO, 19 May 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
This fascinating collection starts with Giorgio’s synthpop hits from the late 1960s and early 1970s, of which Looky Looky and Son Of My Father reached the highest chart positions in Europe and the UK. I Wanna Funk With You Tonight dates from 1977 and was released under the name The Munich Machine; Knights In White Satin comes from the same album. From Here To Eternity is a brilliant hypnotic electrodisco track from his 1978 album of the same name, while E=MC2 comes from the follow-up album. Together In Electric dreams appears on the soundtrack of a popular movie from about 1984, but tracks like Reach Out an To Be Number One were unfamiliar to me. Of course, if Giorgio Moroder had to compile all the great hits he produced for artists as diverse as Donna Summer, Blondie and Sigue Sigue Sputnik, it would take a box set to accommodate them all. This album gives a good overview of the solo outings of this synth pioneer though. Recommended to all fans of Kraftwerk, Depeche Mode, The Pet Shop Boys and Gary Numan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars forget electronica - this is the real thing, 8 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
In these days of electronica craze and hype for anything 80s it is easy to forget this italian genious. Back in 1977 he created techno, Kraftwerk may be the pioneers of electronic music but Giorgio is the godfather of electronic disco. The most interesting tracks on this collection are those between 1977 and 1980. When you listen to this colection you suddenly realise how much more fun it is than any new house record by basement jaxx or daftpunk or any other clubartist. Giorgio Moroders music will be rememberd from here to eternity. DIZKO rules
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection, 22 Sep 2001
By 
Arnaud de Bonald (Paris, Paris France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
A nice collection from Moroder's work from about 1970 to 1990. It's hard to tell if this CD is representative of Moroder's work during two decades because he wrote / produced so many artists. Repertoire Records could really have done a real box set. But still, it's a nice 'Best of' collection with many Moroder classic tracks. If you like electro-disco, you will love this CD. then you will have to find Moroder's old records as used vynil if you want more, that's the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop and disco genius, 7 Mar 2006
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This fascinating collection starts with Giorgio's synthpop hits from the late 1960s and early 1970s, of which Looky Looky and Son Of My Father reached the highest chart positions in Europe and the UK. I Wanna Funk With You Tonight dates from 1977 and was released under the name The Munich Machine; Knights In White Satin comes from the same album. From Here To Eternity is a brilliant hypnotic electrodisco track from his 1978 album of the same name, while E=MC2 comes from the follow-up album. Together In Electric Dreams appears on the soundtrack of a popular movie from about 1984, but tracks like Reach Out and To Be Number One were unfamiliar to me. Of course, if Giorgio Moroder had to compile all the great hits he produced for artists as diverse as Donna Summer, Blondie and Sigue Sigue Sputnik, it would take a box set to accommodate them all. This album gives a good overview of the solo outings of this synth pioneer though. Recommended to all fans of Kraftwerk, Depeche Mode, The Pet Shop Boys and Gary Numan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars moroder best of cd, 11 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
Now that's a cd i should've bought when it came out why didn't i? Better get it now before i forget again! 2nd hand copy looks very good value, ordered & delivered within a week very good. now what other cd's did i forget 2 buy when thet came out??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WASTE OF MY MONEY, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
only purchased for from here to eternity,anything else on album would be a bonus,fron here to eterity on this album is not the original single release,it sounds crap.I still have the vinyl and theres a lot of differance,and there is nothing else I liked.so another waste of money for landfill.LEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of
Best of by Giorgio Moroder (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews