Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy genius
The worst thing about watching a Hicks video or listening to a Hicks CD is the moment it ends and you realise that this man is no longer around... it's a sad emptiness made all the more profound by the scarcity of any material for those of us he left behind.
Bill Hicks was a genius... the funniest man ever to step up on the stage, and a ferociously caring individual...
Published on 21 Jan 2003 by Dr. Michael Heron

versus
46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly produced DVD
Revelations is probably Bill Hick's best show on recording, so with the documentary this should be the greatest Bill Hicks DVD out there - but it isn't.

Revelations is seriously let down because the first 10 minutes or so of this issue have been badly edited, so rather than Bill coming on stage and the comedy keeps rolling, instead what we get is Bill on stage...
Published on 17 Aug 2007 by Brian Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly produced DVD, 17 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Totally Bill Hicks - It's Just A Ride/Revelations [DVD] (DVD)
Revelations is probably Bill Hick's best show on recording, so with the documentary this should be the greatest Bill Hicks DVD out there - but it isn't.

Revelations is seriously let down because the first 10 minutes or so of this issue have been badly edited, so rather than Bill coming on stage and the comedy keeps rolling, instead what we get is Bill on stage - cut to 30 secs later - cut to 30 secs later, etc. We never get to see Bill's feelings on leaving LA "Bye, Bill, we'll be good!" and the choppy editing is annoying.

But worst is that for some unfathomable reason, whoever edited Revelations on this DVD release also decided to fade in images from the background during Bill's performance. So we get to see a burning US flag suddenly fill the picture, and at another point, the head of a baby with accompanying child noises. It's distracting, annoying, and entirely pointless.

If you really want a recording of Revelations to view, don't buy this release - instead get a standalone which hasn't been butchered the way this one has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy genius, 21 Jan 2003
By 
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Totally Bill Hicks - It's Just A Ride/Revelations [DVD] (DVD)
The worst thing about watching a Hicks video or listening to a Hicks CD is the moment it ends and you realise that this man is no longer around... it's a sad emptiness made all the more profound by the scarcity of any material for those of us he left behind.
Bill Hicks was a genius... the funniest man ever to step up on the stage, and a ferociously caring individual who struck out at the hypocrisy and mediocrity that threatens to consume us all. This performance is one of his finest... the documentary is somewhat dull... it's just not possible to capture the essence of Bill any better than he did himself on stage. The show that follows it however is dazzling and hilarious and thought-provoking and moving, all at once. The material is delivered with a confidence and assurance that speak to a man who learned his craft with the other greats of his day, and surpassed them all.
Although the references to current political events are somewhat dated, there is a truth and relevance in the central tenats that remains valid even today, almost ten years after his death. His fight was never at people or events, but at trends and philosophies.
Bill Hicks is the comedian's comedian... someone who surpassed the laughter and took his audience with him to visit a place where the complacent media have refused to do... the truth.
He will be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life-changing, 12 Jan 2006
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Totally Bill Hicks - It's Just A Ride/Revelations [DVD] (DVD)
You read that title right.
It's criminal that there are so few 'real' Bill Hicks performances available, but Totally Bill Hicks is the best of the bunch. The DVD contains a featurette about Hicks' life, and a live show recorded in London just a few months before his untimely (understatement) death.
The featurette 'It's Just a Ride' is brilliant. It plays before the live show on the DVD, and strangely enough, I find myself watching it the whole way through every single time. Aswell as showing us some brilliant bits from other shows (I absolutely love his explosive rant at commercial pop music) we get to hear from the people who knew him best, including his close friends, colleagues and even his family.
Revelations, the show itself, is pure Bill Hicks at his best. As Jay Leno also mentions in the featurette, it's noticeable that Bill was in a slower but more productive phase. That's not to say he puts on a dull performance here; he is angry, loud, pissed off, and not afraid to say or do what he wants.
What's sad is that while Bill does joke about things like the Persian gulf war, you can tell it was a subject that genuinely saddened him. He dreamed of a peaceful, explorational world (where we all make money doing nothing) yet was stuck in one of utter banality that was killing itself.
Bill Hicks was and still is an utter inspiration, in terms of being who you really are, in terms of taking what you can from the world, and in understanding everything you want to understand. The world is a colder place without Bill Hicks. But then again, it's just a ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ......" I'm not really a heavy smoker any more, I only get through two lighters a day now "......, 13 April 2004
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Totally Bill Hicks - It's Just A Ride/Revelations [DVD] (DVD)
If you prefer your comedy simple and light then look away now - Bill Hick's comedy is both intelligent and clever and his topics range from the Iraq war to drug abuse. In this 70 minute long stand up show he provides a social commentary as well as satirically ridiculing the political world. He talks about issues that were relevant at the time of his performance and are increasingly more relevant now. Most importantly he can tackle such serious issues and still be funny, and in some cases hilarious. His comedy is full of excellent examples; especially when he compares US foreign policy to a scene from the film Shane ("pick up the gun!!"), and also when he explains how the USA sold "farming equipment" to Iraq. Then there's the advise to all people who work in Marketing - "kill yourself!" and trying to work out why there's no mention of dinosaurs in the Bible.

Bill Hick's idea was to spread his Liberal philosophy to the masses and still make you laugh at the same time, in a similar way to Michael Moore. As a result you get a defiant and uncompromising comic genius rarely seen in this day and age. As a performer he was in the habit of thinking on his feet and his body language showed his passion for his beliefs, - which he wasn't afraid to share. He openly admits his appetite for pornography and his taste for drugs ("not all drugs are good, some are great."). He was also a good physical comedian displaying some hilarious facial expressions and going more and more OTT as the show progresses.

Clearly the DVD should have been better prepared. There is no proper menu and no scene index. The DVD consists of 2 Featurettes; a documentary and a live stand up show called revelations, but these are not under separate options. Instead the live show just follows on from the documentary. It's a shame because not only does it cause inconvenience to the viewer, but the quality of the contents deserves a better package.

The documentary is about 30 minutes long where many prominent members of Bill's life share their views with us. You also get to see clips of the show One Night Stand where Bill had a regular slot; the very best of this show is available separately. The highlights of the documentary are the interviews of his immediate family including his mother, father and brother.

I believe that anyone who watches his performance will begin to question the world we live in. The effect will last long after the show has finished, his views may be bleak but they are impossible to ignore. Ultimately he was a peaceful man who wanted peace for everyone - God bless you Bill Hicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cut through the propaganda - experience Bill Hicks., 15 Sep 2001
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Totally Bill Hicks - It's Just A Ride/Revelations [DVD] (DVD)
The 45 minute documentary is a very interesting, if too brief, examination of who Bill was, and what his work was about, with contributions from his friends, parents and other comedians. His website (Sacred Cow Productions for those who are interested) will give people much more info. The performance in London, at about an hour and ten minutes, is one of the very best, perhaps THE best, that I've seen. The humour is dark, challenging, intelligent, informed and hilarious, but he always manages to maintain values of truth, justice, integrity and freedom in everything he discusses, be it pornography, the Gulf War, fundamentalist Christianity, drug use, or even as his alter ego Goat Boy! I can't recommend this too highly for those with a taste for dark, very clever humour, and also for those with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As long as we're talking shelf life..., 20 Oct 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Totally Bill Hicks - It's Just A Ride/Revelations [DVD] (DVD)
The late great prophet Bill Hicks. What can you say about a man whose changed so many lives? A friend introduced me to Bill's comedy back in 1998, I'd never laughed so much in my life. But underlying the laughs, is a serious undertone that makes you sit-up and listen, and begin to question your ideals.
Personally, I would fully recommend any of Bill's stuff and 'Totally Bill Hicks' is an excellent place to start, allowing you to find out about Bill's life in the documentary, and then watch probably the greatest show Bill ever did, his last. Be warned though once you listen to Bill, you'll never be the same. Truly a Bodhisattva. I would have loved to hear what Bill made of recent events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly life changing, 18 May 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Totally Bill Hicks - It's Just A Ride/Revelations [DVD] (DVD)
Like one of the reviewers has already said, Bill Hicks is a truly life changing experience. The energy and intelligence in his brutal but brilliant humuor has to be seen to be believed.
I am a writer, and his incredible ideas are a great inspiration to me, not just for their subject matter, but they way they were delivered. He has magnificient charisma on stage and an incredibly inventive imagination. It is truly a terrible shame that he died so young - if he were alive today he would still be one of the few great comic performers of the world. He would also surely have one or two things incisive things to say about the current president of the USA.
But I don't think he would have wanted us to mourn too much over his loss - but to use his work as an inspiration for our own lives and work.
A true master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Second Coming, 5 Dec 2002
By 
MR R M AP-HYWEL (Caerphilly, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Totally Bill Hicks - It's Just A Ride/Revelations [DVD] (DVD)
If you have a favourite comedian (or Preacher, for that matter) be prepared to forget their entire existence. Bill will not only make you laugh, he will make you think about life in a way you never dreamed or thought possible. He will make you feel that you are looking at our world clearly for the very first time.
Bill Hicks was more than just an intelligent hilarious comedian, and this DVD not only gives a documentary but a live show of a man who's life has been cut tragically far too short.
WARNING - once you have watched Bill Hicks you life may never be the same again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spread the word, 28 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Totally Bill Hicks - It's Just A Ride/Revelations [DVD] (DVD)
Bill Hicks is probabaly the funniest comedian I have ever seen. His comedy is intelligent, political and still very relevant more than a decade after his death.
This DVD shows Bill's last performance and he is in London on top form.
Two of my friends have this DVD already so I've seen it about a dozen times and after I've written this I'm going to buy it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight from the hip, 20 Dec 2003
By 
Ceri Davies (Nr Cardiff, Wales United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Totally Bill Hicks - It's Just A Ride/Revelations [DVD] (DVD)
From learning about the real Bill Hicks via the informative documentry from Bills family and friends to one of the greatest stand up routines ever seen!! Bill tells it straight, unafraid to ruffle a lot of feathers in the worlds of politics, religion and censorship to every day things such as television. We find out Bill lived life to the fullest honing his stand up routines in comedy clubs when we at the same age were tucked up in bed or finishing school work. Simply a genuis a perfect mix of comedian and rock star that along with Lennon, Hendrix, Morrison and Marley from the music world through to the comedy world of Belushi, Candy and Farley all were lights taken away from us much too early. Take a ride and be prepared to think of things from a truly enlightened perspective that will have you thinking long after the disc finishes. Bill says "Its just a ride" and I say "What a ride!The greatest rollercoaster the world has ever seen!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews