Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest courtroom drama yet made
Preminger's "Anatomy of a Murder" is possibly the finest courtroom drama yet made, with emphasis on 'courtroom'. The dissection of the murder's anatomy takes place within the court, within the language and conflicting narratives of the key players. We don't see the events surrounding the murder ... we see the trial.
It's a simple enough plot. A soldier (Ben...
Published on 26 Mar 2005 by Budge Burgess

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic film
Bought this as another classic film for our collection. It is not however my favourite film although but well acted.
Published 11 months ago by Kayakkid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A great film, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
suitable for all the family and made a great Father's day gift. Plot easy enought o understand for children, without being too explicit. A nice personal twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Courtroom Drama, 10 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. Marilyn A. Rice "RR" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
With words such as "rape" and "bitch" this was a very controversial movie in it's day and the acting performances from James Stewart, Lee Remick and Ben Gazzara are first class, which James Stewart was nominated for an oscar for his wonderful performance as the small town lawyer. Arthur O'Connell and George C Scott were also nominated for academy awards for their watchable supporting roles amd the movie was nominated for a total of 7 oscars including best picture. The movie didn't win any oscars because that year the classic biblical epic "Ben hur" won a total of 11 oscars. The black and white picture qulaity goes very well with the movie and Otto Preminger uses no flashbacks which makes the audience use their imagination like Sidney Lumet's classic "Twelve angry men". If you haven't seen this classic movie, then it's well worth buying and it's also worth buying "Twelve angry men" with Henry Fonda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anatomy of Murder DVD, 7 Sep 2012
By 
J. H. Gibson (QUORN UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Apart from having James Stewart etc in the cast and the brilliant background to the credits, at the beginning, by Saul Baas (Bass?) - in days before 'special effects' it is wondrous to watch JS as a lawyer researching the libraries and dozens of books for his case when now just a couple of Google clicks would give all - ah, technology but what are we doing with all this saved time being busier than ever . . . a most enjoyable watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmie Stewart at his best, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Excellent movie. the DVD arrived promptly, was well packed and lived up to all expectations. They certainly knew how to act in those days. GREAT STUFF !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtroom shenanigans, 10 Jun 2012
This review is from: Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is quite simply the best courtroom drama ever put on film, a drop-dead combination of intrigue, tension and laconic humour, with a highly literate script and great performances all round. Lee Remick is gorgeous and seductive as the possibly 'raped' wife in the case. Ben Gazzara is marvelously ambiguous as the accused killer of his wife's supposed rapist. George C. Scott is riveting as the prosecuting attorney fencing with Jimmy Stewart, the latter portraying, brilliantly, a defense lawyer whose air of amiable distraction hides a brain as sharp and cold as a blade. Directed impeccably by Otto Preminger and with a sublime jazz score by Duke Ellington, this is one of the classic black & white movies of the late 1950s. They don't make 'em like this any more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 16 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Although black and white and long, this film is excellent and very worth watching, not only because of the quality of the acting and film itself, but also because of the most unusual way in which the story unfolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I got this especially as Lee Remick was in it.; my favourite actress. She gave an incredible, authentic, yet genuine performance. A must have all for Lee's fans. Superb acting by all, including supporting actor/actresses. It is a long film but far from boring. I was engrossed throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars slowly slowly, 3 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
james stewart at his best in this long drawn out thriller. although noyt his best film in my opinion, Harvey was, he really wind s the tension up by his excellent acting and you know you have seen a good film the time it ends,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Panty Party Pooper Strikes Again, 24 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
6 x 5 star reviews and I'm wondering why I can't feel the same. It sustains interest despite its length its true. James Stewart is excellent as is the reptilian George C. Scott. A marvellous pairing. Ben Gazzara and Lee Remick are subtly unsympathetic, guilty of lots of failings which makes the thing complex in plot and characterization. There are some very amusing courtroom scenes when we get there and the judge is excellent too. Because we can't really care about the accused and his wife we are thrown back on the buddy-buddy-buddy relationship of Stewart, his secretary and his sidekick which is actually rather cliched: drunken washed-up guy finds salvation in small sacrifices and work. Secretary presumably has yen for Jimmy but it never comes out because he's too interested in fishing. Stewart decides to take the case after lapsing into legal lassitude because he is bored with it all? It's one last case etc and chance to prove his worth because he feels there has been a great miscarriage of justice? No, because there are plenty of worse miscarriages to stand up for. And in the coutroom, you feel he wins a lot of the points too easily. And I am not convinced that the dead man's daughter would be so easily persuaded in the crucial moment. It's well-crafted but I'm not going to watch it again next week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD review, 29 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Excellent service. Will have no hesitation to order from this supplier again.

Carolyn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001]
Anatomy Of A Murder [DVD] [2001] by Otto Preminger (DVD - 2001)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews