Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
I love this film, simply for me because it is beautiful.
The fight scenes are breath-taking, the musical score is so haunting (using the Cello to great effect) and the story-line is one long roller coaster ride of twists and turns.
Anyone who dismisses it because of the flying sequences is probably unaware of the wirework used in a hell of a lot of martial arts...
Published on 8 Nov. 2005 by D J W Smith

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ORIGINAL FILM IS FANTASTIC, DVD VERSION NOT SO GOOD
One of the things I loved most about the film when I saw it at the cinema was the way in which the language was translated so well into English. The use of language was beautiful and moving and in keeping with the whole essence of the film. When watching the DVD I wanted to see it as it was intended, Madarin with subtitles. BE WARNED! I have no idea why but the...
Published on 22 Jan. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon - No 9 - All Time List 2008, 8 April 2008
This review is from: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I initially had grave doubts about this film - however those doubts were plain and simply wrong. This film has just about everything you could ever want from a movie. It has epic fight scenes, contains beautiful landscapes, martial arts of the finest order and contains one of the most moving and simple love stories even portrayed in cinema.
Michelle Yeoh and Zhang Ziyi performances are first rate. The cinematography is outstanding. This is fiction not reality.

For the philistine there is an English dubbed version, alternatively you can watch in Mandarin with subtitles. Absolutely beautiful is the best way to describe this film, if you are looking for a Chinese made Kill Bill - look away - yes this has fights scenes but they are almost poetic and not bloody. I think the reason this film suffers on the rating (I.e. not the five stars it deserves) is because people are going into this film expected a Kill Bill / blood-a-thon and unfortunately for the average 18 year old this film will be too much for them. Those that can saviour this masterpiece for what it is will be rewarded.
I need not summarise this film, just watch it and let it do the talking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaks the mould in style, 24 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I find it quite hard to believe that I am actually sitting here, writing a review, that praises a kung fu movie in the way that I will proceed to do. Not often do films that are placed in this genre evoke such widespread acclaim, particularly those that are of a foreign language and manage to entrance both the critics and the box office.
What I will say is watch this film.
Don't let any other comments dissuade you because I can virtually guarantee that if you don't like this film, you will love it. Don't feel it is necessary to know the plot prior to watching it, although coherent and intelligent it isn't the plot that wins this film its awards, its real beauty lies in its wonderfully choreographed fight scenes and sensitive acting of all its cast.
I could go on and on, I won't, but there is one final note. Unless you find reading really distracting I would implore you to watch the subtitled version. This way the fantastic expression portrayed by the characters is not lost through the cheesy dubbing into english. Subtitles make the audience pay closer attention and this particular film deserves all the attention given and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 15 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
What seems to be lost on many of the 1 star reviewers is that this is a fairy tale. Many expected a 'realistic' film where 1 man destroys entire legions of adversaries with the flaming fist of Wuhan.

I suspect many also complained about the lack of health and safety application in Charlie and the chocolate factory....!?

I am not going to go over old ground as this has been reviewed to death but trust that this a beautiful film when taken as is, which will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service and good product, 9 Oct. 2009
By 
R H. (Hillsboro, OR USA) - See all my reviews
First of all I have to say that service from Amazon.uk is excellent. I ordered Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon blu-ray from here because it is not available as a stand alone movie in the US. I was EXTREMELY happy to find that shipping costs were very low and delivery time was incredibly fast. Conversion to US dollars was almost seamless. In other words I will certainly do this again!. Great job!

The movie in blu-ray was excellent all around. It is a great movie but that I already knew from the standard DVD that I own. The blu-ray was fantastic however with greater detail and more vibrant color. Shadow detail seemed better as well. In some ways it was like watching the movie all over again. There was some grain present as well as some image softness but that might have more to do with filming technique rather than flaw in the transfer. Overall a very good transfer to blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martial Arts with Arthouse Drama, 23 Sept. 2007
By 
Mr. D. J. Underwood "Excessional" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I thought it about time I reviewed this film as I've covered a couple of the more recent ones in this genre - but this is the film that first introduced me (and many others I think) to the potential delights of chinese wuxia films. The director, Ang Lee, had already demonstrated his craft with 'The Ice Storm' and 'Sense and Sensibility', but this was a whole new challenge bringing a subtitled dramatic film to western audiences.

The plot? In 19th century China, respected warrior Li Mu Bai (Chow Yun Fat) decides to lay down his sword - the famous Green Destiny, and sends it with Yu Shu Lien (Michelle Yeoh) to be kept safely but it is soon stolen and they set out to recover it. Li Mu Bai is on the lookout for Jade Fox, long time foe and his masters' assassin who has been seen in the area whilst Shu Lien looks to befriend the troubled Jen (Zhang Ziyi) who is shortly to be married but who struggles with her desires to live free of social conformity.

The plot though does not really do justice to the visual aspect of this film. The cinematography is fantastic - showing huge open landscapes of some of China's remotest areas contrasted with close-up shots of perfectly choreographed fight scenes. But this isn't an out-and-out martial arts film, it is a genuine drama with well-acted characterisation - particularly by Michelle Yeoh who ably portrays the suppressed feelings she has for Li Mu Bai but can also wield a sword with the best of them. The music too, by Tan Dun with Yo-Yo Ma is excellent and completes the whole experience.

So I guess you could say I really enjoy this film. It won't be to everyones taste, I think some may find its pace quite slow, but if you approach it knowing that it is not a Hollywood-style action film, then there is so much to enjoy here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutetly outstanding., 25 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
"poetry in motion" - a quote from another review which sums up this film very well. It is simply the most gracefull film I've seen. Hollywood could never make this film and wouldnt have the guts to make something this daring and make it work so well. This is without doubt my favourite film. Ive watched it countless times and am not the slightest bit bored of it. Watch it in Manderin with subtitles as the language just adds to the beauty of the film. You owe it to yourself to buy this film. Not only is it amazingly well filmed and directed, the story line is so personal and relavant to everyone on some level. Nothing short of inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully shot film that I'll watch over again!, 21 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The first thing that hits you with this film is the superb art direction that won it the Oscar. This however does not distract from the story as seen in 'The Thin Red Line' and such! The plot moves along nicely although it's very simple, so don't expect any twists in the tale because there aren't any. The film is quite predictable but that doesn't take away from its entertainment value and I did enjoy the movie immensely. The fight scences make 'The Matrix' look pretty ordinary, although since it's the same team who worked on both films, expect 'The Matrix 2' to set the standard once again when it's released next year!
I prefer to watch the English version and the dubbing is suprisingly good. It's obviously come on a lot since the early Bruce Lee movies and you don't notice after the first couple of scences.
I bought this film before I'd seen it on the recommendation of a friend. I'm glad I did though because although the hype had made my expectations high, I was not let down and would say that this would be an essential addition to anyone's DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spectacular Masterpiece!, 28 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This film was absolutely outstanding! The martial arts were superb and in the right dose. The emotional side of the story gave the film real depth which will not be replacated for a while. The score was perfect and added to the plot by giving the correct feeling to the mood of the film. The cinematography was truley breathtaking. Who cares that it was subtitled, the proper language gave it a real authenticity and didn't take any value away from the film. This isn't a film you watch when you have time to spare, this is a film you make time for to watch! Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the normal DVD, 18 Nov. 2002
By 
This is a beautiful movie, and it is not another Kung Fu movie. It is a deep story depicting WuXia heroes' human sides; more drama than action, and in a beautiful period setting. The action is a metaphor for their emotional states.
I have the superbit version as well as the first release. I can recommend the superbit version as bitrate does matter in this beautiful film. The sword, Green Destiny, is greener, the water is more blue and crisp, and the bamboo forest is deeper. Any fan should buy this one, even if they have the standard version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in film making., 9 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I remember going to see this upon it's release in the Cinema feeling a sense of trepidation having to sit for two hours reading subtitles of a foreign art film. I also remember walking out of the cinema completely stunned by what I had just seen. It is simply sublime. Very rare a thing for a movie to bring out so many emotions to such an almost hypnotising effect without ever feeling you are being manipulated. This movie was advertised as a foreign 'Matrix' upon release due today the acrobatic, superbly choreographed action scenes and breathtaking martial arts. It is however much more than that! The romance depicted between Michelle yeoh and Chow yun fat's characters is both beautiful and heartbreaking. The chemistry is almost tangible. The Leads play their roles with forced restraint at the benefit of their characters. You want them to be together and feel the pain they desperately try not show as you can see they just want to free themselves from their own personal chains and embrace each other.

Please see this movie.

It will leave you enamoured. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon [DVD] [2001]
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews